Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2806 (Scoopneck tops with ruching or) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1831 times 46 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/08 10:31 PM
Last Updated:7/21/09 5:43 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Debbie, this looks great on you! And with the skirt, you've got a wonderful ensemble. I like your method on the foldover too.
8/20/08 0:26 AM
sewtime said...
Love the top and skirt! It looks great on you. Thank you for the good review.
8/20/08 0:40 AM
michellep74 said...
I've been on the fence about this pattern (I love the look, but wasn't sure how the foldover would break above my bust), but based on your version, this is a very cute, flattering pattern. I have some of that same fabric in my stash, too!
8/20/08 0:41 AM
Fran G said...
Another winner, Debbie! I just ..almost..finished my first Jalie top and am impressed with the fit, the drafting, the instructions. You've given me another to make. Another great tutorial, too. Thanks for all of the time you put into your reviews!
8/20/08 7:06 AM
shesflipped said...
I love the foldover version of your top, your fabric choice, the contrasting neckband, and the wide hem bottom. Great to hear that you can use the sweetheart pattern sleeves perfectly, too. Great review, great top!
8/20/08 7:11 AM
Lori V said...
Debbie, this looks so nice on you. Thanks for the review.
8/20/08 7:11 AM
angie.a said...
Beautiful Debbie! Thanks for the great review! I love all the details you always give. :)
8/20/08 7:32 AM
appleton78 said...
Love your top!! That fabric is wonderful also. My 12 dd said "Cool". Looks like I will be picking up another Jalie!
8/20/08 8:28 AM
marykpfist said...
Debbie- great tip/tutorial on using the machine for the foldover, and on the other sleeves fitting-- thanks!
8/20/08 8:37 AM
Sewing Chick said...
I love your top. This is a pattern I keep meaning to buy. I had to chuckle at your alterations. I have high rounded back and sloping shoulders, so I guess I won't have to make any alterations!
8/20/08 9:21 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful top--and so much helpful info, too. I love your tutorials
8/20/08 9:52 AM
OP Gal said...
I love your top, Debbie, and it looks great with the unusual looking skirt. Thanks for all the information about how you constructed it.
8/20/08 10:46 AM
PVA said...
Beautiful results! Thanks for this review, the construction details and of course the photos. (The pj top is a winner too.)
8/20/08 10:54 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive top! Superb work as always!
8/20/08 12:21 PM
Mufffet said...
Nice top! Great fabric!
8/20/08 1:09 PM
VtMartha said...
Cute shirt! Thanks for the info on the sleeves - I like the sweetheart top sleeves much better.
8/20/08 1:53 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very nice Debbie. The fabric is perfect for the pattern and it's great with the skirt. It's versatile and very stylish. Great job!
8/20/08 3:54 PM
Winifred said...
Love this outfit Debbie - very attractive. I've made a top from BWOF with a foldover section like this and a tutorial was previously done by another PR member which was v. helpful - too lazy to go & find the issue- its nearly midnight LOL. Anyway, after all that I rhink the Jalie one is great. Dear little dog.
8/20/08 6:40 PM
EveS said...
I can't take it anymore. I must have this pattern. Love your version, Debbie, and love that fabric, too! Gotta try that neckline trim!
8/20/08 6:41 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top Debbie. Thanks again for the neckline tutorial. Your neckline looks very polished.
8/20/08 7:46 PM
Athene said...
A great top. Thank you for the thorough review, pictures and fold over piece tutorial.
8/20/08 8:37 PM
sewing for fun said...
GREAT top and super review and hints. What pattern did you use for the skirt? It looks vaguely familiar, but I can't place it!
8/20/08 11:03 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Beautiful outfit. Enjoying your blog!
8/21/08 12:20 PM
Dei said...
Great top...and skirt. Love the fold-over instructions. The print is fabulous. Can't wait to see pics of you sporting your new outfit.
8/21/08 1:48 PM
Steffie said...
Great fabric!
8/22/08 7:54 PM
LBowman said...
Thanks very much for the instructions on how to sew the foldover down by machine - I did that and it worked perfectly.
2/11/09 3:16 AM
sewingwithmysisters said...
Thanks for your every helpful comments. I am off to cut this out!
5/9/09 9:09 AM
Raye Ann said...
i love all of your versions! yep- definately going to purchase this pattern. it has been on my wish list. i am just finishing up the third version of jalie2682 (my first jalie experience!) and will be posting results soon. btw- i espcially love your use of contrast bindings- you have a great eye for colors and prints!
7/21/09 6:14 PM
Jo Ann Ely said...
Debbie is worth her weight in gold!!!!!
7/22/09 7:41 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I promised no more patterns until I sew something- and here you have me break this resolution with two. Your new top is simply wonderful and to know the sleeves of the two patterns can change out well that is just too great to know.
7/22/09 8:21 AM
Mermie said...
Love it!
7/22/09 11:37 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great top. Looks terrific on you.
7/23/09 7:57 AM
EveS said...
Love this green version, Debbie! (And your green shoes, and your green walls...) Another green-hater, I see! ;) Anyway, thanks for the tip about the sleeves and the reminder about the high back neck...I recall this problem, too, on the sh top.
8/11/09 7:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

StyleArc Grace Trans-seasonal Coat Grace
photo
Review by Pollycotto... on 7/22/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8923
photo
Review by Kendrasews... on 9/30/13
Read Review

Simplicity 2194 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 2194 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8883 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8883 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us