SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2008-102 (Misses' Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 487 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/08 11:01 PM
Last Updated:9/1/08 11:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
YES, this is MOST DEFINITELY a Heatherrique original; however, rather than canceling your subscription, I think Burda may be calling you to see if they can use your version too! I love the "butterfly" sleeves that you have incorporated, along with the addition of the belt and the button trim. THIS IS REALLY CUTE! :o)
9/1/08 11:11 PM
HLT said...
I think that this is great. Your originality really comes through. Ditto Anette1!!! Great job with he fabric choice. You look fab, modern & chic!
9/2/08 0:15 AM
CynthiaSue said...
The belted waist is adorable. Excellent review.
9/2/08 0:58 AM
Gelbean said...
Cute jacket! I just love the fabric. Thanks for the review!
9/2/08 1:41 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Yet another wonderful Heatherrique project! I just love EVERYTHING you make, you must have the most bulging wardrobe but what style! Thanks for a great review, looks like I could copy your shortcuts to make some nice jackets for work.
9/2/08 4:49 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow...I haven't even GOT my 9/08 issue yet...
9/2/08 7:39 AM
Karen8320 said...
First up, who needs Burda WOF when there is a Heatherrique original?!?! Louella, you have transformed this design from something which was really quite ordinary to something which is definitely funky and has heaps more pizzazz! I love your problem solving strategies and I love what you've done to make this truly your own.
9/2/08 8:15 AM
2BSewing said...
Cute jacket! I have to agree with you about BWOF instructions...mysterious. lol! Enjoyed your review. :)
9/2/08 9:12 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Very nice jacket despite all the issues you encountered. It is definitely an original and well worth the effort. Now, girl, reward yourself and sew something from one of the big 4 where the instructions are friendly. Another very helpful and entertaining review.
9/2/08 9:43 AM
michellep74 said...
Oh. My. God. I love what you did with this! The original pattern did nothing for me, but with your design changes, this is something that I would absolutely love to make/wear!
9/2/08 1:02 PM
kim*brown said...
Lovely fit, and great job with the changes!
9/2/08 2:19 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...awesome top! I love it. Great fabric. Changing the pattern was a brilliant move! You will really be an expert sewer because you dare to change things!
9/2/08 2:34 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, you are really fearless once you get a goal in sight! This is beautiful and I love each and every one of your changes. Such originality and style. Quite special. Lovely, Lily
9/2/08 10:27 PM
amy in mpls said...
I was just looking for someone to have created something from the 09 issue. and wow. i was just reading the collar for the 103 jacket and Im a little ok, a lot confused! Thanks for your great review, it will help a lot of people, including me!
9/2/08 11:45 PM
nicegirl said...
This is my top pick from this issue, so I'm glad you made it up so quickly! I'll keep the sizing in mind. I'm thinking I'll need to grade down.
9/3/08 2:11 PM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely jacket! The style and color are perfect on you :) .
9/13/08 7:59 PM
crisford said...
Cute jacket, and very entertaining review! Great job--maybe making this jacket just bumped up your sewing design skills a notch.
9/14/08 11:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 7371

photo
by: Cosso

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now