SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> LaFred> 110 (Maia Jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 815 times 
Reviewed by:MarilynB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MarilynBstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/31/02
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/08 6:06 PM
Last Updated:8/29/08 6:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JamieLiz said...
This is really a beautiful jacket. Beautiful style, beautiful fit, perfect fabric.
10/7/08 12:19 PM
Michelle99 said...
Wow! This is beautiful. And so flattering too. I agree that the seams, both front- and back-side really make this jacket.
9/16/08 8:09 AM
denese said...
i made the skirt that matches would love to try the jacket but not sure my skills are good enough very very professional looking
9/12/08 4:44 AM
cindy-lou said...
Marilyn, your jacket is absolutely stellar. I agree with you that the closely-set buttons and the pocket placement really set this jacket apart. This is really a gorgeous garment!
9/11/08 10:10 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Magnificent. Very classy. excellent skills shown
9/9/08 0:13 AM
trishapatk said...
This is an extraordinarily lovely jacket. Beautiful workmanship also.
9/8/08 10:35 PM
MarilynB said...
Thank you everyone for your kind comments. Blue Mooney, yes, other PR members have told me that I look like HM, I only wish I had her bikini body.
9/7/08 2:24 PM
blue mooney said...
This is a great style on you, and the fit is really refined! Nice job! Has anyone told you you look like Helen Mirren in your avatar?
9/7/08 9:44 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful! Your linen is gorgeous and perfect for the style. Good move to lengthen the sleeves. You really nailed the fit on this.
9/6/08 10:45 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous jacket, the fit is on the money ! Can't wait to see your "wool " version.
9/5/08 5:34 AM
hongkongshopper said...
What a lovely jacket. The design is gorgeous and your sewing and fitting skills really show it off. Well done.
9/1/08 11:51 PM
PegL said...
Your jacket is stunning! Can't wait to see the wool version!
9/1/08 5:44 PM
KarmenG said...
What a lovely jacket - your workmanship is superior and the fit is perfect. Nice work!
8/31/08 6:54 AM
Athene said...
A very attractive and beautifully fitted jacket. Definitely worth the time it took to make the muslins.
8/31/08 1:52 AM
wreninrome said...
very nice and attractive
8/30/08 8:59 PM
Karendee said...
Your jacket is beautifully made and looks lovely on you. Your planned wool version should be a nice wardrobe addition.
8/30/08 8:11 PM
Amanda S. said...
Really great! I love the style with all those buttons. The fit is wonderful.
8/30/08 5:35 PM
Mufffet said...
Beautiful jacket. Love the material and the style on you!
8/30/08 3:07 PM
cindyann said...
Marilyn, it's fantastic! I love everything about it. Beautiful work. You've convinced me, I need this pattern.
8/30/08 11:13 AM
Kellie R. said...
I really like your jacket! It's such a great design - the styling, your fabric choice... and those pockets are clever! Youve achieved outstanding fit. Great job all around.
8/30/08 11:01 AM
cecelia said...
You're right--this is certainly a lady-like jacket. It's lovely and looks wonderful on you. The buttons really set it off.
8/30/08 10:34 AM
cathy45 said...
Stunning jacket! Beautifully sewn and the pattern has such great lines. It's very flattering on you.
8/30/08 9:56 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - great fit. The buttons add such a nice touch - I think you will get a lot of wear out of this jacket
8/30/08 9:35 AM
jbrewer said...
Wow, it just looks beautiful on you! Excellent job fitting yourself.
8/30/08 9:33 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. I have had this pattern forever and yet to make it. Yours is inspiring,
8/30/08 8:19 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful jacket..very classy.
8/30/08 8:01 AM
SewingQueenKym said...
Lovely jacket. Your sewing is exquisite. Would you leave your sewing skills to me in your will?
8/30/08 6:38 AM
Margie T said...
Beautifully made jacket. Congratulations.
8/30/08 3:56 AM
Lori V said...
What a beautiful jacket and such a wonderful fit.
8/30/08 2:58 AM
Annette1 said...
What a SHARP, SHARP jacket. Fits you PERFECTLY, and look how nice it looks in the BACK with your hair, too? :o) I LOVE IT!
8/30/08 1:02 AM
CynthiaSue said...
thank you for introducing me to La Fred. Very professional outcome. looks absolutely amazing.
8/30/08 0:47 AM
lark said...
Beautiful! I have been wanting to make this for awhile now, and have even taken a few different classes with Fred. Your jacket has inspired me to get that pattern.
8/30/08 0:25 AM
ryansmumAria said...
FABULOUS! You are such a pretty lady...
8/30/08 0:24 AM
Ann B. said...
What a pretty jacket. It looks just perfect, you'll enjoy wearing it.
8/30/08 0:11 AM
Robyn16626 said...
Well done, this is just lovely. Thanks for introducing me to LaFred patterns, too.
8/30/08 0:02 AM
Darla in PA said...
Beautiful jacket! The fit is great.
8/29/08 10:44 PM
Karen6790 said...
Absolutely beautiful. All your muslins were worth it - you got a beautiful fit, and you will wear this forever.
8/29/08 10:22 PM
RMJ said...
Very nice fitted jacket - and you've introduced me to a pattern company I hadn't heard of before. Nice to know they have great instructions.
8/29/08 9:53 PM
AmyG said...
Lovely! Exquisite craftsmanship!
8/29/08 9:34 PM
Kay Y said...
"Ladylike" is the perfect word to describe this. You achieved a beautiful fit!
8/29/08 9:23 PM
washer_woman said...
Absolutely beautiful! Thank you for sharing this review!
8/29/08 8:25 PM
Nancy K said...
Really beautiful jacket with superb fit. A winner on you!
8/29/08 8:13 PM
marthamyers said...
Gorgeous, absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for sharing your review.
8/29/08 7:38 PM
cmarie12 said...
Beautiful jacket Marilyn! I have had this pattern for some time and have never taken it out of the pkg. It is good to see your version!
8/29/08 7:12 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderful jacket! It looks like it exquisitely constructed - excellent job! Love the buttons, beautiful touch.
8/29/08 7:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

McCall's M5948

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

More Info
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

More Info
New Look 6150

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review