Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5840 (Robes and Tunic)

15 more reviews
Viewed 458 times 
Reviewed by:saguaro
photo

 
 
About saguaro
IL USA
Member since: 6/10/08
Reviews: 3 (patterns: 3)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/08 8:14 PM
Last Updated:9/4/08 11:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shearay752 said... (10/26/14 8:40 AM) Reply
Thanks for your help! (yes, even 6 years later @_@)
koolchicken said... (7/4/11 6:01 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review, I had been thinking about buying this pattern and altering it to be a HP robe. I'm 5'10" with disproportionate limbs so the sleeves on the "official" robe are too short for me. And I'm not paying $100 for something that doesn't fit! I'll be sure to use your review for reference when I start on mine! :)
JulesK said... (4/22/11 10:29 PM) Reply
I bought this pattern today to make a HP costume for my daughter. I had the same plans to line the robe with colored lining (this one will be blue for Ravenclaw). I like your idea about omitting the yoke, I will do that also. I am glad you mentioned taking in the sides because I have not yet purchased fabric. Glad to read your review- I plan to make all the pattern alterations and then decide how much fabric to buy. In addition my daughter is short so I know I can knock off 5 or 6 inches in the hem.
JulesK said... (4/22/11 10:29 PM) Reply
I bought this pattern today to make a HP costume for my daughter. I had the same plans to line the robe with colored lining (this one will be blue for Ravenclaw). I like your idea about omitting the yoke, I will do that also. I am glad you mentioned taking in the sides because I have not yet purchased fabric. Glad to read your review- I plan to make all the pattern alterations and then decide how much fabric to buy. In addition my daughter is short so I know I can knock off 5 or 6 inches in the hem.
elnigma said... (4/13/11 3:26 PM) Reply
I love that cape!! Beautiful
saguaro said... (11/2/09 2:54 PM) Reply
Hi annabananabelle, I just logged in after a bit of an absence and saw your comments. I would love to see a pic of your Ravenclaw robe and hope that this review helped you out with that project!
annabananabelle said... (10/12/09 2:22 AM) Reply
I am making a Ravenclaw robe using this same pattern set. I am so excited that you have done a review of it because I can use it for a reference. Thanks!
saguaro said... (9/8/08 10:32 PM) Reply
wreninrome, thank you for the good words. It was well worth the changes I made to get it to look right. I even consulted my HP DVDs!
wreninrome said... (9/4/08 8:20 PM) Reply
congratulations! i knew it was HP before I even read it...excellent job!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Pattern Details
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Contest Travel Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: MVi14

Review