SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1105 (Brussels Skirt)

24 more reviews
Viewed 1754 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 157 people
patterns reviewed: 173
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/03 6:10 PM
Last Updated:8/13/03 6:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the tips on the elastic. I am preparing to sew this pattern. I'm still a bit confused about how to measure the elastic for a good fit--I guess it makes a big difference whether you sew through it or use a casing. And of course the kind of elastic you use will change the result. I hope this skirt will work in some wool jersey in the stash.
1/23/05 12:05 PM
jb said...
What a wonderful pattern. I am going to purchase it. I loved the look,but reading all the great reviews about the pattern was wonderful
8/16/03 11:28 PM
Sew it seams said...
This outfit is beautiful! I love the fabrics and the tunic style with this skirt looks great.
8/16/03 9:58 AM
Teri said...
What a great outfit. It looks very nice on you. I love your garden. Much different looking than mine in the high desert!
8/14/03 12:16 PM
SabrinaGA said...
jlg, Awesome! I enjoyed the review on the tunic, and want to make the shorter version myself. It's nice to see the outfit come together! *grin* And oh! Is that pampass grass? Why, it's beautiful! Great garden! ;-)
8/14/03 11:07 AM
Mini said...
I'm glad this pattern worked for you. The color combination is really flattering. I am not a skirt person either, and this is the only skirt pattern I ever use. It is so easy and take so little fabric! I also lengthen the back vent for my big outdoor gal stride. Or, you can use a knit or stretch fabric for more walking comfort (I usually go down a size for this.)
8/14/03 7:47 AM
Georgene said...
Nice ensemble, jlg. You always choose your backgrounds with such care for your review photos, its always a pleasure to see your work.
8/13/03 10:54 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Another "pretty" review! I too enjoy your reviews as much for the scenery as for the garments!! Keep up the good work, your top and skirt look fabulous.
8/13/03 9:33 PM
mudcat said...
In regards to the elastic, it depends on what "brand" you use. If you use the elastic that Loes (which you can buy at The Sewing Place) recommends I find my waist minus 2-3 inches works best. A trick if it's too tight is to add another row of stitching through the elastic as it will tend to stretch it more.
8/13/03 8:35 PM
jlg said...
Great advice Donna. That didn't even occur to me. Thanks.
8/13/03 7:22 PM
Donna Guy said...
Great outfit--love the colors! Oh, you don't have to shorten your stride if you lengthen the vent. Just cut a box around the top of the vent and raise to about knee level or a little above. BTW, I enjoy your reviews as well as the views of your beautiful garden!
8/13/03 7:11 PM
AnneM said...
Like the shoes, or lack there of, & the pampass grass. Oh yes, I also like the skirt. Love how the skirt fabric goes w/ the top. With these positive reviews, I might have to consider this pattern.
8/13/03 7:06 PM
jlg said...
Thanks Tonia. The top is burda 8960, another pattern that I recommend.
8/13/03 6:38 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Great summer outfit! I love the colours! Did you make your top too? They match beautifully. The Brussels skirt is one of my favourites - so quick and easy!
8/13/03 6:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Portabello Pixie Ruffle Pants

photo
by: JanElise

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-127

photo
by: grays08

Review
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now