SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2008-114 (Retro Shift Dress/Jumper)

4 more reviews
Viewed 770 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 181
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 179
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/08 2:26 PM
Last Updated:9/4/08 4:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
Really, really adorable!
9/1/08 2:44 PM
okie2thdoc said...
You are cranking out the projects now. I'm glad you did the review on this one- I'm going to need a RBFBA (really big FBA) for this one:)
9/1/08 3:09 PM
Vivienne said...
GORGEOUS! I love the bias plaid centre panel - very Alexander McQueen meets Versace. I hope the school kids have an eye for design!
9/1/08 3:56 PM
Speech girl said...
Lovely and very stylish. Can't wait for my issue to arrive!
9/1/08 4:37 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Dawn, this jumper is so cute on you, and I love the middle bias panel. I hope you will make another, as it's very flattering to your trim little shape. Just a twin note: had to show DH Keith your twin beauties, with identical bottles and identical security plush toys. We agreed that they're Too Cute for Words, and both have inherited, exactly, your eyes and face shape. Lovely, Lily
9/1/08 5:02 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
I'll trade your ABA for two, abundant jiggles!! ;) ;) We're NEVER quite happy, eh! NICE jumper/dress!
9/1/08 6:25 PM
CatMukai said...
You got your September BWOF already? Jealous! Also I love love love your dress. Don't be surprised if I shamelessly copy you and make it in a little plaid like yours ;)
9/1/08 6:33 PM
angie.a said...
Wow, fabulous dress! And I'd have to do an astronomical FBA, so thanks for the heads up!
9/1/08 6:46 PM
2BSewing said...
I love your dress. It fits you perfectly!
9/1/08 8:30 PM
Heatherrique said...
Captivating dress and clever placement of fabric! Very nice, Dawn!
9/1/08 9:22 PM
merteuil said...
Great fabric choice! I'm actually making this dress right now, but in plain black. Can't wait to get it finished, now that I have seen yours!
9/2/08 2:34 AM
Bernadette W said...
Your babies are adorable, and the dress is fabulous!
9/2/08 9:50 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Thanks for a great review and the warning about the FBA. That really surprises me with Burda. Usually, they are drafted for C-cups. You won't regret the duct tape double. I've had mine two years and don't know what I'd do without it. Your dress looks great.
9/2/08 12:17 PM
wreninrome said...
that's a really cute dress...adorable daughters as well...and many thanks for the FBA warning
9/2/08 2:35 PM
nicegirl said...
Oooh, that's exactly what I want to do! Plaid with a bias front inset. I am so glad you showed it can be done.
9/2/08 5:04 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is so cute. It's nicely done and looks great on you.
9/4/08 4:33 PM
sewtime said...
Cute dress and really cute helpers!
9/4/08 4:39 PM
CypGrl said...
This turned out great! Your comments about changing the petite to an average size interest me. I am 5'3" and not a plus size, but for some reason my favorite BWOF styles are often in the plus sizes. There were some really nice ones in this same issue. Thanks for the quick review.
9/4/08 5:50 PM
Mahler said...
This is a great garment ! You look great ! The two little ones are also amazing !
9/4/08 10:15 PM
crisford said...
Awesome dress! It fits you so well! Love the two little cuties too!
9/5/08 0:01 AM
cindyann said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this. As another shortie I had high hopes for this pattern. Your dress didn't disapppoint. It looks wonderful.
9/5/08 7:06 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Cute dress.
9/6/08 2:49 PM
Grammy Gin said...
this is CUTE!! CUTE!!! I LOVE your helpers.......they are ADORABLE !!!!!
4/3/09 12:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Butterick 5789

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now