SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2008-108 (Skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 521 times 
Reviewed by:suesmith
photo

 
 
About suesmithstar
IN USA
Member since: 1/1/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/08 1:34 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Fun skirt!
8/24/08 2:05 AM
figtree said...
Hi, I saw this as a pin stripe and I'm so glad to see it made up that way. I also thought maybe stitching down the folds would work, glad to see it did, I might just have to give it a try! Thank you!
8/24/08 4:09 AM
Natasha B said...
I loved this skirt and was disapointed to see the previous reviews. I love your version and may still try to work up the courage to have a go! Yours looks great!
8/24/08 5:12 AM
Kellie R. said...
Wow! This is a great skirt! Good for you for giving it a try despite issues others had... your results are great. The stripes really highlight the skirt's design.
8/24/08 9:59 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Great skirt, good choice of fabric. The pinstripes are very effective in this design.
8/24/08 10:23 AM
Izzie said...
Beautiful! I love the stripes.
8/24/08 11:29 AM
Sigrid. said...
Good pattern for this fabric with stripes. Nice skirt.
8/24/08 12:07 PM
Catbird said...
I love the way this looks with the stripes. It reminds me of 1940s styling, which I think was one of our best fashion decades! Great job.
8/24/08 1:07 PM
Mahler said...
I love, love, love the final result. I would love to see a picture of you wearing it.
8/24/08 1:17 PM
Seaspur said...
Love the stripes!
8/24/08 4:12 PM
Beek said...
Love this skirt. How clever of you to emphasis the drape with a striped fabric. Good job!
8/24/08 4:44 PM
Speech girl said...
I love the stripes--really a fabulous skirt.
8/24/08 5:19 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
I love that skirt - so fabulous!
8/24/08 9:52 PM
Karen6790 said...
I love the effect the striped fabric gives with the pleats, though I agree that making it in a solid would show off the design. Nothing wrong with making two of a good pattern - I'm guilty of that myself. Now I need to pull out my May issue and look at this pattern again. Thanks for the review.
8/24/08 9:53 PM
HLT said...
Very nice skirt. Love how the pinstripes merge. Looks couture & classic at the same time. Great job!
8/24/08 10:22 PM
Ciclista said...
Very striking. I'm glad you perservered in light of the other reviews; as I love your skirt and now one to give this one a try.
8/25/08 9:02 AM
Marji said...
it's very pretty - love the way the stripe accentuates the movement of the grainline.
8/25/08 9:04 AM
Lisa Laree said...
This pattern has intrigued me as well; good to know there are options in dealing with the pouf factor. I love the striped fabric...that really highlights the design elements! (and I have some black and white stripe in the stash...)
8/26/08 9:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Like the striped fabric for this skirt.
8/26/08 9:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Cutting Line Designs 62612

photo
by: marthamyer...

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now