Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 85 (Sweater Wrap) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 502 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR
About SueVstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 427
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 394
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/08 12:51 PM
Last Updated:8/29/08 12:55 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Miriam said...
Thanks for writing the review, especially since the garment was a disappointment. It sounds as if you've given the pattern a fair analysis.
8/29/08 3:05 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Oh my gosh - I'm so sorry this didn't work for you. Perhaps you can use the cut up pieces for something else?
8/30/08 10:40 AM
Woolygal said...
I too have had problems with her patterns.
8/30/08 11:12 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Thanks for the review and the warning. I have this pattern, and was considering it for some fabric I just bought. I was trying to decide between it and a Butterick pattern. Guess I'll be pulling out the Butterick! I have found the Silhouette patterns to be hit or miss. Some I've really liked, while others were a disaster.
8/30/08 11:31 AM
Ann Smith said...
I think pattern writers should give us a reason for why they go against the norm with cutting layout. Sometimes I can figure out why (border print, saving fabric) but other times it seems inexplicable. Is it a mistake? They should tell us why. Your story is a perfect example of this. Sounds like it was a mistake on their part. Thanks for the review.
8/30/08 12:01 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for the review - there aren't many reviews on this site for Silhouette Patterns so each bit of information is helpful. I appreciate your honesty -- this is the kind of feedback we need.
8/30/08 6:09 PM
KarmenG said...
I agree with Ann and Kathi - and your critique is fair. Thanks for posting the info.
8/31/08 7:01 AM
LuceLu said...
I really wish I had read this review before I started mine! I thought this would be a quickie project but it really has turned my much anticipated sewing evening a bad turn. I'll post a review. However, I am determined to make this jacket work. I think I am going to redraft the sleeve (yes, my arms are in sausage casings, slightly better after cutting a test 2X for them --although the jacket is size L as I measured one of mine from my closet to pick the size). The layout is ridiculous, I was thinking, why is the grainline across the top? Luckily I am using some surplus fleece I can't pawn off on anyone.
9/23/08 10:30 PM
marsmaid said...
This pattern is featured in Threads magazine. What do you think of the review in the magazine?
12/30/08 7:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Burda 8155 Skirt
photo
Review by talesofawa... on 4/23/11
Read Review

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1060 MISSES' COAT
photo
Review by Barbara V on 5/8/13
Read Review

Burda 7798 Pattern
Burda 7798 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3575 Pattern ( Size XS-L-XS-XL 2 )
Simplicity 3575 Pattern ( Size XS-L-XS-XL      2 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us