SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 85 (Sweater Wrap)

3 more reviews
Viewed 535 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews: 466 (patterns: 433)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 128 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/08 12:51 PM
Last Updated:8/29/08 12:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marsmaid said... (12/30/08 7:06 PM) Reply
This pattern is featured in Threads magazine. What do you think of the review in the magazine?
LuceLu said... (9/23/08 10:30 PM) Reply
I really wish I had read this review before I started mine! I thought this would be a quickie project but it really has turned my much anticipated sewing evening a bad turn. I'll post a review. However, I am determined to make this jacket work. I think I am going to redraft the sleeve (yes, my arms are in sausage casings, slightly better after cutting a test 2X for them --although the jacket is size L as I measured one of mine from my closet to pick the size). The layout is ridiculous, I was thinking, why is the grainline across the top? Luckily I am using some surplus fleece I can't pawn off on anyone.
KarmenG said... (8/31/08 7:01 AM) Reply
I agree with Ann and Kathi - and your critique is fair. Thanks for posting the info.
Kathi R said... (8/30/08 6:09 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review - there aren't many reviews on this site for Silhouette Patterns so each bit of information is helpful. I appreciate your honesty -- this is the kind of feedback we need.
Ann Smith said... (8/30/08 12:01 PM) Reply
I think pattern writers should give us a reason for why they go against the norm with cutting layout. Sometimes I can figure out why (border print, saving fabric) but other times it seems inexplicable. Is it a mistake? They should tell us why. Your story is a perfect example of this. Sounds like it was a mistake on their part. Thanks for the review.
Sewing Chick said... (8/30/08 11:31 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review and the warning. I have this pattern, and was considering it for some fabric I just bought. I was trying to decide between it and a Butterick pattern. Guess I'll be pulling out the Butterick! I have found the Silhouette patterns to be hit or miss. Some I've really liked, while others were a disaster.
Woolygal said... (8/30/08 11:12 AM) Reply
I too have had problems with her patterns.
Mary Stiefer said... (8/30/08 10:40 AM) Reply
Oh my gosh - I'm so sorry this didn't work for you. Perhaps you can use the cut up pieces for something else?
Miriam said... (8/29/08 3:05 PM) Reply
Thanks for writing the review, especially since the garment was a disappointment. It sounds as if you've given the pattern a fair analysis.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1476 OOP Issey Miyake

photo
by: style insp...

Review
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Pattern Details
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Pattern Details