Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Suitability: 7700 (Fly mask with or without ears) - Type:Other    printable version
Viewed 225 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:PrairieTides
photo
About PrairieTidesstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 1/25/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/08 9:43 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MadMenFanlinda said...
That's neat! Did not know there was such a thing. Nice job
8/29/08 10:16 PM
Vonnevo said...
How thoughtful of you to make this mask for your horse.
8/29/08 10:17 PM
marec said...
Nice job!! Measuring and altering for fit is so difficult with horse patterns (ask me how I know). I have a lovely beige fly mask with ears that is completely custom for Woodrow. It is wadded up behind my tack box right now after picking it up in the pasture 5 times and then applying antibiotic cream to the face owies resulting from the fence posts. He apparently prefers flies to the mask. Again, nice mask and nice chesnut horse!
8/30/08 0:57 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, although the sizing may have been off, you've now got it mastered, and your horse is the beneficiary! That just drives me BUGGY, no pun intended, when horses (or any livestock, for that matter) are pestered by FLIES, and fly spray doesn't seem to last any time at all. I'm so glad yours has these neat masks now, and they cover the ears too! :o)
8/30/08 0:58 AM
MelC said...
Great job making this pattern work! I much prefer a fly mask to sprays. It's nice to know there is a pattern out there as a starting point. I appreciate your review. Nice model!!!
8/30/08 7:10 AM
Re Becca said...
You did a good job making it work. I will admit that I didn't understand the picture at first. Thanks for sharing, I learned something!
8/30/08 9:54 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I never heard of such a thing because I don't know much about horses but - I love the fact that you are caring enough to take care of this problem. Well done.
8/30/08 11:33 AM
snaffles said...
Thank you for your review. I have the same sizing issues with Suitability's hood pattern where my Arab measures for the XL Warmblood size. After your experience, I'll believe the measurements and make the Warmblood size. Nice looking mask. The mesh looks like it will be soft and comfortable.
8/30/08 12:50 PM
PrairieTides said...
Thanks for all the nice comments! My horse seems to be okay with wearing a flymask, although I do occasionally find it laying in the pasture. She has been wearing them in the summer for about 7 years now. When the bugs are bad, she rubs her eyes hard enough to give herself a corneal ulcer (a scratch on the clear part of the eye - painful, gets infected, takes lots of time and a bit of money to treat). The flymask prevents that.
8/30/08 9:55 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
This is hands-down one of the coolest reviews I have ever read. Your horse is a beauty!
1/22/09 0:57 AM
araluen said...
glad I read this, I was going to buy this pattern for my own and friends horses ; maybe if your thoroughbred comes in as XL, it may not be suitable - unless I can work out how to expand the pattern for larger horses?
10/9/09 6:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Projects By Jane Sexy Zippy Wristlet
photo
Review by Sdtex on 10/12/12
Read Review

Vogue 1353 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1353 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Cambie Dress Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Cambie Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $17.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 9665 Kids' Chair
photo
Review by Wagon on 7/1/10
Read Review

Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern
Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Lydia Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Lydia Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us