SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Shermane Fouche> 102 

Viewed 2193 times 
Reviewed by:Teri
photo

 
 
About Teristar
ID USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/9/03 6:05 PM
Last Updated:11/7/03 9:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam Z said...
Pattern matching makes this top look like expensive RTW. Nice work!
8/11/03 1:38 PM
Teri said...
Thanks Pam. I think that pattern matching is one of the joys of sewing!
8/12/03 9:23 AM
LindaB said...
Looks great, I love the fabric and the relaxed look. What did happen to Shermane ?
8/13/03 10:32 AM
Georgette Murphy said...
I have many of Shermane's pattern and seeing your project has me looking at the pattern again. I am going to try again. I have trouble with fit but after taking some classes I understand a little more about fit. Thank you. grm
9/7/03 8:40 PM
Teri said...
Georgette, I have many of her patterns also. I think I am going to try one of the jackets this winter. Please be sure to post a review if you sew up one.
9/8/03 11:48 AM
Liana said...
Your photo link isn't working. It sounds like an interesting pattern, and I'd really like to see it too!
11/6/03 11:16 PM
Teri said...
Liana, I fixed the link. I hope it works now:)
11/7/03 9:55 AM
Celeste said...
Looks very dressy!
11/7/03 11:22 AM
AnneM said...
Excellent matching job. Very nice.
11/7/03 12:20 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Beautiful! BTW, Shermane is still in Paris, per Louise Cutting last month. Has anyone made her Petal jacket? I remember when that first came out, Sandra Betzina made one and raved about it.
11/7/03 4:40 PM
galadriel45 said...
I enjoyed your review and think the results were really nice. I love the material!
11/7/03 7:50 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Looks great! I have purchased some of her patterns from Louise Cutting's site, Fabriccollections.com but not tried yet.
11/8/03 10:18 AM
Teri said...
I have had her petal jacket pattern for years. It is in the "one of these days" stack. Maybe I will get to it this winter. If I do I will be sure to post a review.
11/8/03 10:34 AM
Trudy J said...
I had the good fortune of taking a workshop with Shermane which she taught at the sewing workshop. I made her petal jacket. (I call it my imitation Armani.) I I recall that she trimmed what I thought was a drastic amount off the shoulder width during the muslin fitting(I'm 5'). In any case, the jacket is exquisite. I made two, and I wear them today, even though they reflect the broad shoulders of the 80's or early 90's or whenever I did this. I also made her knit raglan tops and a tank top. Both terrific patterns. I think the lesson about the slashing, is to not be afraid to fix the pattern: it's not sacred. Part of the reason, I think, that it came out so great is that we used tailoring techniques that I think are Armani-ish. I was just re-reading Marcy Tilton's recent Threads articles. I'm gearing up to make another jacket and I'm fretting over what pattern to use. It has to be one with no side seams.
1/6/04 0:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Burda Burda Style Handbook

photo
by: Ejegmama

Review
Vogue Patterns 8795

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Buy Now