SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8499 (Marcy Tilton Skirt)

32 more reviews
Viewed 931 times 
Reviewed by:Perfect Fit
photo

 
 
About Perfect Fit
CA
Member since: 2/27/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/27/08 7:44 PM
Last Updated:8/27/08 8:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
2BSewing said...
Your skirt is beautiful. I love your striped silk fabric. It works well with this pattern. Thanks for pointing out the size and ease of the skirt. I have this pattern already traced out, but I could not decide where it would be appropriate to shorten it. Thanks for taking the time to review this pattern.
8/27/08 9:29 PM
cecelia said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I have the pattern and want to make it because it's very different. Yours came out very well.
8/28/08 8:42 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a unique and fun skirt to have in your wardrobe! The fabric works so well with the design - great job!
8/28/08 8:50 AM
pterion said...
Lovely skirt. The pockets are great. I have this pattern too and both the skirt and pants design look like they would be so comfortable to wear. Thanks for the review!
8/28/08 11:18 AM
Ann Smith said...
Great looking skirt. I love the striped silk noil even if it does collapse.
8/28/08 12:45 PM
Cat MacGregor said...
Great job!!! I've got this and haven't made it yet. I'm so happy it's so easy!
8/28/08 2:52 PM
Athene said...
Great skirt and great fabric.
8/29/08 0:26 AM
DorothyK said...
Great skirt. I love the fabric.
8/29/08 12:37 PM
lisa d458 said...
Thank heavens for all your comments before I started this skirt. I made it out of a midweight cotton mini-check and it hangs well. I covered the top of the zippers (thank you for that idea) with a pocket flap to completely hide the fact that I used 2 different zippers. Also, I hid a smaller patch pocket inside one of the regular pockets and inside the other pocket, I stitched a bias tape loop where I can hang my house key and not have it drop to the bottom of the skirt. I am 5'4" and I shortened the skirt 4" . You are left on your own to finish the inside of this skirt and so I serged everything and then top-stitched the seams. I clipped and pressed the seams open at the bottom of the skirt where the hem curves in and top-stitched each seam allowance open there. I think that gave the bottom of the skirt a little more form, if that makes any sense.
6/3/09 7:07 PM
margar said...
Outstanding review with useful details! Your excellent choice of fabric made a really good looking skirt!
3/16/10 5:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Kitschy Coo Skater Dress

photo
by: kidmd

Review
McCall's 6532

photo
by: MonalisaLo...

Review

Pattern

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now