Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2008-119A (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 596 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Gelbean
photo
About Gelbeanstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 2/17/08
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/08 10:16 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
I love your jacket. I would wear that every day. Too bad about the instructions. I just got this issue but haven't made up a BWOF pattern yet - guess this would NOT be a good 'first.'
8/21/08 11:13 PM
sewtime said...
Your jacket is really cute!
8/21/08 11:41 PM
Annette1 said...
Really a cute style, and I love your design changes. It looks great on you!
8/22/08 0:26 AM
merteuil said...
Very cute little jacket! This is on my to do list as well! Thanks for the review!
8/22/08 1:58 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Looks really good on you and I like the changes you made to it.
8/22/08 5:48 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Fantastic! This was the only pattern I liked from this issue and it's good to see it works so well. I already know how I'd construct it, so I probably won't look at their instructions anyway. Very helpful, thanks!
8/22/08 7:08 AM
nancy2001 said...
Oh, what a cute little jacket. I love the tie neck. I'm sure this is going to become one of your favorite pieces.
8/22/08 7:20 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Bonnie, how timely! I was jusst looking at this jacket last night. I was reading the instructions and I thought the same thing!! They were confusing to me, too. Your jacket looks great. You've given me the courage to go ahead and try this jacket. I was having second thoughts. Thanks so much for reviewing!!
8/22/08 7:45 AM
Heatherrique said...
Adorable jacket on you! Thanks for your VERY timely review!
8/22/08 7:56 AM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice and I like the style. Great job.
8/22/08 8:55 AM
Geordie Girl said...
Lovely jacket. Your version looks much better than the one on the magazine. Thanks for the review.
8/22/08 9:45 AM
cindyann said...
That is a cute jacket! Perfect in black.
8/22/08 10:10 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute jacket! It looks adorable on you! Thanks for the heads up about the instructions.
8/22/08 12:26 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Lovely, stylish casual jacket. Great job getting this one done despite BWOF's instructions.
8/22/08 8:54 PM
Frozzy said...
Bonnie, this is so cute! Way to go!
8/22/08 11:04 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is just soo cute! You did a great job!
8/23/08 9:05 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Crap, that's exactly the kind of trouble I'm having with my last BWOF project. The facings. The horror. Now that you mention this, I'm wondering if my trouble isn't that I cut a seam allowance to use as a facing and maybe there didn't need to be one. I'd also been eyeing this pattern. Looks great! And great to see you figured it out.
8/31/08 11:48 AM
Christina Sonja said...
This is my favorite pattern from this issue, I'm glad to hear you figured out a way to make it work, hopefully I can too!
9/6/08 1:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Coat
photo
Review by Lisa Laree on 1/28/05
Read Review

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5891 Misses Top
photo
Review by susandf on 9/9/13
Read Review

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Summer Tote
Summer Tote

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2824 Pattern( Size S-L-S-L )
Simplicity 2824 Pattern( Size S-L-S-L )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us