Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3240 (SB Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1331 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Rhonda Noah
photo
About Rhonda Noahstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/02 9:04 PM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Thanks for this review; I like this slim type of pant. I'm the same height, with the "protruding" seat. This might be a good choice!
6/22/03 0:05 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Anne, the only thing I don't care for with this pattern is the fullness in front. Her draft is for a woman with a tummy, or at least much more tummy than I have. You may have to pinch out the excess there like I did. Also, the legs are a little snug, but if you use a lycra blend they will be more comfortable. Have fun!
6/22/03 7:21 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
I found the legs very narrow in the calf--and I don't have thick calves. The thigh and seat are roomy and fit my "protruding seat" well also. I just wore these pants today, and I feel they are very nice--casual but very neat-looking.
6/22/03 8:59 PM
lin said...
I just bought the pattern so this review gives me encouragement to start.
9/29/03 8:32 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Go for it, Lin. These do look nice and I still enjoy wearing them. One note, though, is that the calf is very snug and they tend to hold up on my socks/stocking, whatever I'm wearing under them as a foot/leg covering. If I were to make these again, I would probably widen the pants in the calf by about an inch. I get so annoyed at having to pull my pants leg down every time I stand up. Another change I'd make is to put the zipper in the center back instead of on the side.
9/30/03 3:00 AM
Cecelia said...
Hi Rhonda,just made a muslin of these pants and they fit well. First time I didn't have to add crotch length. Agree about the tummy and the calf width. How do you increase the calf width--same as tapering pants but only in reverse?
10/4/03 2:07 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Cecelia, I've not sewn these pants up again, and so have not actually widened the calf. At the moment I'm rather brain dead on how it's done. I know it's important not to mess up the grain or the leg will twist. Perhaps you should ask Gigi or the experts on the pattern drafting thread. I'd just hate to steer you wrong. Good luck. Glad you are happy with the muslin.
10/4/03 4:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Self Drafted Pattern 234865-1001 Designer Slip
photo
Review by pegsewer on 2/17/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4047
photo
Review by Anabolina on 7/1/08
Read Review

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1910 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1910 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Robson Coat Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Robson Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $17.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us