SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2008-108 (Skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 521 times 
Reviewed by:suesmith
photo

 
 
About suesmithstar
IN USA
Member since: 1/1/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/08 1:34 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
Like the striped fabric for this skirt.
8/26/08 9:19 PM
Lisa Laree said...
This pattern has intrigued me as well; good to know there are options in dealing with the pouf factor. I love the striped fabric...that really highlights the design elements! (and I have some black and white stripe in the stash...)
8/26/08 9:10 AM
Marji said...
it's very pretty - love the way the stripe accentuates the movement of the grainline.
8/25/08 9:04 AM
Ciclista said...
Very striking. I'm glad you perservered in light of the other reviews; as I love your skirt and now one to give this one a try.
8/25/08 9:02 AM
HLT said...
Very nice skirt. Love how the pinstripes merge. Looks couture & classic at the same time. Great job!
8/24/08 10:22 PM
Karen6790 said...
I love the effect the striped fabric gives with the pleats, though I agree that making it in a solid would show off the design. Nothing wrong with making two of a good pattern - I'm guilty of that myself. Now I need to pull out my May issue and look at this pattern again. Thanks for the review.
8/24/08 9:53 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
I love that skirt - so fabulous!
8/24/08 9:52 PM
Speech girl said...
I love the stripes--really a fabulous skirt.
8/24/08 5:19 PM
Beek said...
Love this skirt. How clever of you to emphasis the drape with a striped fabric. Good job!
8/24/08 4:44 PM
Seaspur said...
Love the stripes!
8/24/08 4:12 PM
Mahler said...
I love, love, love the final result. I would love to see a picture of you wearing it.
8/24/08 1:17 PM
Catbird said...
I love the way this looks with the stripes. It reminds me of 1940s styling, which I think was one of our best fashion decades! Great job.
8/24/08 1:07 PM
Sigrid. said...
Good pattern for this fabric with stripes. Nice skirt.
8/24/08 12:07 PM
Izzie said...
Beautiful! I love the stripes.
8/24/08 11:29 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Great skirt, good choice of fabric. The pinstripes are very effective in this design.
8/24/08 10:23 AM
Kellie R. said...
Wow! This is a great skirt! Good for you for giving it a try despite issues others had... your results are great. The stripes really highlight the skirt's design.
8/24/08 9:59 AM
Natasha B said...
I loved this skirt and was disapointed to see the previous reviews. I love your version and may still try to work up the courage to have a go! Yours looks great!
8/24/08 5:12 AM
figtree said...
Hi, I saw this as a pin stripe and I'm so glad to see it made up that way. I also thought maybe stitching down the folds would work, glad to see it did, I might just have to give it a try! Thank you!
8/24/08 4:09 AM
Terri A said...
Fun skirt!
8/24/08 2:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Simplicity 9107

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2004-102

photo
by: mkruszewsk...

Review