Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2880 (Misses' Formal Dress) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1811 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 32 people   
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/14/08 9:43 PM
Last Updated:9/16/08 8:18 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
51 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wreninrome said...
wow...sounds like a lot of blood, sweat, and tears, but it looks beautiful
9/5/08 10:05 AM
crisford said...
Hang in there! It looks beautiful so far, in your photo. I will be interested to know what you finally did for the ruffle edge. I have tried different methods for just this, but it seems to depend on the stiffness of the fabric.
9/5/08 10:37 AM
Marji said...
that dress is a lot of work, but it will be really pretty when you've got it done. If it were me, I'd use the "couching over a piece of crochet cotton or string" method to gather, then baste it in place until your fitting, because this dress requires absolute perfect fit. If you stitch those gathers down, then have to rip them out, it'll be worse than losing just an hours worth of work. It's looking good so far.
9/5/08 2:27 PM
Deepika said...
wow, 29 pieces!!! I can't wait to see what the finished dress looks like. I love the fabric you chose. What are the d-rings for?
9/5/08 3:41 PM
LisaAnn said...
I had done a serged edge (rolled hem) on chiffon once. I noticed that it worked very well on one part of the fabric but not another. It had to do with the grain, I think it worked better on bias cuts than the straight edge. You can kind of see it here http://i256.photobucket.com/albums/hh200/lcchick/103107wedding021.jpg?t=1220643875 on the side of the dress. When I tried to serge the bottom of the dress, it was a disaster. It was like the serged part was pulling away from the fabric. I ended up just narrow hemming that part. It didn't look as I had wanted it to, but it was okay. Ya gotta love chiffon! Best of luck with the remainder of the dress, what you have looks very pretty!
9/5/08 3:46 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks for all the positive feedback. I need it on this one. The D rings are on a drape panel that laces up on the side. You can see it more easily in the line drawing for view A on the pattern picture. There is a side zipper on the other side. Thanks for the tips on the ruffles. I think I will buy the chiffon in the same color that doesn't have sequins and just serge them - maybe it will look better than the sequin fabric would have anyway- since there are lumps randomly wherever sequins are in a serged edge, or a narrow machine hem.... thanks:-)!!!!
9/5/08 5:09 PM
Terri A said...
Oh - Marji - that is true - stitching the ruffles down could backfire! Thx for the tip:-)
9/5/08 5:11 PM
KathleenS said...
Looks good so far. I was excited to see the pattern because I have it too (and have been somewhat deterred by the amount of cutting). I don't have any useful advice though - just go slow, take care, I'm sure you'll be fine.
9/5/08 6:42 PM
rozzybabe said...
I've read all the details of the extremely involved sewing you do, mostly formal, & your work's always looked outstanding. Now you're taking a real "dilly" on!! The fact you're willing to take out the ruffles, & loose lots of work time just shows how particular & precisely you sew your garments. Chiffon is a tricky fabric, IMO, so hang on because I know you'll have yet another unique, gorgeous gown when you're done. I'll check your blog in the hope of more details.
9/5/08 6:54 PM
Terri A said...
LisaAnn, That is a fab dress! Dreamy blue chiffon! Thanks for the link!
9/5/08 7:13 PM
Terri A said...
Hey Roz, I can walk away from a lot of things and I am not a perfectionist in most every way, but when it comes to sewing... it just kills me if it isn't right!!!! How does Monk say that? It's a gift... and a curse:-)
9/5/08 7:18 PM
pinkli said...
So far so good, Terri. I completely agree about the amount of thread required. I went through so much when I made my version - it felt like I was constantly down to the shop to buy more. Looking at your review makes me want to make another version, as I had such fun (in a challenging way) making this dress. Enjoy the process, not to mention the final product! :)
9/10/08 7:57 AM
Mahler said...
I am reading with great interest all you progresses with that dress. Thank you for reviewing so interestingly. !
9/10/08 10:29 AM
kim*brown said...
This is going to turn out beautiful and it will be worth all the work. Who is it for?
9/12/08 10:06 AM
Terri A said...
It is for my daughter -she is in a wedding tmrw. Thanks!
9/12/08 3:26 PM
meli88a said...
wow. This is a beautiful dress!
9/14/08 10:47 PM
CharityAK said...
Oh wow! This is just mind-boggling. I can't imagine attempting something like this. But it looks absolutely fantastic. Soooo pretty.
9/14/08 11:07 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!!! What a COOL dress!!!! I just LOVE the lace up detail!!!
9/14/08 11:30 PM
michellep74 said...
Mouth-droppingly gorgeous dress! Thank you so much for sharing your process and final result with us!
9/14/08 11:57 PM
sewtime said...
Incredible! So Lovely.
9/15/08 0:39 AM
ButtonFaith said...
The dress is outstanding....after accomplishing the 'corset', ruffles and 148 steps I think you can change your level to 'advanced'! Great, great job!
9/15/08 5:36 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Very nice job, and you show a lot of tenacity by agreeing to make a pattern with that many steps!
9/15/08 7:27 AM
MarilynB said...
The dress is absolutely beautiful. All your work was definitely worth the end results. As a possible substitute for the D rings next time, you might try covering cording with the fabric and making loops with it in place of the rings. Just a thought.
9/15/08 8:03 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
OH MY What an intricate dress.. It is just lovely! Pretty color too. Stand proud Mom! You tackled a tough one and saw your way through to the end. I would have been crying my eyes out while I was standing with credit card in hand at the priciest dress shop in town buying my way out of that sort of difficulty... and that would have been on day two! I also enjoyed reading your progress notes.. Thanks for sharing with everyone here.
9/15/08 8:24 AM
Michele19 said...
What a beautiful dress. I loved reading your story! 148 steps??? your bravery paid off, a wonderful achievement.
9/15/08 8:58 AM
Marji said...
She looks lovely! Kudos for sticking with it.
9/15/08 9:13 AM
Kay Y said...
Wow, that was a lot of work, but the results are outstanding. Strange the contrast between the control and effort required to make such an ethereal product!
9/15/08 9:19 AM
cindyann said...
Very pretty! I love the side lacing. I made a vogue dress very similar to this so I can appreciate the HARD work that you put into this. She looks lovely in it.
9/15/08 9:19 AM
Heatherrique said...
Marvelous and impressive interpretation! Beautiful detailing! You definitlely are beyond your stated level!
9/15/08 10:22 AM
DorothyK said...
This is amazing. That you would even attempt something like this is beyond my comprehension. What beautiful work! Thanks for writing such a good review.
9/15/08 12:03 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Terri, What a beautiful work of art.
9/15/08 12:50 PM
Amanda S. said...
I have always loved this pattern, but boy is it intimidating. You did a fabulous job!
9/15/08 12:55 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks for all your kind comments. I am blown away really! I am glad the length of the review wasn't too annoying:-) I tried to present it as it truly was... BTW, Nancy - It did cross my mind (repeatedly) that I might buy a dress somewhere. I was freaking out a bit there between steps 85 and 116... LOL
9/15/08 1:59 PM
Karendee said...
I think you did a wonderful job on this dress; it is lovely and distinctive.
9/15/08 2:11 PM
carolynw said...
All your hard work and efforts paid off in an outstanding dress - well done!!
9/15/08 2:26 PM
nellc said...
Beautiful dress, congratulations on making it through to the end of this project, it was worth it.
9/15/08 5:35 PM
LuceLu said...
Very interesting! I am wondering about the foundation, was the problem that it was too bulky or that it caused the chiffon fashion fabric to bunch and pull that you decided to forgo it-- or did it just come down to the awkward placement of boning in the arm/shoulder straps?
9/15/08 5:49 PM
Terri A said...
Just for me, the foundation was very bulky and stiff, especially compared to the chiffon. I would say that the boning was placed correctly under the shoulder straps, but it was heavier than the chiffon, so its weight held the straps off the shoulder and actually pulled them as you moved your arms naturally. They didn't stay in place but rather bounced. We wanted something that would hug the arm. I would add that a larger bust would prbly fill out that area better, but the dress IMHO might accomodate it better if the dress was one size bigger than the foundation. Just my opinion. If I made this again, I would buy two on sale, the proper dress size, and then one smaller for the foundation, and see which foundation size worked best.
9/15/08 6:23 PM
ryansmumAria said...
STunning! I have never done anything this complex - you are bold and amazing!
9/15/08 8:05 PM
2BSewing said...
The dress is beautiful and your work is amazing! Absolutely lovely!
9/15/08 8:49 PM
merteuil said...
Amazing dress! Thanks so much for a wonderful review!
9/16/08 2:55 AM
moushka said...
May I suggest having DD's portrait taken in that dress? She looks beautiful in the pictures and you've created a masterpiece.
9/16/08 7:03 AM
ladybirdlove said...
speechless
9/16/08 8:27 AM
Terri A said...
cindyanne - I just read your review for the Vogue dress you mentioned - spectacular! Loved reading it! Thank you!
9/16/08 8:05 PM
SusiM said...
Well, everyone has already said everything good about this dress - so ditto. It's just an awesome creation! Now that you've got all the bugs worked out, the next one should be easy. ;-)
9/17/08 6:25 PM
JamieLiz said...
A beautiful outcome from a heroic effort! Thanks for a fantastic review.
9/18/08 3:40 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful dress and daughter!
9/18/08 7:04 AM
Dale C said...
Wow!
9/22/08 3:09 PM
sherri2sew said...
Another Wow! for the dress. And for your efforts, for not giving up, and for your accomplishment. Wow!
9/25/08 7:19 PM
cnp71203 said...
It is so lovely!
9/28/08 4:33 PM
rebija said...
Simply Amazing!
10/2/08 9:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1165 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 7/19/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7556 Misses DRESS
photo
Review by lqtang on 12/29/13
Read Review

Butterick 5951 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5951 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us