Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8491 (Very Easy Jacket and Dress) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 868 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo
About Kellie R.starstar
TX USA
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/08 9:54 PM
Last Updated:8/25/08 2:39 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
What a great jacket. It looks so good with everything. I'm sure you will get a lot of use out of it. You did a good job of conquering a difficult-to-handle material and making it turn out beautifully.
8/22/08 10:17 PM
Vonnevo said...
F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S ! !
8/22/08 10:55 PM
Nancywin said...
this turned out beautifully and looks great on you!
8/23/08 0:07 AM
Heatherrique said...
Your version is adorable! You wear it with so much finesse!
8/23/08 0:30 AM
sewtime said...
Love your jacket, and it looks great on you!
8/23/08 0:53 AM
DorothyK said...
The jacket is delicious, just like the paella. Thanks for the great review.
8/23/08 2:24 AM
Margie T said...
Congratulations on a beautiful jacket and thanks for a great review.
8/23/08 2:35 AM
BillieJean said...
Gorgeous jacket!
8/23/08 6:07 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Great Outcome! Well done and very well reviewed.
8/23/08 7:46 AM
Em's Summer said...
This is a TDF jacket, Kellie! I'm glad you decided to make it even if you didn't have enough for the dress. You're definitely right, that fabric was made for this pattern! I really love it! And what impeccable workmanship! It's all soo perfect! Excellent review for a beautiful and perfect jacket!
8/23/08 7:55 AM
merry-one said...
Gorgeous!
8/23/08 8:13 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Man, I would have overlooked this pattern were it not for your review. Now, I MUST have it! Gorgeous jacket, so versatile. I too love raglan sleeves. Well done.
8/23/08 8:55 AM
Catbird said...
What a great job you did! I love it with the jeans (love all jackets with jeans) and all its other incarnations look great too. Enjoyable review!
8/23/08 9:32 AM
annie11 said...
Great jacket and so versatile! I love your cooking analogy too.
8/23/08 10:11 AM
cmarie12 said...
Amazing jacket! I love your version of it!
8/23/08 10:27 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Very, very nice job on this jacket! I wouldn't have looked twice at that ho-hum Vogue illustration, but now... I love all your thought processes into Making This Work! Thanks for sharing...and I'll be using that 'thread trace button hole placement' tip!
8/23/08 10:41 AM
Jolet said...
You've made a real couture-like jacket!
8/23/08 12:27 PM
carnelian said...
I appeciate the eloquence and generosity of your words and photos. I bet your jacket is great with jeans!
8/23/08 2:20 PM
Karendee said...
Beautiful jacket.
8/23/08 2:27 PM
pipet said...
i like it with the jeans, too! what a nice job on it even with the stretchy, fraying fabric. you'd never know from your end result that it was difficult to work with.
8/23/08 2:29 PM
stitcheroo said...
That is a knockout of a jacket. Fantastic.
8/23/08 2:33 PM
cindyann said...
Love it!!!
8/23/08 5:16 PM
Sigrid. said...
Absolutely wonderful. I like that you can wear it on so many different colors and that it is good with a skirt and with jeans. Very good result.
8/23/08 5:34 PM
Kellie R. said...
Thanks so much for all of your nice comments! I enjoyed making this jacket so much. It will be fun to wear once cooler weather moves in!
8/24/08 9:40 AM
Kellie R. said...
*duplicate*
8/24/08 9:40 AM
amy in mpls said...
Beautiful jacket! I would buy it! great tips on the pattern too, thanks for a greta review.
8/24/08 7:16 PM
dr. liz said...
What a dynamite jacket! An inspiration to us beginners.
8/25/08 8:22 AM
LindsayT said...
Very nice!
8/25/08 3:29 PM
Twinset said...
That's beautiful, my dear! I especially like it with the skirt and the jeans. Looks great!
8/25/08 3:37 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely jacket - I'm sure you'll get lots of use from it.
8/25/08 4:10 PM
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous jacket. It looks wonderful with everything you put it with.
8/25/08 4:10 PM
Patti B said...
What a great jacket -- well worth struggling with the fabric.
8/25/08 5:58 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I love your style
8/25/08 7:17 PM
carolynw said...
This is definitely a WOW jacket - love it!! Have to say I never saw that Vogue pattern - must have just skipped over it - but now you have shown what a versatile winner this can be I am adding it to "must get" list
8/25/08 10:30 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'm practically SPEECHLESS (PRACTICALLY). :o) This is PERFECT. You've retained the pliable hand of the fabric, yet tamed it with your underlining. I can't imagine anything you COULDN'T wear this jacket with, and it looks SO DANG NICE on you! I'm even envious that you can find such an UNCLUTTERED, CLEAN spot in your house to take pictures -- ha! PERFECT!
8/27/08 2:32 AM
Athene said...
To me this jacket is TDF. It looks so retro and the fabric is beautiful. Thank you for the great review and all the pictures.
8/31/08 2:05 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Fabulous, and yes it does look great with the jeans!
9/2/08 4:00 AM
AnneM said...
That fabric is so nice, just love it. And it really does go well with many things. I think I like the black skirt as my favorite combo. Great job working with a tricky fabric, and the lining came out excellently.
9/3/08 5:24 AM
cindy-lou said...
Kellie, you made a gorgeous and incredibly versatile jacket. I love the raglan sleeves and the tie! Your fabric choice is excellent for this soft, chic look. Beautiful!
9/11/08 10:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Burda 7738
photo
Review by HawkeMorni... on 2/16/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1204 Alma
photo
Review by starryfish on 3/20/13
Read Review

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7308 Pattern
Burda 7308 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us