Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2008-114 (Retro Shift Dress/Jumper) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 770 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/08 2:26 PM
Last Updated:9/4/08 4:32 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
Really, really adorable!
9/1/08 2:44 PM
okie2thdoc said...
You are cranking out the projects now. I'm glad you did the review on this one- I'm going to need a RBFBA (really big FBA) for this one:)
9/1/08 3:09 PM
Vivienne said...
GORGEOUS! I love the bias plaid centre panel - very Alexander McQueen meets Versace. I hope the school kids have an eye for design!
9/1/08 3:56 PM
Speech girl said...
Lovely and very stylish. Can't wait for my issue to arrive!
9/1/08 4:37 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Dawn, this jumper is so cute on you, and I love the middle bias panel. I hope you will make another, as it's very flattering to your trim little shape. Just a twin note: had to show DH Keith your twin beauties, with identical bottles and identical security plush toys. We agreed that they're Too Cute for Words, and both have inherited, exactly, your eyes and face shape. Lovely, Lily
9/1/08 5:02 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
I'll trade your ABA for two, abundant jiggles!! ;) ;) We're NEVER quite happy, eh! NICE jumper/dress!
9/1/08 6:25 PM
CatMukai said...
You got your September BWOF already? Jealous! Also I love love love your dress. Don't be surprised if I shamelessly copy you and make it in a little plaid like yours ;)
9/1/08 6:33 PM
angie.a said...
Wow, fabulous dress! And I'd have to do an astronomical FBA, so thanks for the heads up!
9/1/08 6:46 PM
2BSewing said...
I love your dress. It fits you perfectly!
9/1/08 8:30 PM
Heatherrique said...
Captivating dress and clever placement of fabric! Very nice, Dawn!
9/1/08 9:22 PM
merteuil said...
Great fabric choice! I'm actually making this dress right now, but in plain black. Can't wait to get it finished, now that I have seen yours!
9/2/08 2:34 AM
Bernadette W said...
Your babies are adorable, and the dress is fabulous!
9/2/08 9:50 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Thanks for a great review and the warning about the FBA. That really surprises me with Burda. Usually, they are drafted for C-cups. You won't regret the duct tape double. I've had mine two years and don't know what I'd do without it. Your dress looks great.
9/2/08 12:17 PM
wreninrome said...
that's a really cute dress...adorable daughters as well...and many thanks for the FBA warning
9/2/08 2:35 PM
nicegirl said...
Oooh, that's exactly what I want to do! Plaid with a bias front inset. I am so glad you showed it can be done.
9/2/08 5:04 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is so cute. It's nicely done and looks great on you.
9/4/08 4:33 PM
sewtime said...
Cute dress and really cute helpers!
9/4/08 4:39 PM
CypGrl said...
This turned out great! Your comments about changing the petite to an average size interest me. I am 5'3" and not a plus size, but for some reason my favorite BWOF styles are often in the plus sizes. There were some really nice ones in this same issue. Thanks for the quick review.
9/4/08 5:50 PM
Mahler said...
This is a great garment ! You look great ! The two little ones are also amazing !
9/4/08 10:15 PM
crisford said...
Awesome dress! It fits you so well! Love the two little cuties too!
9/5/08 0:01 AM
cindyann said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this. As another shortie I had high hopes for this pattern. Your dress didn't disapppoint. It looks wonderful.
9/5/08 7:06 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Cute dress.
9/6/08 2:49 PM
Grammy Gin said...
this is CUTE!! CUTE!!! I LOVE your helpers.......they are ADORABLE !!!!!
4/3/09 12:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 7281
photo
Review by Renren on 2/28/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern
SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pink Fig 14 The Mia Top
photo
Review by hiberniala... on 2/19/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4026 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4026 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6693 Pattern ( Size 101/2-12 1/2-14 1/2-16 1/2 )
McCalls 6693 Pattern ( Size 101/2-12 1/2-14 1/2-16 1/2 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us