SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 85 (Sweater Wrap)

3 more reviews
Viewed 508 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 441
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 113 people
patterns reviewed: 408
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/08 12:51 PM
Last Updated:8/29/08 12:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Miriam said...
Thanks for writing the review, especially since the garment was a disappointment. It sounds as if you've given the pattern a fair analysis.
8/29/08 3:05 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Oh my gosh - I'm so sorry this didn't work for you. Perhaps you can use the cut up pieces for something else?
8/30/08 10:40 AM
Woolygal said...
I too have had problems with her patterns.
8/30/08 11:12 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Thanks for the review and the warning. I have this pattern, and was considering it for some fabric I just bought. I was trying to decide between it and a Butterick pattern. Guess I'll be pulling out the Butterick! I have found the Silhouette patterns to be hit or miss. Some I've really liked, while others were a disaster.
8/30/08 11:31 AM
Ann Smith said...
I think pattern writers should give us a reason for why they go against the norm with cutting layout. Sometimes I can figure out why (border print, saving fabric) but other times it seems inexplicable. Is it a mistake? They should tell us why. Your story is a perfect example of this. Sounds like it was a mistake on their part. Thanks for the review.
8/30/08 12:01 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for the review - there aren't many reviews on this site for Silhouette Patterns so each bit of information is helpful. I appreciate your honesty -- this is the kind of feedback we need.
8/30/08 6:09 PM
KarmenG said...
I agree with Ann and Kathi - and your critique is fair. Thanks for posting the info.
8/31/08 7:01 AM
LuceLu said...
I really wish I had read this review before I started mine! I thought this would be a quickie project but it really has turned my much anticipated sewing evening a bad turn. I'll post a review. However, I am determined to make this jacket work. I think I am going to redraft the sleeve (yes, my arms are in sausage casings, slightly better after cutting a test 2X for them --although the jacket is size L as I measured one of mine from my closet to pick the size). The layout is ridiculous, I was thinking, why is the grainline across the top? Luckily I am using some surplus fleece I can't pawn off on anyone.
9/23/08 10:30 PM
marsmaid said...
This pattern is featured in Threads magazine. What do you think of the review in the magazine?
12/30/08 7:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now
Burda 7579

photo
by: QuiltSewSe...

Review