Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Shermane Fouche: 102 - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2188 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Teri
photo
About Teristar
ID USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/9/03 6:05 PM
Last Updated:11/7/03 9:53 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam Z said...
Pattern matching makes this top look like expensive RTW. Nice work!
8/11/03 1:38 PM
Teri said...
Thanks Pam. I think that pattern matching is one of the joys of sewing!
8/12/03 9:23 AM
LindaB said...
Looks great, I love the fabric and the relaxed look. What did happen to Shermane ?
8/13/03 10:32 AM
Georgette Murphy said...
I have many of Shermane's pattern and seeing your project has me looking at the pattern again. I am going to try again. I have trouble with fit but after taking some classes I understand a little more about fit. Thank you. grm
9/7/03 8:40 PM
Teri said...
Georgette, I have many of her patterns also. I think I am going to try one of the jackets this winter. Please be sure to post a review if you sew up one.
9/8/03 11:48 AM
Liana said...
Your photo link isn't working. It sounds like an interesting pattern, and I'd really like to see it too!
11/6/03 11:16 PM
Teri said...
Liana, I fixed the link. I hope it works now:)
11/7/03 9:55 AM
Celeste said...
Looks very dressy!
11/7/03 11:22 AM
AnneM said...
Excellent matching job. Very nice.
11/7/03 12:20 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Beautiful! BTW, Shermane is still in Paris, per Louise Cutting last month. Has anyone made her Petal jacket? I remember when that first came out, Sandra Betzina made one and raved about it.
11/7/03 4:40 PM
galadriel45 said...
I enjoyed your review and think the results were really nice. I love the material!
11/7/03 7:50 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Looks great! I have purchased some of her patterns from Louise Cutting's site, Fabriccollections.com but not tried yet.
11/8/03 10:18 AM
Teri said...
I have had her petal jacket pattern for years. It is in the "one of these days" stack. Maybe I will get to it this winter. If I do I will be sure to post a review.
11/8/03 10:34 AM
Trudy J said...
I had the good fortune of taking a workshop with Shermane which she taught at the sewing workshop. I made her petal jacket. (I call it my imitation Armani.) I I recall that she trimmed what I thought was a drastic amount off the shoulder width during the muslin fitting(I'm 5'). In any case, the jacket is exquisite. I made two, and I wear them today, even though they reflect the broad shoulders of the 80's or early 90's or whenever I did this. I also made her knit raglan tops and a tank top. Both terrific patterns. I think the lesson about the slashing, is to not be afraid to fix the pattern: it's not sacred. Part of the reason, I think, that it came out so great is that we used tailoring techniques that I think are Armani-ish. I was just re-reading Marcy Tilton's recent Threads articles. I'm gearing up to make another jacket and I'm fretting over what pattern to use. It has to be one with no side seams.
1/6/04 0:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-110
photo
Review by SusiM on 1/26/08
Read Review

Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 100
photo
Review by Leu on 12/27/11
Read Review

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 12 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 12 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9649 Pattern
Burda 9649 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us