SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8491 (Very Easy Jacket and Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 869 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/08 9:54 PM
Last Updated:8/25/08 2:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
What a great jacket. It looks so good with everything. I'm sure you will get a lot of use out of it. You did a good job of conquering a difficult-to-handle material and making it turn out beautifully.
8/22/08 10:17 PM
Vonnevo said...
F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S ! !
8/22/08 10:55 PM
Nancywin said...
this turned out beautifully and looks great on you!
8/23/08 0:07 AM
Heatherrique said...
Your version is adorable! You wear it with so much finesse!
8/23/08 0:30 AM
sewtime said...
Love your jacket, and it looks great on you!
8/23/08 0:53 AM
DorothyK said...
The jacket is delicious, just like the paella. Thanks for the great review.
8/23/08 2:24 AM
Margie T said...
Congratulations on a beautiful jacket and thanks for a great review.
8/23/08 2:35 AM
BillieJean said...
Gorgeous jacket!
8/23/08 6:07 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Great Outcome! Well done and very well reviewed.
8/23/08 7:46 AM
Em's Summer said...
This is a TDF jacket, Kellie! I'm glad you decided to make it even if you didn't have enough for the dress. You're definitely right, that fabric was made for this pattern! I really love it! And what impeccable workmanship! It's all soo perfect! Excellent review for a beautiful and perfect jacket!
8/23/08 7:55 AM
merry-one said...
Gorgeous!
8/23/08 8:13 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Man, I would have overlooked this pattern were it not for your review. Now, I MUST have it! Gorgeous jacket, so versatile. I too love raglan sleeves. Well done.
8/23/08 8:55 AM
Catbird said...
What a great job you did! I love it with the jeans (love all jackets with jeans) and all its other incarnations look great too. Enjoyable review!
8/23/08 9:32 AM
annie11 said...
Great jacket and so versatile! I love your cooking analogy too.
8/23/08 10:11 AM
cmarie12 said...
Amazing jacket! I love your version of it!
8/23/08 10:27 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Very, very nice job on this jacket! I wouldn't have looked twice at that ho-hum Vogue illustration, but now... I love all your thought processes into Making This Work! Thanks for sharing...and I'll be using that 'thread trace button hole placement' tip!
8/23/08 10:41 AM
Jolet said...
You've made a real couture-like jacket!
8/23/08 12:27 PM
carnelian said...
I appeciate the eloquence and generosity of your words and photos. I bet your jacket is great with jeans!
8/23/08 2:20 PM
Karendee said...
Beautiful jacket.
8/23/08 2:27 PM
pipet said...
i like it with the jeans, too! what a nice job on it even with the stretchy, fraying fabric. you'd never know from your end result that it was difficult to work with.
8/23/08 2:29 PM
stitcheroo said...
That is a knockout of a jacket. Fantastic.
8/23/08 2:33 PM
cindyann said...
Love it!!!
8/23/08 5:16 PM
Sigrid. said...
Absolutely wonderful. I like that you can wear it on so many different colors and that it is good with a skirt and with jeans. Very good result.
8/23/08 5:34 PM
Kellie R. said...
Thanks so much for all of your nice comments! I enjoyed making this jacket so much. It will be fun to wear once cooler weather moves in!
8/24/08 9:40 AM
Kellie R. said...
*duplicate*
8/24/08 9:40 AM
amy in mpls said...
Beautiful jacket! I would buy it! great tips on the pattern too, thanks for a greta review.
8/24/08 7:16 PM
dr. liz said...
What a dynamite jacket! An inspiration to us beginners.
8/25/08 8:22 AM
LindsayT said...
Very nice!
8/25/08 3:29 PM
Twinset said...
That's beautiful, my dear! I especially like it with the skirt and the jeans. Looks great!
8/25/08 3:37 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely jacket - I'm sure you'll get lots of use from it.
8/25/08 4:10 PM
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous jacket. It looks wonderful with everything you put it with.
8/25/08 4:10 PM
Patti B said...
What a great jacket -- well worth struggling with the fabric.
8/25/08 5:58 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I love your style
8/25/08 7:17 PM
carolynw said...
This is definitely a WOW jacket - love it!! Have to say I never saw that Vogue pattern - must have just skipped over it - but now you have shown what a versatile winner this can be I am adding it to "must get" list
8/25/08 10:30 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'm practically SPEECHLESS (PRACTICALLY). :o) This is PERFECT. You've retained the pliable hand of the fabric, yet tamed it with your underlining. I can't imagine anything you COULDN'T wear this jacket with, and it looks SO DANG NICE on you! I'm even envious that you can find such an UNCLUTTERED, CLEAN spot in your house to take pictures -- ha! PERFECT!
8/27/08 2:32 AM
Athene said...
To me this jacket is TDF. It looks so retro and the fabric is beautiful. Thank you for the great review and all the pictures.
8/31/08 2:05 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Fabulous, and yes it does look great with the jeans!
9/2/08 4:00 AM
AnneM said...
That fabric is so nice, just love it. And it really does go well with many things. I think I like the black skirt as my favorite combo. Great job working with a tricky fabric, and the lining came out excellently.
9/3/08 5:24 AM
cindy-lou said...
Kellie, you made a gorgeous and incredibly versatile jacket. I love the raglan sleeves and the tie! Your fabric choice is excellent for this soft, chic look. Beautiful!
9/11/08 10:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

McCall's 5591

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
New Look 6110

photo
by: penelopey4

Review
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now