SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8499 (Marcy Tilton Skirt)

32 more reviews
Viewed 931 times 
Reviewed by:Perfect Fit
photo

 
 
About Perfect Fit
CA
Member since: 2/27/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/27/08 7:44 PM
Last Updated:8/27/08 8:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
2BSewing said...
Your skirt is beautiful. I love your striped silk fabric. It works well with this pattern. Thanks for pointing out the size and ease of the skirt. I have this pattern already traced out, but I could not decide where it would be appropriate to shorten it. Thanks for taking the time to review this pattern.
8/27/08 9:29 PM
cecelia said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I have the pattern and want to make it because it's very different. Yours came out very well.
8/28/08 8:42 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a unique and fun skirt to have in your wardrobe! The fabric works so well with the design - great job!
8/28/08 8:50 AM
pterion said...
Lovely skirt. The pockets are great. I have this pattern too and both the skirt and pants design look like they would be so comfortable to wear. Thanks for the review!
8/28/08 11:18 AM
Ann Smith said...
Great looking skirt. I love the striped silk noil even if it does collapse.
8/28/08 12:45 PM
Cat MacGregor said...
Great job!!! I've got this and haven't made it yet. I'm so happy it's so easy!
8/28/08 2:52 PM
Athene said...
Great skirt and great fabric.
8/29/08 0:26 AM
DorothyK said...
Great skirt. I love the fabric.
8/29/08 12:37 PM
lisa d458 said...
Thank heavens for all your comments before I started this skirt. I made it out of a midweight cotton mini-check and it hangs well. I covered the top of the zippers (thank you for that idea) with a pocket flap to completely hide the fact that I used 2 different zippers. Also, I hid a smaller patch pocket inside one of the regular pockets and inside the other pocket, I stitched a bias tape loop where I can hang my house key and not have it drop to the bottom of the skirt. I am 5'4" and I shortened the skirt 4" . You are left on your own to finish the inside of this skirt and so I serged everything and then top-stitched the seams. I clipped and pressed the seams open at the bottom of the skirt where the hem curves in and top-stitched each seam allowance open there. I think that gave the bottom of the skirt a little more form, if that makes any sense.
6/3/09 7:07 PM
margar said...
Outstanding review with useful details! Your excellent choice of fabric made a really good looking skirt!
3/16/10 5:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 5094

photo
by: kealoha

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8866

photo
by: CommanderK...

Review