SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7600 (large brim hat)

17 more reviews
Viewed 1434 times 
Reviewed by:Mariko
photo

 
 
About Marikostar
OR USA
Member since: 1/26/03
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/03 3:22 PM
Last Updated:8/5/03 3:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
G.G. said...
love the hat. thanks for the interfacing info. Honey,I might wear this pattern to church.
4/20/04 4:33 PM
mlb said...
A great hat and it looks wonderful on you. I have this pattern and thanks to your excellent results will be sure to make it. I'll remember your tip about the decorative stitching.
10/15/03 8:39 AM
Mariko said...
Jennifer, I did not pre-shrink the ribbon (more like I forgot to do so if I had to...) I am looking forward to seeing your version!!!
8/21/03 9:10 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Hi Mariko! Did you preshrink the grosgrain ribbon? I ended up finding the millinery grosgrain, so I am ready to go. Thanks for your help.
8/20/03 5:47 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks Mariko! The last thing I need to sew on is the ribbon. I'll post a photo soon. I changed the width of the brim, and how I stitched the topstitching too.
8/14/03 7:33 PM
Mariko said...
Hi, Jennifer! The grogram ribbon is only to hide the seam where the brim and the crown are attached. I used a 1" wide grogram ribbon, but a lady at the fabric shop told me that even 1/2" wide would do it (really? I feel safer with at least 3/4" wide). If you have 3/4 yard, that should be enough---your head size (large is 23.5") + seam allowance. Enjoy making a hat!!
8/12/03 9:37 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Really terrific hat, Mariko. Thanks for the information on the brim. It is so silly that they left off the information about the grosgrain ribbon. How much and what kind of grosgrain did you use?
8/11/03 2:15 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Very pretty, it does look better than on the pattern envelope!
8/8/03 0:19 AM
Ann C said...
I like the hat. And the happy expression on your face matches the happy-type fabric.
8/6/03 9:43 PM
Irene said...
Cool hat! And so great to see you, too!
8/5/03 9:03 PM
AnneM said...
Like the hat! I would not have thought to be able to make a hat like that. Great for gardening. Thanks for the tips; I might have to pick this up (I almost always wear a hat in the garden).
8/5/03 8:15 PM
Ann B. said...
Mariko, I really like your pretty hat. It is much nicer than the pattern photo. Your hat even has a prettier shape. Mom will be the snazziest gardener on her block.
8/5/03 7:23 PM
KathleenS said...
Great hat Mariko - very professional looking and I like the fabric choice.
8/5/03 7:21 PM
Mariko said...
Thanks for your comments. Yes, Phyllis, the top & bottom brim each got fusible interfacing. I used mid-to-light weight interfacing. Even with the decorative stitches on top of that, the brim itself is still soft (just to hold the shape.) I think even more stiff, shirt-collar interfacing could work better.
8/5/03 6:04 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Mariko, your hat is great!!!
8/5/03 5:18 PM
BreathofSpring said...
Very cute hat Mariko! I've never thought of trying anything like this.....but after seeing this review, I just might! Thanks!
8/5/03 4:14 PM
PhyllisC said...
Love it, love it...Mariko - did you use any interfacing on the brim? The curve is just perfect, so I wonder if that's just the effect of the staystiching.
8/5/03 4:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info