Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2008-108 (Blouse with Front Yoke) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 856 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/27/08 11:24 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
What a neat idea with the plaid. Nice, feminine looking shirt.
8/27/08 11:46 AM
stitcheroo said...
Gorgeous blouse and great fit. I especially like the contrast of the buttons against the lighter fabric. Very cool.
8/27/08 12:05 PM
jent said...
Very pretty blouse - it fits you beautifully. And your photos are great! Makes me want to go on a picnic!
8/27/08 12:20 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute! I love how you placed the plaid bib on the bias!
8/27/08 12:25 PM
DorothyK said...
Gorgeous! It took a good eye to realize how terrific the fabric would look with that pattern. I like what you did with the yoke.
8/27/08 12:28 PM
MissCelie said...
I do in fact love this blouse with this fabric and am a wee bit sorry I donated it to the cause. But, you look terrific and have inspired me to make it up in another fabric.
8/27/08 12:37 PM
Michelle L said...
The yoke on the bias is a great touch, what a great shirt.
8/27/08 12:42 PM
Karen6790 said...
I've been planning to make this since the January issue came out. Why haven't I done it yet - it's adorable! Love the bias yoke and yes, that's definitely a great collar.
8/27/08 1:13 PM
dbsewer said...
What an adorable blouse. And I agree, the buttons are wonderful. Another great job.
8/27/08 1:22 PM
madhatter said...
SO cute! ^-^ this shirt is on my list like forever. after your version turned out so lovely I think I should finally give it a go.
8/27/08 1:25 PM
Elke said...
Very pretty, love the subtle plaid and bias yoke
8/27/08 2:06 PM
wreninrome said...
that is such a wonderful blouse...you look terrific in it
8/27/08 2:20 PM
AnneM said...
It's all about knowing what to do with the fabric! I didn't realize that BWOF went down to a size 34. This is a great style, and I agree it can be fun & flirty while still being professional. Makes me think I should get this issue.
8/27/08 2:28 PM
pterion said...
Adorable blouse and I like your fashion photos!
8/27/08 2:41 PM
Twinset said...
What a cute blouse! You look adorable in it!
8/27/08 3:50 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
So cute! You did a fantastic job on this blouse. I say it's time to change your skill level to "advanced."
8/27/08 4:02 PM
Seaspur said...
Awesome blouse!
8/27/08 4:29 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Beautiful blouse on you, of course it helps to have your petite figure, not sure if it would look so good on me! But yet another inspirational sewing project from you Nicegirl!
8/27/08 5:34 PM
Dei said...
How adorable. You've got the whole vibe going!
8/27/08 5:48 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
You always seem to pick the right choice of patterns and fabrics. Another top that looks fabulous on you. Well done.
8/27/08 5:53 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I loved this blouse from the moment I saw it. It's flattering and very 'you'. You should sew another one at some point.
8/27/08 7:29 PM
Gelbean said...
Great blouse! I love the fabric cut on the bias for the yoke.
8/27/08 7:36 PM
Heatherrique said...
Delightfully chic top on you! Superb work and flattering fit!
8/27/08 7:57 PM
Terri Smith said...
Very nice blouse, and I love the props!
8/27/08 9:19 PM
Lori V said...
Cute blouse, it is one of my favorites.
8/27/08 9:20 PM
Annette1 said...
Great photos on Cidell's part, and such a pretty subject to work with. :o) This blouse has turned out perfectly, and it has a very flattering fit. Isn't that funny that oftentimes the fabric you think you're going to like the least, you end up liking the best (and vice versa)?
8/28/08 0:57 AM
MarijaSLO said...
What a stylish shirt!
8/28/08 4:09 AM
shesflipped said...
Fantastic looking blouse!
8/28/08 5:45 AM
Kellie R. said...
So cute! It's just perfect!
8/28/08 8:53 AM
Mufffet said...
BEAUTIFUL job as usual. Love the bias yoke. Nice work.
8/28/08 10:58 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Wonderful and unique blouse. Yes, your collar is pristine and adds a great deal to the crispness of your blouse. Love the bias treatment on the bib; very upscale. It's the oversize, darker buttons that take it to the next level for me. And Cidell has captured you and your creation beautifully; your Project Photo is magazine worthy. Lovely, Lily
8/28/08 12:44 PM
celeste said...
what a fun review! love the photos and great job on the blouse.
8/29/08 12:24 PM
Deepika said...
Ohh love your blouse. Love the buttons, the collar, the bias yoke.. everything! I traced this pattern already but havent made it yet. I really really need to get to it. It's such a great pattern. Thanks for such an informative review.
8/29/08 1:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 4076
photo
Review by cindy-lou on 12/27/07
Read Review

McCalls 6731 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6731 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Patterns 1002 Ava
photo
Review by SuzyBee on 1/8/12
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us