SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5840 (Robes and Tunic)

15 more reviews
Viewed 2602 times 
Reviewed by:marykuris
photo

 
 
About marykurisstar
Member since: 7/8/03
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/03 11:22 PM
Last Updated:8/14/03 11:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
singswithdolphin said...
I am stuck on the step with the tunic band and the interfacing that it didn't tell me to make. I'm not quite clear on how to attach the tunic band
10/26/09 11:41 PM
Victoria611 said...
You scaled this pattern down, right? I have 50 inch tall son for whom I am making the tunic, dickey and robe. Any suggestions for scaling it down this much? Thanks for a great review and awesome pictures!
3/27/08 9:49 AM
Pam Z said...
Great costume! Your fabric choice is perfect, Mary.
8/16/03 0:03 AM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
I think the Harry Potter comment comes because your DS has glasses... That's the only thing that occurs to me, since OBVIOUSLY, Harry Potter would be wearing BLACK robes, and maybe a red-and-gold Gryffindor scarf, and carrying an 11 inch holly-and-phoenix feather wand. Sheesh...some people...*lol* (OK...I read the whole HP series while I was in hospital...I'm not really THAT much of a HP addict...) Great costume, Mary...
8/15/03 7:55 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Yes, he really does look like a Jedi! The dickey thing - LOL. I'll have to remember to make a new word for it if I ever encouner such a situation.
8/15/03 4:56 PM
Tonya said...
ROFL@sons finding the dickey somehow unseemly. Teenagers are hysterical. You're right, this is a faboo pattern - I bet my hubby and/or brother would like something like this too. They never grow up, ya know...
8/15/03 10:46 AM
AnneM said...
Looks very nice. I like the material choice also. And yes, you would think the light saber would be a give-away.
8/15/03 10:31 AM
marykuris said...
Hi Peach! No, I think brown canvas would be too stiff for this robe. You really want something that's heavy, fluid, and drapey. But go for it! I started with the smallest, easiest piece (the obi sash) and that gave me the confidence to keep going.
8/15/03 10:30 AM
Peachstt said...
Mary--My husband wants me to make this costume for him so he can take our dd trick or treating. I was kind of scared because it looked difficult, now I have the confidence, after reading your review and viewing the picture, to tackle this project. Do you think I could use a brown canvas for the robe? Thanks!
8/15/03 9:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

New Look 6729

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
McCall's 5248

photo
by: MaggiS

Review
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

More Info
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

More Info