Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5840 (Robes and Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 2597 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:marykuris
photo
About marykurisstar
Member since: 7/8/03
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/03 11:22 PM
Last Updated:8/14/03 11:22 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peachstt said...
Mary--My husband wants me to make this costume for him so he can take our dd trick or treating. I was kind of scared because it looked difficult, now I have the confidence, after reading your review and viewing the picture, to tackle this project. Do you think I could use a brown canvas for the robe? Thanks!
8/15/03 9:42 AM
marykuris said...
Hi Peach! No, I think brown canvas would be too stiff for this robe. You really want something that's heavy, fluid, and drapey. But go for it! I started with the smallest, easiest piece (the obi sash) and that gave me the confidence to keep going.
8/15/03 10:30 AM
AnneM said...
Looks very nice. I like the material choice also. And yes, you would think the light saber would be a give-away.
8/15/03 10:31 AM
Tonya said...
ROFL@sons finding the dickey somehow unseemly. Teenagers are hysterical. You're right, this is a faboo pattern - I bet my hubby and/or brother would like something like this too. They never grow up, ya know...
8/15/03 10:46 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Yes, he really does look like a Jedi! The dickey thing - LOL. I'll have to remember to make a new word for it if I ever encouner such a situation.
8/15/03 4:56 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
I think the Harry Potter comment comes because your DS has glasses... That's the only thing that occurs to me, since OBVIOUSLY, Harry Potter would be wearing BLACK robes, and maybe a red-and-gold Gryffindor scarf, and carrying an 11 inch holly-and-phoenix feather wand. Sheesh...some people...*lol* (OK...I read the whole HP series while I was in hospital...I'm not really THAT much of a HP addict...) Great costume, Mary...
8/15/03 7:55 PM
Pam Z said...
Great costume! Your fabric choice is perfect, Mary.
8/16/03 0:03 AM
Victoria611 said...
You scaled this pattern down, right? I have 50 inch tall son for whom I am making the tunic, dickey and robe. Any suggestions for scaling it down this much? Thanks for a great review and awesome pictures!
3/27/08 9:49 AM
singswithdolphin said...
I am stuck on the step with the tunic band and the interfacing that it didn't tell me to make. I'm not quite clear on how to attach the tunic band
10/26/09 11:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 3881
photo
Review by colourbynu... on 5/11/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3503
photo
Review by Ejegmama on 8/25/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1478 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1478 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5181 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5181 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us