SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 85 (Sweater Wrap)

3 more reviews
Viewed 513 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 452
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 419
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/08 12:51 PM
Last Updated:8/29/08 12:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Miriam said...
Thanks for writing the review, especially since the garment was a disappointment. It sounds as if you've given the pattern a fair analysis.
8/29/08 3:05 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Oh my gosh - I'm so sorry this didn't work for you. Perhaps you can use the cut up pieces for something else?
8/30/08 10:40 AM
Woolygal said...
I too have had problems with her patterns.
8/30/08 11:12 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Thanks for the review and the warning. I have this pattern, and was considering it for some fabric I just bought. I was trying to decide between it and a Butterick pattern. Guess I'll be pulling out the Butterick! I have found the Silhouette patterns to be hit or miss. Some I've really liked, while others were a disaster.
8/30/08 11:31 AM
Ann Smith said...
I think pattern writers should give us a reason for why they go against the norm with cutting layout. Sometimes I can figure out why (border print, saving fabric) but other times it seems inexplicable. Is it a mistake? They should tell us why. Your story is a perfect example of this. Sounds like it was a mistake on their part. Thanks for the review.
8/30/08 12:01 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for the review - there aren't many reviews on this site for Silhouette Patterns so each bit of information is helpful. I appreciate your honesty -- this is the kind of feedback we need.
8/30/08 6:09 PM
KarmenG said...
I agree with Ann and Kathi - and your critique is fair. Thanks for posting the info.
8/31/08 7:01 AM
LuceLu said...
I really wish I had read this review before I started mine! I thought this would be a quickie project but it really has turned my much anticipated sewing evening a bad turn. I'll post a review. However, I am determined to make this jacket work. I think I am going to redraft the sleeve (yes, my arms are in sausage casings, slightly better after cutting a test 2X for them --although the jacket is size L as I measured one of mine from my closet to pick the size). The layout is ridiculous, I was thinking, why is the grainline across the top? Luckily I am using some surplus fleece I can't pawn off on anyone.
9/23/08 10:30 PM
marsmaid said...
This pattern is featured in Threads magazine. What do you think of the review in the magazine?
12/30/08 7:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Vogue Patterns 8392

photo
by: susandf

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 315148-1000

photo
by: Lori9999

Review
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now