SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2008-112 (Flattering drawstring blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 645 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/25/08 8:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 35 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Wow, this blouse is a real knockout -- gorgeous!
8/25/08 8:36 PM
Speech girl said...
Lovely blouse--I'm going to have to go back and look at that issue again . . .
8/25/08 8:45 PM
stitcheroo said...
Now I want to make this too. This turned out beautifully. Thanks for your helpful hints.
8/25/08 8:57 PM
Karen6790 said...
Gorgeous. How did I miss this fabric at Emmaonesock? I love the top - it looks like it would be very flattering on, and I just added it to my very long list of things to sew. Did I say "gorgeous" already?
8/25/08 9:00 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful fabric. You did a wonderful job on your blouse.
8/25/08 9:24 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Thank you for such a thoughtful review. You made such a beautiful blouse. This is also now on my to do list.
8/25/08 9:31 PM
Re Becca said...
That does look great! and it is great that you didn't have anyproblems with it. It looks so versatile!
8/25/08 9:42 PM
Amanda S. said...
This is so pretty. I love the design, fabric, buttons. You've got the whole package here. Great job!
8/25/08 10:05 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Thanks for the excellent review. I had admired this blouse or at least the line drawing of it in the magazine but I wondered about the fit. I have yet to try a BWOF although I have a number of issues. This might be the first. I like that it looks good worn open so thanks for sharing that point. Your fabric is really beautiful.
8/25/08 10:45 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks for the detailed review. The blouse is lovely.
8/25/08 11:52 PM
Patti B said...
Your blouse is beautiful! Excellent review; I'm going to print it and put it with the issue. I hadn't noticed this blouse before your review.
8/26/08 0:45 AM
sewtime said...
Love everything about your new top!
8/26/08 0:57 AM
o3b said...
Oooh, this is a really great review! I love your description - I was not intending to make this one b/c I cannot wear the empire tops d/t looking pregnant in them. So your comments are most inspiring. Great construction tips, too!
8/26/08 2:10 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful blouse and great review.
8/26/08 3:31 AM
Elke said...
This is so pretty! Thanks for the thorough review.
8/26/08 5:48 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Your reviews are always so thorough and helpful to those of us still learning the important basics used like interfacing, thread, etc. Thank you for an excellent review. The blouse is wonderful! The ensemble is awesome and just my style. Love it.
8/26/08 5:49 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice looking blouse.
8/26/08 6:55 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Fantastic blouse & thorough review. Love the fall colors too!
8/26/08 7:29 AM
Kellie R. said...
Beautiful!!! The colors are so striking and rich! This turned out great!
8/26/08 8:21 AM
carolynw said...
Recognised the EOS fabric immediately - your blouse is really beautiful - once again - great work
8/26/08 9:04 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Lovely blouse. Very inspiring.
8/26/08 9:14 AM
SheTee said...
Beautiful blouse and an excellent review! I have been wanting to make this top, and now I'm encouraged to get started!
8/26/08 10:26 AM
Seaspur said...
Excellent review as always! The blouse is beautiful.
8/26/08 10:39 AM
pterion said...
Such a lovely blouse! This was the pattern that interested me most from the August issue, so I really appreciate the terrific detailed review. Gorgeous!
8/26/08 11:07 AM
Nancy K said...
Since this is on my to sew list, I am very happy to see your review. The blouse looks great and I particularly like your wider hem tip. Great review and blouse, as usual
8/26/08 11:13 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love your blouse! I was contemplating having a go at this one, now I can with confidence! Thank you for your through review!
8/26/08 12:55 PM
OP Gal said...
It's good to see a review of an empire style blouse that doesn't look like maternity wear. You've done a wonderful job on this blouse. The fabric pattern is lovely and in "your" colors. The wider hem tip is a keeper. I'll keep that in mind the next time I sew a soft fabric.
8/26/08 4:31 PM
Annette1 said...
As soon as I read your first sentence, I was hooked. Your blouse has turned out BEAUTIFULLY (of course). :o) It's truly one of a kind in the gorgeous fabric.
8/27/08 2:12 AM
Second Avenue said...
Debra - Your blouse is stunning. Beautiful work and a lovely colour as well. You will look beautiful! Gaylene
8/27/08 2:21 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
Great blouse. I didn't realize that it truly opened all the way. I thought that just the top had decorative buttons.
8/31/08 11:50 AM
sewpamela said...
thanks - I appreciate the detail of your review and what to look out for. love the fabric and the idea to interface the hem with silk organza!! I'll be using that.
9/4/08 2:05 AM
lohroffe said...
I just got my first BWOF off of eBay and saw this blouse right away. I'm encouraged by your review! I'd like to make it with long sleeves - any thoughts?
7/3/09 10:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

New Look 6110

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
New Look 6433

photo
by: Jessica De...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now