SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3240 (SB Pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1333 times 
Reviewed by:Rhonda Noah
photo

 
 
About Rhonda Noahstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/02 9:04 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Thanks for this review; I like this slim type of pant. I'm the same height, with the "protruding" seat. This might be a good choice!
6/22/03 0:05 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Anne, the only thing I don't care for with this pattern is the fullness in front. Her draft is for a woman with a tummy, or at least much more tummy than I have. You may have to pinch out the excess there like I did. Also, the legs are a little snug, but if you use a lycra blend they will be more comfortable. Have fun!
6/22/03 7:21 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
I found the legs very narrow in the calf--and I don't have thick calves. The thigh and seat are roomy and fit my "protruding seat" well also. I just wore these pants today, and I feel they are very nice--casual but very neat-looking.
6/22/03 8:59 PM
lin said...
I just bought the pattern so this review gives me encouragement to start.
9/29/03 8:32 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Go for it, Lin. These do look nice and I still enjoy wearing them. One note, though, is that the calf is very snug and they tend to hold up on my socks/stocking, whatever I'm wearing under them as a foot/leg covering. If I were to make these again, I would probably widen the pants in the calf by about an inch. I get so annoyed at having to pull my pants leg down every time I stand up. Another change I'd make is to put the zipper in the center back instead of on the side.
9/30/03 3:00 AM
Cecelia said...
Hi Rhonda,just made a muslin of these pants and they fit well. First time I didn't have to add crotch length. Agree about the tummy and the calf width. How do you increase the calf width--same as tapering pants but only in reverse?
10/4/03 2:07 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Cecelia, I've not sewn these pants up again, and so have not actually widened the calf. At the moment I'm rather brain dead on how it's done. I know it's important not to mess up the grain or the leg will twist. Perhaps you should ask Gigi or the experts on the pattern drafting thread. I'd just hate to steer you wrong. Good luck. Glad you are happy with the muslin.
10/4/03 4:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now