Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7976 (Today's Fit Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 868 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 41 people   
Reviewed by:Karen8320
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen8320star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/14/04
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/08 8:43 AM
Last Updated:8/23/08 8:43 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bananaoil said...
Thanks for the review. The jacket looks very nice on you.
8/23/08 8:50 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love the fringing on your jacket. It's a great touch to add to the classic lines. Great job!
8/23/08 9:00 AM
Camerio said...
Thank you for this detailed review. I have this pattern and I'm planning to use it this fall. I'm glad to hear from you about the tight arm and boxy shape. I will most likely make this adjustments as well.
8/23/08 9:03 AM
pinkli said...
What a great jacket, and a very informative review. Your workmanship looks top notch, and as a result I am sure you will get a lot of wear (and compliments) out of this jacket.
8/23/08 9:20 AM
CarolynGM said...
You did an outstanding job on this jacket. I especially like the inner welt pocket you added.
8/23/08 9:43 AM
Catbird said...
I admire your bravery in trying so many new techniques and think it paid off! I love the lining and the hidden pocket. Thank you for such a clear and helpful review.
8/23/08 9:43 AM
dbsewer said...
Great jacket. Would love to see that no-fail welt pocket technique as I'm doing that on a coat in progress. You did a wonderful job with this and it looks lovely on you.
8/23/08 9:50 AM
Peggy said...
Great review. The jacket looks wonderful on you.
8/23/08 9:53 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Boy do I like your jacket! The lining with the orange detail really makes it quite special. Terrific outcome!!! and excellent review and encouragement to stretch a bit when sewing! Thank you!!!
8/23/08 10:02 AM
Englebert said...
Love your jacket!!
8/23/08 10:07 AM
pinkli said...
What a great jacket, and a very informative review. Your workmanship looks top notch, and as a result I am sure you will get a lot of wear (and compliments) out of this jacket.
8/23/08 10:24 AM
QuiltersFan said...
Great jacket! I have this pattern out and want to make it this fall. I really love the welt pocket on the lining as I have a couple of jackets with this feature and love it. It is a great place to stash business cards. Thanks for a great review.
8/23/08 10:26 AM
Irene Q said...
Wonderful jacket!!
8/23/08 11:40 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ah!!!!!! Witty and wonderful picture of you Karen (check out that groovy-licious lining)! Congratulations on creating a DAZZLING and BEAUTIFULLY crafted jacket! Not just that, but so PRACTICAL! Thanks for providing super information and cool details. You have provided me a lot of inspiration to take that one step ahead to try new new things!
8/23/08 11:44 AM
Michelle L said...
Your jacket is fantastic, and your choice of lining adds a wonderful touch that takes it a step above.
8/23/08 11:52 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic jacket. I love all the wonderful details. This looks like a really versatile pattern.
8/23/08 11:53 AM
frame said...
Great jacket. Great review. Thanks.
8/23/08 12:42 PM
moushka said...
Wonderful and thorough review of a beautiful jacket. You thought this one through so well! I love the welt pocket in the lining! It's a super touch that men have enjoyed for years and women usually miss out on due to our competing front assets. SB has said that she designs her patterns for women with mid-life tummy expansion, which explains the lack of shaping through the middle. For some of us, it's a blessing! Thanks for the head's up on the narrow sleeves. I'll make a note on my pattern for when I get around to this one. Great review. Thanks so much. Sue
8/23/08 1:08 PM
Karen6790 said...
Beautiful job. I love this pattern - you can take it in many directions and it always turns out well. I've made two versions, one in leather and one in a wool-silk blend, and it always works. I love your lining fabric here, and bravo for using up some old stash. You kept it all this time for a good reason.
8/23/08 2:28 PM
Karendee said...
Beautiful jacket; excellent review,
8/23/08 2:34 PM
merry-one said...
Great Jacket -- very versatile.
8/23/08 2:45 PM
pipet said...
Your jacket turned out great! I'll have to check out the pattern for it's useful tips on linings!
8/23/08 2:46 PM
carolynw said...
Karen this is absolutely gorgeous - I just love what you have done - so much nicer than the envelope - the lining is such a nice addition and am sure must make you feel swell when you are wearing it. Great review
8/23/08 2:51 PM
sewtime said...
This is the cutest jacket! Really love it! And thank you for the review!
8/23/08 7:47 PM
wreninrome said...
very cool...i like the welt pocket too
8/23/08 11:38 PM
Annette1 said...
What an AWESOME jacket! I've often wondered about that pattern, because those darts drew my attention. Of course, in many respects you've almost remade it, so I would probably like your version better -- ha! I LOVE what you did with your lining, and the POCKET and the BIAS BINDING just go above and beyond. :o) Perfect in every way!
8/24/08 0:19 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent job!
8/24/08 9:38 AM
cecelia said...
What a lovely jacket, inside and out. Nice job.
8/24/08 2:48 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Your jacket is fabulous and all the detailing superb! Love that you stretched your skills and came out with amazing results.
8/27/08 9:10 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Terrifically detailed jacket that is so beautifully sewn! Love, love, love the time and attention you paid. And thanks so much for sharing construction details, they made this review very helpful.
8/29/08 7:13 PM
Jolet said...
Nice jacket, with a beautiful lining! You've put a lot of effort in this project!
8/30/08 3:00 PM
Athene said...
A great jacket and the detailing is wonderful.
8/31/08 2:10 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Love the combination of fabrics and fringing. Great job!
9/2/08 4:21 AM
Aunt Gail said...
I adore the impish grin you have on the Gallery photo...and the welt inside addition to the jacket is just too clever! Nice job all around, review, lining, fringe,welt ...Hurray for you! and thanks for sharing as well!
9/6/08 3:12 AM
Jane S said...
Karen, your jackets are always an inspiration to me and this is another one. I made a muslin of this jacket more than a year ago so thanks for the kick in the .... to turn it into an actual garment. I love the pocket and lining detail. These will be new to me so you're giving me the courage to tackle them. Thanks.
9/11/08 10:55 AM
radollrose said...
Fantastic job! I love the lining and the extra details you added. Thanks for giving me a "push" to try something new!
9/23/10 5:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Kwik Sew 2774
photo
Review by Heidi H on 1/14/07
Read Review

Blank Slate Padded Camera Bag Digital Patterns
Blank Slate Padded Camera Bag Digital Patterns

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5471
photo
Review by annie11 on 4/17/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6184 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6184 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Monaco Shell
Monaco Shell

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us