SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 90338-1008 (Faux Wrap Top)

Viewed 599 times 
Reviewed by:lilyofthevalley
photo

 
 
About lilyofthevalleystarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/9/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/08 11:13 PM
Last Updated:8/30/08 11:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CynthiaSue said...
Have I missed your other pieces?!! My goodness, I can't wait to see them or go hunt them down. This orange is radiant and looks great on you. You have exquisite taste for color and design. I enjoyed being part of the design/draft/construction process. You are such a talent and inspiration.
8/30/08 11:36 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - I love this and the skirt that goes with it. The color is gorgeous and it looks fabulous on you. Great review with lots of information.
8/31/08 0:06 AM
Athene said...
Fabulous outfit - very flattering look for you.
8/31/08 0:49 AM
SusiM said...
Looks wonderful on you! Thanks for the detailed photos and explanations. It's helpful.
8/31/08 1:47 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Great top Lily!
8/31/08 4:47 AM
Schnauzer said...
Beautiful work as always Lily!
8/31/08 5:37 AM
MelC said...
Lily, This outfit is gorgeous. I love the pleats in the top. Well done!!!
8/31/08 7:20 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful and fabulous - I am so impressed by your work!!
8/31/08 9:16 AM
Patti B said...
Fantastic top and fantastic review! I'm with you on using facings on knits (sometimes) and appreciated seeing your pattern alterations. You look like you're ready for afternoon tea.
8/31/08 10:31 AM
Barbara V said...
This is so feminine and lovely looking on you...a perfect style and fabric combination. Thanks for the great tips in your detailed review!
8/31/08 10:37 AM
Beek said...
Beautiful dress! The color orange looks fabulous on you, brings out your lovely skin tone. I agree TOTALLY with your comment on facings. They make a neckline lie smoothly and add body to the garment. Also, great tip on fusing that strip of interfacing along the seams. I will certainly keep that in mind!
8/31/08 10:41 AM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. Perfect fit, perfect design. It looks fantastic on you. I'm in awe of your ability to design an execute your own patterns.
8/31/08 11:28 AM
Annette1 said...
You give me hope, Lily, that SOMEDAY, SOME WAY, maybe I too will find (or morph) the perfect wrap top, because that's exactly what you've done here. This looks SO DANG NICE on you. I too am always on the lookout for a wrap top that not only fits but FLATTERS a full bust and have thus far not found one. Boy, you nailed it with this one. I'm thinking the addition of those princess seams has done the trick, as the drape is not going all the way over to the side that way, and you don't have to worry about the wrap ending up underneath the bustline. IT'S PERFECT! :O)) Oh, and you look GREAT in orange, by the way!
8/31/08 12:04 PM
cindyann said...
Wonderful top, Lily! Very flattering.
8/31/08 12:24 PM
nannykk said...
looks great. i love the fabric and the two pieces that can be worn separately. i think i might try that.
8/31/08 12:57 PM
Luckylibbet said...
That is gorgeous. Thanks for the photo of your pattern pieces - it's enormously helpful to this beginning drafter!
8/31/08 12:59 PM
Amanda S. said...
This outfit is just gorgeous! You picked great color for your skin tone also. Super job!
8/31/08 3:58 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW. Beautiful! :)
8/31/08 4:40 PM
Mahler said...
Bravo Lily, what a beautiful outfit. This top as Annette said, is THE ultimate perfect wrap top for you !! Realy beautiful.
8/31/08 4:45 PM
OP Gal said...
What a gorgeous dress, and it's so becoming. You look wonderful in it. How interesting to see how you drafted the pattern from your drawing. Thanks for showing the final pieces. This is the first time I've seen interfacing attached to the back of an armscye. I'm curious, why the back of the armscye and not the whole arrmscye?
8/31/08 7:17 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Success! The fit is perfect and so flattering on you, Lily. Such a beautiful top, even if the fabric didn't want to play fair. I am always in awe of your pattern drafting skills and to know you are self taught is such an inspiration for me. Thanks for showing your pattern pieces.
8/31/08 7:41 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Op Gal (Sondra), I apply fusible interfacing to the back armscye, only (not the whole amscye), b/c my breast tissue squeezes itself, somewhat, into the front armscye. If that front armscye were stiffened, as well, it would 'pooch out' in a distorted ripple. However, if I were small or regular busted and wanted to shore up a flimsy knit, I would interface the entire armscye. Sorry, should have specified that in the Review. (And thanks for the lovely compliment, too). --Lily
8/31/08 8:19 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a LOVELY Lily of the Valley creation! So beautiful and flattering :) !!
8/31/08 8:46 PM
snapdragonfly said...
excellent, elegant, very good work. Love everything about this piece.
8/31/08 8:52 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Lilly, you always do such lovely work. What a simply stunning and elegant ensemble! And your photos are always crystal clear, as well! What a wonderful review.
8/31/08 11:14 PM
Kbenco said...
Your top looks terrific. Thank you for your excellent photographs and explanations.
9/1/08 9:39 AM
Marji said...
This looks fabulous on you. At first I thought it was the Princess top from Christine Jonson, but I now realize that it's self drafted. Very impressive. Very flattering.
9/1/08 12:23 PM
molecule said...
First, you look beautiful in orange, and not many people do. Secondly, I agree that it's hard for full busted women to look good in wrap tops, but you definitely "cracked that nut." Really, really impressive.
9/1/08 2:46 PM
Michele19 said...
Gorgeous in every way!
9/8/08 10:45 AM
TracyB said...
Lily, You are a wonderful instructor and so generous with your photo details. Thank you!
10/30/08 4:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: j Renee De...

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now