Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8414 (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 605 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/08 3:38 AM
Last Updated:8/26/08 3:38 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sigrid. said...
Annette, you've made yourself a wonderful wardrobe. The colors and patterns combine so well for you. This jacket is lovely, and I like the peplum. But like you say, it's easy to alter next time.
8/26/08 3:46 AM
arianamaniacs said...
very nice, I think the peplum looks lovely :)
8/26/08 4:35 AM
Peggy L said...
It was worth the effort and I like the peplum, too.
8/26/08 7:29 AM
Re Becca said...
This looks really beautiful on you. I am sorry that the fabric was a night mare, but it looks very well pressed and professional. IMO, it was worth all your hard work.
8/26/08 7:44 AM
Kbenco said...
Your whole outfit is gorgeous. I love the buttons.
8/26/08 7:44 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely!!!!!! I love the jacket and am glad that once together, all of the frustrations of working the fabric pay off. Nice jacket!
8/26/08 7:50 AM
Beek said...
Fabulous wardrobe Annette. It reminds me of Armani! Nicely constructed and comfortable-looking!
8/26/08 8:34 AM
Karen8320 said...
Annette, this is just fabulous! The color is wonderful and so versatile that you will be able to match the jacket with numerous other pieces in your wardrobe. You know, I actually like the peplum. It's quite a nice and different look from the back. Very well done!
8/26/08 8:35 AM
Mahler said...
Fantastic review, thank you for the sleeve head trick. I learned that a long time a go and this refresher is excellent. I am sad you had all those problems with your fabric. The close-up pictures give the impression of a great looking fabric. For the peplum, I do not agree with you. I think it is a great addition. It gives fluidity and a distinctive look to the jacket. Though I am not a fan of extra details on garments, an half waist-belt over the peplum/back stitch could also be a great addition You even have extra buttons for it. ;-) I love all your outfits. You are a great sewer. five thumbs up to you !
8/26/08 10:40 AM
nancy2001 said...
Simple, elegant, and gorgeous.
8/26/08 10:54 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Very nice jacket - it compliments your other pieces well.
8/26/08 11:06 AM
wreninrome said...
very nice work...i love the buttons
8/26/08 11:12 AM
Elona said...
What a terrific, thorough review! Thanks for all the insights to your approach, pics, and construction details. The results are just lovely--and I also like the peplum. It sets the design apart without going outrageous or dated. And I think I love your fabric, cranky and difficult though it might be!
8/26/08 11:12 AM
Beryl said...
All your pieces are wonderful. I have wondered whether or not to use the peplum on this jacket. Thanks for the infomation.
8/26/08 1:05 PM
craftylady66 said...
Once again, beautiful work!
8/26/08 1:49 PM
moushka said...
Fabulous jacket, fabulous outfits. The peplum looks terrific and, as Mahler said, distinctive without being OTT. You certainly beat that fabric into submission, lol. Is there enough left of the skirt fabric to make a small scarf and bring some of those lovely colours up towards your face? Sensational wardrobe.
8/26/08 8:07 PM
Annette1 said...
I'm glad you mentioned that about the scarf, Moushka, because I DO have a piece that I was going to use for just that. In fact, I was going to use it when I was taking pictures, but it was so dang HOT up there on the porch, I said FORGET IT! :o)
8/26/08 9:12 PM
Darla in PA said...
The jacket looks great! As does the whole wardrobe.
8/27/08 7:16 AM
Fran G said...
I love this jacket..the color really appeals to me..and your photo of the collar..love it..so classy. Too bad it was an unfriendly fabric, but oh so worth the aggravation! Review was great written in the usual "Annette" manner.
8/27/08 7:42 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Lovely, lovely, lovely. It may have been terrible fabric, but it sure looks great all sewn up. I like the peplum, too - elevates the jacket to one with distinctive style. And as always - super thorough review! I always learn something from your reviews. Good job and thanks!
8/27/08 11:46 AM
Athene said...
A fabulous jacket for your wardrobe. The styling of the front is so great and the buttons are TDF. I love your attention to detail - you look fabulous.
8/29/08 0:47 AM
Karendee said...
Your reviews are so thorough; your garments are always winners. And congratulations of being posted as the most helpful this week. Your reviews are always helpful, perhaps the most informative reviews on this site. I feel I always all to my knowledge base when reading your pattern reviews.
8/29/08 2:11 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
HA! Like you, I planned to sneak into the Lined Jacket Contest at the last moment, as well as the Mini-Wardrobe II Contest, this month. Unlike you, the SUPERWOMAN of both speed and precision, I'm left with a jacket and a lining; that's two separate pieces, mind you. And my jacket fabric didn't fight me, like yours did. Your jacket is sublimely beautiful and I very much like that little peplum. The killer buttons would be worth risking a shoplifting charge, on a low-cash day. You look beautiful! And everyone reading should pop over to Annette's Mini-Wardrobe to see how exquisitely this jacket enhances her other pieces. --Lily
9/1/08 4:11 PM
Nancy K said...
The jacket is wonderful. Fit is always the first thing I look at and yours is terrific.
9/2/08 7:59 AM
Aunt Gail said...
another great review...and a great jacket as well.
9/6/08 3:35 AM
trishapatk said...
Lovely jacket, so very classy looking.
9/8/08 10:26 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Annette you write such amazing reviews and your clothes. . .Wow. I love to sew but I need your number so you can sew for me.
9/8/08 10:30 PM
newlywedws said...
Thank you for the detailed review - esp regarding the sleeve heads (which I'll be using on a project for my husband...it was esp helpful!
9/9/08 3:08 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely jacket, flattering fit, beautifully made.
9/11/08 8:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Marfy 1441 Sporty Jacket
photo
Review by julesberry on 11/20/07
Read Review

Christine Jonson Patterns A-Line Dress Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns A-Line Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns HP108 Geisha Girl
photo
Review by myrayerets... on 11/11/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6049 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6049 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us