SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2008-108 (Blouse with Front Yoke)

19 more reviews
Viewed 856 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/27/08 11:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
What a neat idea with the plaid. Nice, feminine looking shirt.
8/27/08 11:46 AM
stitcheroo said...
Gorgeous blouse and great fit. I especially like the contrast of the buttons against the lighter fabric. Very cool.
8/27/08 12:05 PM
jent said...
Very pretty blouse - it fits you beautifully. And your photos are great! Makes me want to go on a picnic!
8/27/08 12:20 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute! I love how you placed the plaid bib on the bias!
8/27/08 12:25 PM
DorothyK said...
Gorgeous! It took a good eye to realize how terrific the fabric would look with that pattern. I like what you did with the yoke.
8/27/08 12:28 PM
MissCelie said...
I do in fact love this blouse with this fabric and am a wee bit sorry I donated it to the cause. But, you look terrific and have inspired me to make it up in another fabric.
8/27/08 12:37 PM
Michelle L said...
The yoke on the bias is a great touch, what a great shirt.
8/27/08 12:42 PM
Karen6790 said...
I've been planning to make this since the January issue came out. Why haven't I done it yet - it's adorable! Love the bias yoke and yes, that's definitely a great collar.
8/27/08 1:13 PM
dbsewer said...
What an adorable blouse. And I agree, the buttons are wonderful. Another great job.
8/27/08 1:22 PM
madhatter said...
SO cute! ^-^ this shirt is on my list like forever. after your version turned out so lovely I think I should finally give it a go.
8/27/08 1:25 PM
Elke said...
Very pretty, love the subtle plaid and bias yoke
8/27/08 2:06 PM
wreninrome said...
that is such a wonderful blouse...you look terrific in it
8/27/08 2:20 PM
AnneM said...
It's all about knowing what to do with the fabric! I didn't realize that BWOF went down to a size 34. This is a great style, and I agree it can be fun & flirty while still being professional. Makes me think I should get this issue.
8/27/08 2:28 PM
pterion said...
Adorable blouse and I like your fashion photos!
8/27/08 2:41 PM
Twinset said...
What a cute blouse! You look adorable in it!
8/27/08 3:50 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
So cute! You did a fantastic job on this blouse. I say it's time to change your skill level to "advanced."
8/27/08 4:02 PM
Seaspur said...
Awesome blouse!
8/27/08 4:29 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Beautiful blouse on you, of course it helps to have your petite figure, not sure if it would look so good on me! But yet another inspirational sewing project from you Nicegirl!
8/27/08 5:34 PM
Dei said...
How adorable. You've got the whole vibe going!
8/27/08 5:48 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
You always seem to pick the right choice of patterns and fabrics. Another top that looks fabulous on you. Well done.
8/27/08 5:53 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I loved this blouse from the moment I saw it. It's flattering and very 'you'. You should sew another one at some point.
8/27/08 7:29 PM
Gelbean said...
Great blouse! I love the fabric cut on the bias for the yoke.
8/27/08 7:36 PM
Heatherrique said...
Delightfully chic top on you! Superb work and flattering fit!
8/27/08 7:57 PM
Terri Smith said...
Very nice blouse, and I love the props!
8/27/08 9:19 PM
Lori V said...
Cute blouse, it is one of my favorites.
8/27/08 9:20 PM
Annette1 said...
Great photos on Cidell's part, and such a pretty subject to work with. :o) This blouse has turned out perfectly, and it has a very flattering fit. Isn't that funny that oftentimes the fabric you think you're going to like the least, you end up liking the best (and vice versa)?
8/28/08 0:57 AM
MarijaSLO said...
What a stylish shirt!
8/28/08 4:09 AM
shesflipped said...
Fantastic looking blouse!
8/28/08 5:45 AM
Kellie R. said...
So cute! It's just perfect!
8/28/08 8:53 AM
Mufffet said...
BEAUTIFUL job as usual. Love the bias yoke. Nice work.
8/28/08 10:58 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Wonderful and unique blouse. Yes, your collar is pristine and adds a great deal to the crispness of your blouse. Love the bias treatment on the bib; very upscale. It's the oversize, darker buttons that take it to the next level for me. And Cidell has captured you and your creation beautifully; your Project Photo is magazine worthy. Lovely, Lily
8/28/08 12:44 PM
celeste said...
what a fun review! love the photos and great job on the blouse.
8/29/08 12:24 PM
Deepika said...
Ohh love your blouse. Love the buttons, the collar, the bias yoke.. everything! I traced this pattern already but havent made it yet. I really really need to get to it. It's such a great pattern. Thanks for such an informative review.
8/29/08 1:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

McCall's 5590

photo
by: CissieW

Review
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now