SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Suitability> 7700 (Fly mask with or without ears)

Viewed 225 times 
Reviewed by:PrairieTides
photo

 
 
About PrairieTidesstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 1/25/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/08 9:43 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MadMenFanlinda said...
That's neat! Did not know there was such a thing. Nice job
8/29/08 10:16 PM
Vonnevo said...
How thoughtful of you to make this mask for your horse.
8/29/08 10:17 PM
marec said...
Nice job!! Measuring and altering for fit is so difficult with horse patterns (ask me how I know). I have a lovely beige fly mask with ears that is completely custom for Woodrow. It is wadded up behind my tack box right now after picking it up in the pasture 5 times and then applying antibiotic cream to the face owies resulting from the fence posts. He apparently prefers flies to the mask. Again, nice mask and nice chesnut horse!
8/30/08 0:57 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, although the sizing may have been off, you've now got it mastered, and your horse is the beneficiary! That just drives me BUGGY, no pun intended, when horses (or any livestock, for that matter) are pestered by FLIES, and fly spray doesn't seem to last any time at all. I'm so glad yours has these neat masks now, and they cover the ears too! :o)
8/30/08 0:58 AM
MelC said...
Great job making this pattern work! I much prefer a fly mask to sprays. It's nice to know there is a pattern out there as a starting point. I appreciate your review. Nice model!!!
8/30/08 7:10 AM
Re Becca said...
You did a good job making it work. I will admit that I didn't understand the picture at first. Thanks for sharing, I learned something!
8/30/08 9:54 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I never heard of such a thing because I don't know much about horses but - I love the fact that you are caring enough to take care of this problem. Well done.
8/30/08 11:33 AM
snaffles said...
Thank you for your review. I have the same sizing issues with Suitability's hood pattern where my Arab measures for the XL Warmblood size. After your experience, I'll believe the measurements and make the Warmblood size. Nice looking mask. The mesh looks like it will be soft and comfortable.
8/30/08 12:50 PM
PrairieTides said...
Thanks for all the nice comments! My horse seems to be okay with wearing a flymask, although I do occasionally find it laying in the pasture. She has been wearing them in the summer for about 7 years now. When the bugs are bad, she rubs her eyes hard enough to give herself a corneal ulcer (a scratch on the clear part of the eye - painful, gets infected, takes lots of time and a bit of money to treat). The flymask prevents that.
8/30/08 9:55 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
This is hands-down one of the coolest reviews I have ever read. Your horse is a beauty!
1/22/09 0:57 AM
araluen said...
glad I read this, I was going to buy this pattern for my own and friends horses ; maybe if your thoroughbred comes in as XL, it may not be suitable - unless I can work out how to expand the pattern for larger horses?
10/9/09 6:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's m4769

photo
by: Alinka.thi...

Review