SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5840 (Robes and Tunic)

13 more reviews
Viewed 407 times 
Reviewed by:saguaro
photo

 
 
About saguaro
IL USA
Member since: 6/10/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/08 8:14 PM
Last Updated:9/4/08 11:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wreninrome said...
congratulations! i knew it was HP before I even read it...excellent job!
9/4/08 8:20 PM
saguaro said...
wreninrome, thank you for the good words. It was well worth the changes I made to get it to look right. I even consulted my HP DVDs!
9/8/08 10:32 PM
annabananabelle said...
I am making a Ravenclaw robe using this same pattern set. I am so excited that you have done a review of it because I can use it for a reference. Thanks!
10/12/09 2:22 AM
saguaro said...
Hi annabananabelle, I just logged in after a bit of an absence and saw your comments. I would love to see a pic of your Ravenclaw robe and hope that this review helped you out with that project!
11/2/09 2:54 PM
elnigma said...
I love that cape!! Beautiful
4/13/11 3:26 PM
JulesK said...
I bought this pattern today to make a HP costume for my daughter. I had the same plans to line the robe with colored lining (this one will be blue for Ravenclaw). I like your idea about omitting the yoke, I will do that also. I am glad you mentioned taking in the sides because I have not yet purchased fabric. Glad to read your review- I plan to make all the pattern alterations and then decide how much fabric to buy. In addition my daughter is short so I know I can knock off 5 or 6 inches in the hem.
4/22/11 10:29 PM
JulesK said...
I bought this pattern today to make a HP costume for my daughter. I had the same plans to line the robe with colored lining (this one will be blue for Ravenclaw). I like your idea about omitting the yoke, I will do that also. I am glad you mentioned taking in the sides because I have not yet purchased fabric. Glad to read your review- I plan to make all the pattern alterations and then decide how much fabric to buy. In addition my daughter is short so I know I can knock off 5 or 6 inches in the hem.
4/22/11 10:29 PM
koolchicken said...
Thanks for the review, I had been thinking about buying this pattern and altering it to be a HP robe. I'm 5'10" with disproportionate limbs so the sleeves on the "official" robe are too short for me. And I'm not paying $100 for something that doesn't fit! I'll be sure to use your review for reference when I start on mine! :)
7/4/11 6:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2927

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now
Simplicity 2072

photo
by: heking81

Review