Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2898 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 557 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Mrs.Moos
photo
Friend of PR
About Mrs.Moosstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/5/02
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/25/08 0:38 AM
Last Updated:9/24/08 0:03 AM


See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
julie w said...
This is great looking top, don't you just love muslins that turn out to be wearable for such a good price too!
8/25/08 0:49 AM
Gelbean said...
So cute! And for 2 bucks? WOW!
8/25/08 2:01 AM
mssewcrazy said...
$2 for a great top that was supposed to be an experiment is very inspiring. That is the sort of thing that keeps us trying this craft.
8/25/08 8:19 AM
Kellie R. said...
This turned out great! I'm glad your daughter will wear it!
8/25/08 8:27 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice looking top - have this pattern and am going to try this myself with the pleats and hope I don't look as if I am "with child" - long past that stage of life LOL
8/25/08 9:10 AM
EveS said...
Cute muslin (oh, how I wish my Wmart still had decent fabrics)! Do try the pleats, too! I use this trick a lot for removing the maternity feel and it makes a difference. Cute pattern...I can't believe I don't have this one. Thanks for the CS inspiration! ;)
8/25/08 9:31 AM
maryfrana said...
I'm always on the lookout for a good top. This is special and congrats for saving so much $$.
8/25/08 10:18 AM
RLL said...
You must be my sister from another mother! This is not the first time that you made something for your dtr that I also made for mine. It fit my dtr the same way with the bodice (too short), but my dtr did like the length the way it was. I also did not like the fold in half sleeve or the neckline fold. And I too use $1.00 yard from Walmart for muslins and yes the ladies know me and love to see me coming. And the one I made for my DD was a wearable muslin. She loved it. Unlike you, I KNOW the pattern won't work for my 51 year old body.LOL
8/25/08 11:19 AM
craftylady66 said...
It looks great!
8/25/08 3:14 PM
Mufffet said...
Nice lines on this pattern! I like this top.
8/25/08 8:12 PM
Annette1 said...
Man, this is so ELEGANT done up in the black, I LOVE it! I predict it will look great on your 52-year-old body, too!
8/27/08 2:57 AM
sewtime said...
Love your top, so cute!
9/24/08 1:18 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Lovely top! Definitely doesn't look like a 2-buck top.
9/24/08 3:37 AM
Nancy K said...
Cute! Glad your dd likes it.
9/24/08 7:51 AM
Honeyface said...
I just finished this top and other than it being about 4 sizes too big, I just love it. I'll try again using some of your suggestions. Oh yeah, I'm 56 so you go girl!
9/24/08 8:09 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Really cute top you made and what a price. I am another $1 table fan as well. It just makes trying a new pattern or working out fit issues so affordable.
9/26/08 7:37 PM
Aless said...
Just love your tops.The pleating detail is one I'll use too.
10/16/08 0:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Butterick 5965
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 10/30/13
Read Review

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6070
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 5/21/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Everyday Baskets
Everyday Baskets

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us