SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2008-102 (Misses' Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 488 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/08 11:01 PM
Last Updated:9/1/08 11:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crisford said...
Cute jacket, and very entertaining review! Great job--maybe making this jacket just bumped up your sewing design skills a notch.
9/14/08 11:03 AM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely jacket! The style and color are perfect on you :) .
9/13/08 7:59 PM
nicegirl said...
This is my top pick from this issue, so I'm glad you made it up so quickly! I'll keep the sizing in mind. I'm thinking I'll need to grade down.
9/3/08 2:11 PM
amy in mpls said...
I was just looking for someone to have created something from the 09 issue. and wow. i was just reading the collar for the 103 jacket and Im a little ok, a lot confused! Thanks for your great review, it will help a lot of people, including me!
9/2/08 11:45 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, you are really fearless once you get a goal in sight! This is beautiful and I love each and every one of your changes. Such originality and style. Quite special. Lovely, Lily
9/2/08 10:27 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...awesome top! I love it. Great fabric. Changing the pattern was a brilliant move! You will really be an expert sewer because you dare to change things!
9/2/08 2:34 PM
kim*brown said...
Lovely fit, and great job with the changes!
9/2/08 2:19 PM
michellep74 said...
Oh. My. God. I love what you did with this! The original pattern did nothing for me, but with your design changes, this is something that I would absolutely love to make/wear!
9/2/08 1:02 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Very nice jacket despite all the issues you encountered. It is definitely an original and well worth the effort. Now, girl, reward yourself and sew something from one of the big 4 where the instructions are friendly. Another very helpful and entertaining review.
9/2/08 9:43 AM
2BSewing said...
Cute jacket! I have to agree with you about BWOF instructions...mysterious. lol! Enjoyed your review. :)
9/2/08 9:12 AM
Karen8320 said...
First up, who needs Burda WOF when there is a Heatherrique original?!?! Louella, you have transformed this design from something which was really quite ordinary to something which is definitely funky and has heaps more pizzazz! I love your problem solving strategies and I love what you've done to make this truly your own.
9/2/08 8:15 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow...I haven't even GOT my 9/08 issue yet...
9/2/08 7:39 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Yet another wonderful Heatherrique project! I just love EVERYTHING you make, you must have the most bulging wardrobe but what style! Thanks for a great review, looks like I could copy your shortcuts to make some nice jackets for work.
9/2/08 4:49 AM
Gelbean said...
Cute jacket! I just love the fabric. Thanks for the review!
9/2/08 1:41 AM
CynthiaSue said...
The belted waist is adorable. Excellent review.
9/2/08 0:58 AM
HLT said...
I think that this is great. Your originality really comes through. Ditto Anette1!!! Great job with he fabric choice. You look fab, modern & chic!
9/2/08 0:15 AM
Annette1 said...
YES, this is MOST DEFINITELY a Heatherrique original; however, rather than canceling your subscription, I think Burda may be calling you to see if they can use your version too! I love the "butterfly" sleeves that you have incorporated, along with the addition of the belt and the button trim. THIS IS REALLY CUTE! :o)
9/1/08 11:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8663

photo
by: Victoria B

Review
New Look 6097

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

More Info
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info