SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5840 (Robes and Tunic)

13 more reviews
Viewed 2600 times 
Reviewed by:marykuris
photo

 
 
About marykurisstar
Member since: 7/8/03
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/03 11:22 PM
Last Updated:8/14/03 11:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peachstt said...
Mary--My husband wants me to make this costume for him so he can take our dd trick or treating. I was kind of scared because it looked difficult, now I have the confidence, after reading your review and viewing the picture, to tackle this project. Do you think I could use a brown canvas for the robe? Thanks!
8/15/03 9:42 AM
marykuris said...
Hi Peach! No, I think brown canvas would be too stiff for this robe. You really want something that's heavy, fluid, and drapey. But go for it! I started with the smallest, easiest piece (the obi sash) and that gave me the confidence to keep going.
8/15/03 10:30 AM
AnneM said...
Looks very nice. I like the material choice also. And yes, you would think the light saber would be a give-away.
8/15/03 10:31 AM
Tonya said...
ROFL@sons finding the dickey somehow unseemly. Teenagers are hysterical. You're right, this is a faboo pattern - I bet my hubby and/or brother would like something like this too. They never grow up, ya know...
8/15/03 10:46 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Yes, he really does look like a Jedi! The dickey thing - LOL. I'll have to remember to make a new word for it if I ever encouner such a situation.
8/15/03 4:56 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
I think the Harry Potter comment comes because your DS has glasses... That's the only thing that occurs to me, since OBVIOUSLY, Harry Potter would be wearing BLACK robes, and maybe a red-and-gold Gryffindor scarf, and carrying an 11 inch holly-and-phoenix feather wand. Sheesh...some people...*lol* (OK...I read the whole HP series while I was in hospital...I'm not really THAT much of a HP addict...) Great costume, Mary...
8/15/03 7:55 PM
Pam Z said...
Great costume! Your fabric choice is perfect, Mary.
8/16/03 0:03 AM
Victoria611 said...
You scaled this pattern down, right? I have 50 inch tall son for whom I am making the tunic, dickey and robe. Any suggestions for scaling it down this much? Thanks for a great review and awesome pictures!
3/27/08 9:49 AM
singswithdolphin said...
I am stuck on the step with the tunic band and the interfacing that it didn't tell me to make. I'm not quite clear on how to attach the tunic band
10/26/09 11:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8597

photo
by: wingamajig

Review