SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2008-119A (Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 597 times 
Reviewed by:Gelbean
photo

 
 
About Gelbeanstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 2/17/08
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/08 10:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
I love your jacket. I would wear that every day. Too bad about the instructions. I just got this issue but haven't made up a BWOF pattern yet - guess this would NOT be a good 'first.'
8/21/08 11:13 PM
sewtime said...
Your jacket is really cute!
8/21/08 11:41 PM
Annette1 said...
Really a cute style, and I love your design changes. It looks great on you!
8/22/08 0:26 AM
merteuil said...
Very cute little jacket! This is on my to do list as well! Thanks for the review!
8/22/08 1:58 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Looks really good on you and I like the changes you made to it.
8/22/08 5:48 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Fantastic! This was the only pattern I liked from this issue and it's good to see it works so well. I already know how I'd construct it, so I probably won't look at their instructions anyway. Very helpful, thanks!
8/22/08 7:08 AM
nancy2001 said...
Oh, what a cute little jacket. I love the tie neck. I'm sure this is going to become one of your favorite pieces.
8/22/08 7:20 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Bonnie, how timely! I was jusst looking at this jacket last night. I was reading the instructions and I thought the same thing!! They were confusing to me, too. Your jacket looks great. You've given me the courage to go ahead and try this jacket. I was having second thoughts. Thanks so much for reviewing!!
8/22/08 7:45 AM
Heatherrique said...
Adorable jacket on you! Thanks for your VERY timely review!
8/22/08 7:56 AM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice and I like the style. Great job.
8/22/08 8:55 AM
Geordie Girl said...
Lovely jacket. Your version looks much better than the one on the magazine. Thanks for the review.
8/22/08 9:45 AM
cindyann said...
That is a cute jacket! Perfect in black.
8/22/08 10:10 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute jacket! It looks adorable on you! Thanks for the heads up about the instructions.
8/22/08 12:26 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Lovely, stylish casual jacket. Great job getting this one done despite BWOF's instructions.
8/22/08 8:54 PM
Frozzy said...
Bonnie, this is so cute! Way to go!
8/22/08 11:04 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is just soo cute! You did a great job!
8/23/08 9:05 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Crap, that's exactly the kind of trouble I'm having with my last BWOF project. The facings. The horror. Now that you mention this, I'm wondering if my trouble isn't that I cut a seam allowance to use as a facing and maybe there didn't need to be one. I'd also been eyeing this pattern. Looks great! And great to see you figured it out.
8/31/08 11:48 AM
Christina Sonja said...
This is my favorite pattern from this issue, I'm glad to hear you figured out a way to make it work, hopefully I can too!
9/6/08 1:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8392

photo
by: susandf

Review
Vogue Patterns 1317

photo
by: 10SeventyT...

Review
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now