Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2008-108 (Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 521 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:suesmith
photo
About suesmithstar
IN USA
Member since: 1/1/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/08 1:34 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Fun skirt!
8/24/08 2:05 AM
figtree said...
Hi, I saw this as a pin stripe and I'm so glad to see it made up that way. I also thought maybe stitching down the folds would work, glad to see it did, I might just have to give it a try! Thank you!
8/24/08 4:09 AM
Natasha B said...
I loved this skirt and was disapointed to see the previous reviews. I love your version and may still try to work up the courage to have a go! Yours looks great!
8/24/08 5:12 AM
Kellie R. said...
Wow! This is a great skirt! Good for you for giving it a try despite issues others had... your results are great. The stripes really highlight the skirt's design.
8/24/08 9:59 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Great skirt, good choice of fabric. The pinstripes are very effective in this design.
8/24/08 10:23 AM
Izzie said...
Beautiful! I love the stripes.
8/24/08 11:29 AM
Sigrid. said...
Good pattern for this fabric with stripes. Nice skirt.
8/24/08 12:07 PM
Catbird said...
I love the way this looks with the stripes. It reminds me of 1940s styling, which I think was one of our best fashion decades! Great job.
8/24/08 1:07 PM
Mahler said...
I love, love, love the final result. I would love to see a picture of you wearing it.
8/24/08 1:17 PM
Seaspur said...
Love the stripes!
8/24/08 4:12 PM
Beek said...
Love this skirt. How clever of you to emphasis the drape with a striped fabric. Good job!
8/24/08 4:44 PM
Speech girl said...
I love the stripes--really a fabulous skirt.
8/24/08 5:19 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
I love that skirt - so fabulous!
8/24/08 9:52 PM
Karen6790 said...
I love the effect the striped fabric gives with the pleats, though I agree that making it in a solid would show off the design. Nothing wrong with making two of a good pattern - I'm guilty of that myself. Now I need to pull out my May issue and look at this pattern again. Thanks for the review.
8/24/08 9:53 PM
HLT said...
Very nice skirt. Love how the pinstripes merge. Looks couture & classic at the same time. Great job!
8/24/08 10:22 PM
Ciclista said...
Very striking. I'm glad you perservered in light of the other reviews; as I love your skirt and now one to give this one a try.
8/25/08 9:02 AM
Marji said...
it's very pretty - love the way the stripe accentuates the movement of the grainline.
8/25/08 9:04 AM
Lisa Laree said...
This pattern has intrigued me as well; good to know there are options in dealing with the pouf factor. I love the striped fabric...that really highlights the design elements! (and I have some black and white stripe in the stash...)
8/26/08 9:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Like the striped fabric for this skirt.
8/26/08 9:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 4063
photo
Review by TalyQ on 1/29/09
Read Review

Butterick 5786 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5786 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6700 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6700 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-126 Trousers
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 10/6/07
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us