SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8499 (Marcy Tilton Skirt)

32 more reviews
Viewed 935 times 
Reviewed by:Perfect Fit
photo

 
 
About Perfect Fit
CA
Member since: 2/27/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/27/08 7:44 PM
Last Updated:8/27/08 8:09 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
margar said...
Outstanding review with useful details! Your excellent choice of fabric made a really good looking skirt!
3/16/10 5:13 PM
lisa d458 said...
Thank heavens for all your comments before I started this skirt. I made it out of a midweight cotton mini-check and it hangs well. I covered the top of the zippers (thank you for that idea) with a pocket flap to completely hide the fact that I used 2 different zippers. Also, I hid a smaller patch pocket inside one of the regular pockets and inside the other pocket, I stitched a bias tape loop where I can hang my house key and not have it drop to the bottom of the skirt. I am 5'4" and I shortened the skirt 4" . You are left on your own to finish the inside of this skirt and so I serged everything and then top-stitched the seams. I clipped and pressed the seams open at the bottom of the skirt where the hem curves in and top-stitched each seam allowance open there. I think that gave the bottom of the skirt a little more form, if that makes any sense.
6/3/09 7:07 PM
DorothyK said...
Great skirt. I love the fabric.
8/29/08 12:37 PM
Athene said...
Great skirt and great fabric.
8/29/08 0:26 AM
Cat MacGregor said...
Great job!!! I've got this and haven't made it yet. I'm so happy it's so easy!
8/28/08 2:52 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great looking skirt. I love the striped silk noil even if it does collapse.
8/28/08 12:45 PM
pterion said...
Lovely skirt. The pockets are great. I have this pattern too and both the skirt and pants design look like they would be so comfortable to wear. Thanks for the review!
8/28/08 11:18 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a unique and fun skirt to have in your wardrobe! The fabric works so well with the design - great job!
8/28/08 8:50 AM
cecelia said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I have the pattern and want to make it because it's very different. Yours came out very well.
8/28/08 8:42 AM
2BSewing said...
Your skirt is beautiful. I love your striped silk fabric. It works well with this pattern. Thanks for pointing out the size and ease of the skirt. I have this pattern already traced out, but I could not decide where it would be appropriate to shorten it. Thanks for taking the time to review this pattern.
8/27/08 9:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

More Info
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

More Info