SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2880 (Misses' Formal Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 2229 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 73 people
patterns reviewed: 94
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/14/08 9:43 PM
Last Updated:9/14/14 7:07 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 2880 by Terri A

Vogue Patterns: 2880 by Terri A  Vogue Patterns: 2880 by Terri A  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 2880
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by Terri A

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 33 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
Fabric:Polyester Chiffon  [See other projects in this fabric]
UPDATE : Photos
One of my first reviews (please forgive it) in conjunction with a wedding of which the couple is now at six years. Looking for photos for the bride prompted me to update these reviews.

The photo with the bride shows the dress in the background directly behind at center.


MISSES' DRESS: Lined dress, flared, below mid-knee or floor-length has ruffles (wrong side may show), close-fitting foundation with boning, laced left side panel and right side zipper. B: shaped hemline.
NOTIONS: Dress A, B: 20" - 22" Invisible Zipper, Twelve 5/8" D-rings, 45/8 yds. of 5/8" Ribbon, 21/1 yds. of 1/4" Covered Boning, 31/8yds. of 1/2" Ribbon, Stay Tape, Hooks and Eyes.

I am making a size 10

This dress has been a little intimidating to get going on, but in reality is going together fairly easily.
-It took an hour and a half to cut the pattern tissue out. There are a lot of pieces to both views. I am doing view B and cut out 29 pieces including extensions. It took me most of two days to cut the fabric and mark it.

There are many pieces that must be cut up to four times. There is a foundation for the bodice which is lining fabric, boned front and back and includes an interlining made of sew in interfacing. There is a lot of placement marking with basting which is done to ensure correct placement of the boning. It will be hidden under all the draped areas.
I just finished the foundation portion and moving on to step gazillion...
The fabric, I should mention, for this dress is chiffon. It is a bit tricky to cut and it doesn't accept the water soluble ink very well.
.............................................................................................................

It is noteworthy that because you do a LOT of basting, you really go through the thread. I would estimate twice as much thread as you would normally use. Also, if you are using sew in boning, you will need less overall ribbon yardage because the instructions have you make ribbon casings. I decided to just sew it in, and it looks fine.

The boning also goes over each shoulder, and the arm scye is tiny because it is meant to be off the shoulder. When I looked at the picture I thought it could be worn either way, but that is not true. The line and shape of the bodice is designed to be slightly off shoulder - end of story. The boning holds it there as well. You sew the shoulder seam. and then place one long strip of boning underneath that extends under both front and back shoulder areas right through the seam in one long piece, so you can't take it in once the boning is in, unless you cut the boning and then have two separate pieces. I don't think that would be optimal, but it would work if you absolutely HAD to take it in. Also, even if you take it in, the shape demands it be worn off-shoulder so you would end up making the arm hole too small and the dress unwearable or uncomfortable. So, if you want to take it up a bit there, I would suggest to just do a little bit


Make sure you get all your D rings at once and in a complimentary color. I called a store ahead of time and they assured me they had FIVE packs of the specific sized D rings I wanted, (you need 12 of them - which means about three packages) but when I got there, they actually had been mixed up on the rack and the ones behind were bigger. In my stash, I had every size but the ones I needed (Murphy's) and I ended up deciding on the two packages they had left of the smallest size they had which is 3/4" and I think it will be fine. I am running out of time and will use one pack of 1" rings somewhere it doesn't show in that side lace-up feature for my 9th through 12th D rings. I doubt it will show.

I finished the front drape today, and I love the way it looks. Everything about this dress is lovely, and I am enjoying making it, as it gets prettier and I can see the ephemeral layers coming together. My initial fear of this pattern is waning in favor of the experience of creating this unique garment.

.......................................................................................................

Ok well - next day - hit my first major problem. I made the back and back drape, gathered it and attached the gathered and basted front and front drape to the back per the directions. Then they have you hem the edge of the ruffle, by turning it under and doing sort of a basic narrow machine hem. Then sew in gathering basting, pull up the gathers to the front and back piece, and baste that in place.
I took one look at the narrow hem and realized I was going to have to take it all out. It took a gorgeous dress and made it look really baaaaaaaad...

I had originally planned to do the serged edge but when I practiced with scraps last week, the serged edge wasn't taking to the fabric. I thought - well I will play it safe and just do what they say for once. Ugh!

Also, they have you baste stuff in place and leave it like that so when I undid the basting (and two hours of work) to remove the ruffle off the dress to redo it with the serger, I accidentally pulled the basting string for the gathered drape the ruffle was attached to (there were two gathering rows and two rows of basting for different purposes of construction, on the gathered drape.... there was basting everywhere - and about an hour's worth of work fell out.
Note to self... sew in real stitches over the gathers, when you are done making them, to preserve all the hard work
Ok, that might not be such a great idea - thanks Marji!

I will need to buy more fabric and cut out those ruffle pieces again and serge them. Hmmm I wonder if I should try to use a ruffler?

More catastrophe? or maybe a nice breezy notion...
...................................................................................................

Added links to photos for boning and lace-up feature with D rings.
There is a close up of my new improved serged edged ruffles SOOO much better to me.
........................................................................................................

Finally! I can post this review!
I had to buy fabric and redo all the ruffles serging them with a rolled edge instead of the way the instructions directed, as previously stated.
The instructions ask you to do the foundation first, and I had it all done and it was easy to make. Upon installing it in the garment however, It was NOT what we wanted.
I cut the whole thing out of the dress to preserve a more feminine and soft look. Ouch! That was work and money completely wasted! She looked so much better with it out, but when I think of standing in line at the fabric store for an hour... ugh!
My daughter and I were troubleshooting what to do to support the top once the boning had been removed with the foundation and she suggested elastic. So I put a strip of elastic under each shoulder to hold them in place and to be adjustable (which the stiff boning under there had definitely NOT allowed for, I hated it stiff and heavy and just hanging there) and it worked! So happy! Something is finally going right!
I added one strip at CF and at CB to restore some support to the top, sans the foundation, and keep the lining from rolling out. I also understitched what I could.
Finally, added a bit of trim to the front and made the scarf for her neck.

In a nutshell: I hated the instructions. Hated their concept for construction. Found myself thinking I will never ever ever make this dress again...
But... once I made all the modifications and she wore it in the wedding and the lining stayed in the straps stayed in place, the front and back did not gape at all (even without emergency tape which I brought with me just in case) I decided I COULD recommend it, as it was actually lovely - but with modifications.
Be warned! There are, seriously, 148 steps in the written instructions.
Weirdly, although the whole thing was supposed to be illustrated for view B, step 122 and 123 are illustrated for view A, for some odd reason - and then right after for view B - steps 124 and 125 are identical to steps 122 and 123 anyway. OOKKAAYY... I was already getting a headache!
The invisible zipper instructions were unusually good though, in steps 93 through 101.
BACK VIEW
RIGHT SIDE VIEW

Also, the D rings don't stay in place. It doesn't matter how tight you sew them. I would suggest finding a creative alternative. They were also heavy. The heaviest thing on the whole dress, actually.
.......................................................................................................
I wanted to add that the dress itself seemed to run small to me. I think I should have gone one size up.
If you plan to add the foundation in your version, it does add bulk.
I had forgotten to mention that they have you line the dress before you add the foundation. The foundation itself, is lined after the foundation is in the dress.
..........................................................................................................
A few more things I forgot to mention- I found a ROLLER foot to be very very helpful in sewing over the gathers and any ruffles. That way, the front of the foot wasn't getting under the gathers and hanging up. I used a gathering foot (not a ruffler) to gather up all the ruffles, but on a low tension so I could adjust them by hand. Just a thought- it really helped me feel like I was getting ahead of the game when I the pressure was on and I was struggling It also felt risky, and scary but it worked out.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
60 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Thx and yes- SO much work, as you know!!! ;) @arianamaniacs
10/6/14 9:03 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Turned out beautifully! I've sewn this dress as well, so I know how much work goes into it. Excellent end result!
9/24/14 12:49 PM
CissieW said...
What an amazing achievement! The dress is perfection -- and your persistence is inspiring!
9/15/14 9:13 AM
Terri A said...
Aww thanks - and Debbie thx so much!!! With the new format those pics needed updating, but it was fun to read back and remember. I'm amazed that I was so fearless - it was an awesome challenge.
9/15/14 0:58 AM
chenille said...
Just stunning! Thanks so much for sharing.
9/14/14 11:33 PM
almost said...
WOW!! Beautiful results after so much effort...paid off!!!
9/14/14 10:26 PM
Debbie Dabbles said...
Wow...... Just wow. Mi wasn't a member back then so missed the original journey. But the end result is just lovely. Glad to know it all went together in the end.
9/14/14 10:16 PM
BirdyBooo said...
Beautiful!!
9/14/14 7:35 PM
momsurfing said...
WOW!
9/14/14 7:10 PM
rebija said...
Simply Amazing!
10/2/08 9:37 AM
cnp71203 said...
It is so lovely!
9/28/08 4:33 PM
sherri2sew said...
Another Wow! for the dress. And for your efforts, for not giving up, and for your accomplishment. Wow!
9/25/08 7:19 PM
Dale C said...
Wow!
9/22/08 3:09 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful dress and daughter!
9/18/08 7:04 AM
JamieLiz said...
A beautiful outcome from a heroic effort! Thanks for a fantastic review.
9/18/08 3:40 AM
SusiM said...
Well, everyone has already said everything good about this dress - so ditto. It's just an awesome creation! Now that you've got all the bugs worked out, the next one should be easy. ;-)
9/17/08 6:25 PM
Terri A said...
cindyanne - I just read your review for the Vogue dress you mentioned - spectacular! Loved reading it! Thank you!
9/16/08 8:05 PM
ladybirdlove said...
speechless
9/16/08 8:27 AM
moushka said...
May I suggest having DD's portrait taken in that dress? She looks beautiful in the pictures and you've created a masterpiece.
9/16/08 7:03 AM
merteuil said...
Amazing dress! Thanks so much for a wonderful review!
9/16/08 2:55 AM
2BSewing said...
The dress is beautiful and your work is amazing! Absolutely lovely!
9/15/08 8:49 PM
ryansmumAria said...
STunning! I have never done anything this complex - you are bold and amazing!
9/15/08 8:05 PM
Terri A said...
Just for me, the foundation was very bulky and stiff, especially compared to the chiffon. I would say that the boning was placed correctly under the shoulder straps, but it was heavier than the chiffon, so its weight held the straps off the shoulder and actually pulled them as you moved your arms naturally. They didn't stay in place but rather bounced. We wanted something that would hug the arm. I would add that a larger bust would prbly fill out that area better, but the dress IMHO might accomodate it better if the dress was one size bigger than the foundation. Just my opinion. If I made this again, I would buy two on sale, the proper dress size, and then one smaller for the foundation, and see which foundation size worked best.
9/15/08 6:23 PM
LuceLu said...
Very interesting! I am wondering about the foundation, was the problem that it was too bulky or that it caused the chiffon fashion fabric to bunch and pull that you decided to forgo it-- or did it just come down to the awkward placement of boning in the arm/shoulder straps?
9/15/08 5:49 PM
nellc said...
Beautiful dress, congratulations on making it through to the end of this project, it was worth it.
9/15/08 5:35 PM
carolynw said...
All your hard work and efforts paid off in an outstanding dress - well done!!
9/15/08 2:26 PM
Karendee said...
I think you did a wonderful job on this dress; it is lovely and distinctive.
9/15/08 2:11 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks for all your kind comments. I am blown away really! I am glad the length of the review wasn't too annoying:-) I tried to present it as it truly was... BTW, Nancy - It did cross my mind (repeatedly) that I might buy a dress somewhere. I was freaking out a bit there between steps 85 and 116... LOL
9/15/08 1:59 PM
Amanda S. said...
I have always loved this pattern, but boy is it intimidating. You did a fabulous job!
9/15/08 12:55 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Terri, What a beautiful work of art.
9/15/08 12:50 PM
DorothyK said...
This is amazing. That you would even attempt something like this is beyond my comprehension. What beautiful work! Thanks for writing such a good review.
9/15/08 12:03 PM
Heatherrique said...
Marvelous and impressive interpretation! Beautiful detailing! You definitlely are beyond your stated level!
9/15/08 10:22 AM
cindyann said...
Very pretty! I love the side lacing. I made a vogue dress very similar to this so I can appreciate the HARD work that you put into this. She looks lovely in it.
9/15/08 9:19 AM
Kay Y said...
Wow, that was a lot of work, but the results are outstanding. Strange the contrast between the control and effort required to make such an ethereal product!
9/15/08 9:19 AM
Marji said...
She looks lovely! Kudos for sticking with it.
9/15/08 9:13 AM
Michele19 said...
What a beautiful dress. I loved reading your story! 148 steps??? your bravery paid off, a wonderful achievement.
9/15/08 8:58 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
OH MY What an intricate dress.. It is just lovely! Pretty color too. Stand proud Mom! You tackled a tough one and saw your way through to the end. I would have been crying my eyes out while I was standing with credit card in hand at the priciest dress shop in town buying my way out of that sort of difficulty... and that would have been on day two! I also enjoyed reading your progress notes.. Thanks for sharing with everyone here.
9/15/08 8:24 AM
MarilynB said...
The dress is absolutely beautiful. All your work was definitely worth the end results. As a possible substitute for the D rings next time, you might try covering cording with the fabric and making loops with it in place of the rings. Just a thought.
9/15/08 8:03 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Very nice job, and you show a lot of tenacity by agreeing to make a pattern with that many steps!
9/15/08 7:27 AM
ButtonFaith said...
The dress is outstanding....after accomplishing the 'corset', ruffles and 148 steps I think you can change your level to 'advanced'! Great, great job!
9/15/08 5:36 AM
sewtime said...
Incredible! So Lovely.
9/15/08 0:39 AM
michellep74 said...
Mouth-droppingly gorgeous dress! Thank you so much for sharing your process and final result with us!
9/14/08 11:57 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!!! What a COOL dress!!!! I just LOVE the lace up detail!!!
9/14/08 11:30 PM
CharityAK said...
Oh wow! This is just mind-boggling. I can't imagine attempting something like this. But it looks absolutely fantastic. Soooo pretty.
9/14/08 11:07 PM
meli88a said...
wow. This is a beautiful dress!
9/14/08 10:47 PM
Terri A said...
It is for my daughter -she is in a wedding tmrw. Thanks!
9/12/08 3:26 PM
kim*brown said...
This is going to turn out beautiful and it will be worth all the work. Who is it for?
9/12/08 10:06 AM
Mahler said...
I am reading with great interest all you progresses with that dress. Thank you for reviewing so interestingly. !
9/10/08 10:29 AM
pinkli said...
So far so good, Terri. I completely agree about the amount of thread required. I went through so much when I made my version - it felt like I was constantly down to the shop to buy more. Looking at your review makes me want to make another version, as I had such fun (in a challenging way) making this dress. Enjoy the process, not to mention the final product! :)
9/10/08 7:57 AM
Terri A said...
Hey Roz, I can walk away from a lot of things and I am not a perfectionist in most every way, but when it comes to sewing... it just kills me if it isn't right!!!! How does Monk say that? It's a gift... and a curse:-)
9/5/08 7:18 PM
Terri A said...
LisaAnn, That is a fab dress! Dreamy blue chiffon! Thanks for the link!
9/5/08 7:13 PM
rozzybabe said...
I've read all the details of the extremely involved sewing you do, mostly formal, & your work's always looked outstanding. Now you're taking a real "dilly" on!! The fact you're willing to take out the ruffles, & loose lots of work time just shows how particular & precisely you sew your garments. Chiffon is a tricky fabric, IMO, so hang on because I know you'll have yet another unique, gorgeous gown when you're done. I'll check your blog in the hope of more details.
9/5/08 6:54 PM
KathleenS said...
Looks good so far. I was excited to see the pattern because I have it too (and have been somewhat deterred by the amount of cutting). I don't have any useful advice though - just go slow, take care, I'm sure you'll be fine.
9/5/08 6:42 PM
Terri A said...
Oh - Marji - that is true - stitching the ruffles down could backfire! Thx for the tip:-)
9/5/08 5:11 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks for all the positive feedback. I need it on this one. The D rings are on a drape panel that laces up on the side. You can see it more easily in the line drawing for view A on the pattern picture. There is a side zipper on the other side. Thanks for the tips on the ruffles. I think I will buy the chiffon in the same color that doesn't have sequins and just serge them - maybe it will look better than the sequin fabric would have anyway- since there are lumps randomly wherever sequins are in a serged edge, or a narrow machine hem.... thanks:-)!!!!
9/5/08 5:09 PM
LisaAnn said...
I had done a serged edge (rolled hem) on chiffon once. I noticed that it worked very well on one part of the fabric but not another. It had to do with the grain, I think it worked better on bias cuts than the straight edge. You can kind of see it here http://i256.photobucket.com/albums/hh200/lcchick/103107wedding021.jpg?t=1220643875 on the side of the dress. When I tried to serge the bottom of the dress, it was a disaster. It was like the serged part was pulling away from the fabric. I ended up just narrow hemming that part. It didn't look as I had wanted it to, but it was okay. Ya gotta love chiffon! Best of luck with the remainder of the dress, what you have looks very pretty!
9/5/08 3:46 PM
Deepika said...
wow, 29 pieces!!! I can't wait to see what the finished dress looks like. I love the fabric you chose. What are the d-rings for?
9/5/08 3:41 PM
Marji said...
that dress is a lot of work, but it will be really pretty when you've got it done. If it were me, I'd use the "couching over a piece of crochet cotton or string" method to gather, then baste it in place until your fitting, because this dress requires absolute perfect fit. If you stitch those gathers down, then have to rip them out, it'll be worse than losing just an hours worth of work. It's looking good so far.
9/5/08 2:27 PM
crisford said...
Hang in there! It looks beautiful so far, in your photo. I will be interested to know what you finally did for the ruffle edge. I have tried different methods for just this, but it seems to depend on the stiffness of the fabric.
9/5/08 10:37 AM
wreninrome said...
wow...sounds like a lot of blood, sweat, and tears, but it looks beautiful
9/5/08 10:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 3984

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2012-1

photo
by: 21wale

Review