SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8414 (Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 610 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/08 3:38 AM
Last Updated:8/26/08 3:38 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sigrid. said...
Annette, you've made yourself a wonderful wardrobe. The colors and patterns combine so well for you. This jacket is lovely, and I like the peplum. But like you say, it's easy to alter next time.
8/26/08 3:46 AM
arianamaniacs said...
very nice, I think the peplum looks lovely :)
8/26/08 4:35 AM
Peggy L said...
It was worth the effort and I like the peplum, too.
8/26/08 7:29 AM
Re Becca said...
This looks really beautiful on you. I am sorry that the fabric was a night mare, but it looks very well pressed and professional. IMO, it was worth all your hard work.
8/26/08 7:44 AM
Kbenco said...
Your whole outfit is gorgeous. I love the buttons.
8/26/08 7:44 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely!!!!!! I love the jacket and am glad that once together, all of the frustrations of working the fabric pay off. Nice jacket!
8/26/08 7:50 AM
Beek said...
Fabulous wardrobe Annette. It reminds me of Armani! Nicely constructed and comfortable-looking!
8/26/08 8:34 AM
Karen8320 said...
Annette, this is just fabulous! The color is wonderful and so versatile that you will be able to match the jacket with numerous other pieces in your wardrobe. You know, I actually like the peplum. It's quite a nice and different look from the back. Very well done!
8/26/08 8:35 AM
Mahler said...
Fantastic review, thank you for the sleeve head trick. I learned that a long time a go and this refresher is excellent. I am sad you had all those problems with your fabric. The close-up pictures give the impression of a great looking fabric. For the peplum, I do not agree with you. I think it is a great addition. It gives fluidity and a distinctive look to the jacket. Though I am not a fan of extra details on garments, an half waist-belt over the peplum/back stitch could also be a great addition You even have extra buttons for it. ;-) I love all your outfits. You are a great sewer. five thumbs up to you !
8/26/08 10:40 AM
nancy2001 said...
Simple, elegant, and gorgeous.
8/26/08 10:54 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Very nice jacket - it compliments your other pieces well.
8/26/08 11:06 AM
wreninrome said...
very nice work...i love the buttons
8/26/08 11:12 AM
Elona said...
What a terrific, thorough review! Thanks for all the insights to your approach, pics, and construction details. The results are just lovely--and I also like the peplum. It sets the design apart without going outrageous or dated. And I think I love your fabric, cranky and difficult though it might be!
8/26/08 11:12 AM
Beryl said...
All your pieces are wonderful. I have wondered whether or not to use the peplum on this jacket. Thanks for the infomation.
8/26/08 1:05 PM
craftylady66 said...
Once again, beautiful work!
8/26/08 1:49 PM
moushka said...
Fabulous jacket, fabulous outfits. The peplum looks terrific and, as Mahler said, distinctive without being OTT. You certainly beat that fabric into submission, lol. Is there enough left of the skirt fabric to make a small scarf and bring some of those lovely colours up towards your face? Sensational wardrobe.
8/26/08 8:07 PM
Annette1 said...
I'm glad you mentioned that about the scarf, Moushka, because I DO have a piece that I was going to use for just that. In fact, I was going to use it when I was taking pictures, but it was so dang HOT up there on the porch, I said FORGET IT! :o)
8/26/08 9:12 PM
Darla in PA said...
The jacket looks great! As does the whole wardrobe.
8/27/08 7:16 AM
Fran G said...
I love this jacket..the color really appeals to me..and your photo of the collar..love it..so classy. Too bad it was an unfriendly fabric, but oh so worth the aggravation! Review was great written in the usual "Annette" manner.
8/27/08 7:42 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Lovely, lovely, lovely. It may have been terrible fabric, but it sure looks great all sewn up. I like the peplum, too - elevates the jacket to one with distinctive style. And as always - super thorough review! I always learn something from your reviews. Good job and thanks!
8/27/08 11:46 AM
Athene said...
A fabulous jacket for your wardrobe. The styling of the front is so great and the buttons are TDF. I love your attention to detail - you look fabulous.
8/29/08 0:47 AM
Karendee said...
Your reviews are so thorough; your garments are always winners. And congratulations of being posted as the most helpful this week. Your reviews are always helpful, perhaps the most informative reviews on this site. I feel I always all to my knowledge base when reading your pattern reviews.
8/29/08 2:11 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
HA! Like you, I planned to sneak into the Lined Jacket Contest at the last moment, as well as the Mini-Wardrobe II Contest, this month. Unlike you, the SUPERWOMAN of both speed and precision, I'm left with a jacket and a lining; that's two separate pieces, mind you. And my jacket fabric didn't fight me, like yours did. Your jacket is sublimely beautiful and I very much like that little peplum. The killer buttons would be worth risking a shoplifting charge, on a low-cash day. You look beautiful! And everyone reading should pop over to Annette's Mini-Wardrobe to see how exquisitely this jacket enhances her other pieces. --Lily
9/1/08 4:11 PM
Nancy K said...
The jacket is wonderful. Fit is always the first thing I look at and yours is terrific.
9/2/08 7:59 AM
Aunt Gail said...
another great review...and a great jacket as well.
9/6/08 3:35 AM
trishapatk said...
Lovely jacket, so very classy looking.
9/8/08 10:26 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Annette you write such amazing reviews and your clothes. . .Wow. I love to sew but I need your number so you can sew for me.
9/8/08 10:30 PM
newlywedws said...
Thank you for the detailed review - esp regarding the sleeve heads (which I'll be using on a project for my husband...it was esp helpful!
9/9/08 3:08 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely jacket, flattering fit, beautifully made.
9/11/08 8:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Jalie 3022

photo
by: TaylorMade...

Review

Pattern

McCall's 2255

photo
by: piggyflowe...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now