SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5840 (Robes and Tunic)

15 more reviews
Viewed 448 times 
Reviewed by:saguaro
photo

 
 
About saguaro
IL USA
Member since: 6/10/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/08 8:14 PM
Last Updated:9/4/08 11:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shearay752 said...
Thanks for your help! (yes, even 6 years later @_@)
10/26/14 8:40 AM
koolchicken said...
Thanks for the review, I had been thinking about buying this pattern and altering it to be a HP robe. I'm 5'10" with disproportionate limbs so the sleeves on the "official" robe are too short for me. And I'm not paying $100 for something that doesn't fit! I'll be sure to use your review for reference when I start on mine! :)
7/4/11 6:01 AM
JulesK said...
I bought this pattern today to make a HP costume for my daughter. I had the same plans to line the robe with colored lining (this one will be blue for Ravenclaw). I like your idea about omitting the yoke, I will do that also. I am glad you mentioned taking in the sides because I have not yet purchased fabric. Glad to read your review- I plan to make all the pattern alterations and then decide how much fabric to buy. In addition my daughter is short so I know I can knock off 5 or 6 inches in the hem.
4/22/11 10:29 PM
JulesK said...
I bought this pattern today to make a HP costume for my daughter. I had the same plans to line the robe with colored lining (this one will be blue for Ravenclaw). I like your idea about omitting the yoke, I will do that also. I am glad you mentioned taking in the sides because I have not yet purchased fabric. Glad to read your review- I plan to make all the pattern alterations and then decide how much fabric to buy. In addition my daughter is short so I know I can knock off 5 or 6 inches in the hem.
4/22/11 10:29 PM
elnigma said...
I love that cape!! Beautiful
4/13/11 3:26 PM
saguaro said...
Hi annabananabelle, I just logged in after a bit of an absence and saw your comments. I would love to see a pic of your Ravenclaw robe and hope that this review helped you out with that project!
11/2/09 2:54 PM
annabananabelle said...
I am making a Ravenclaw robe using this same pattern set. I am so excited that you have done a review of it because I can use it for a reference. Thanks!
10/12/09 2:22 AM
saguaro said...
wreninrome, thank you for the good words. It was well worth the changes I made to get it to look right. I even consulted my HP DVDs!
9/8/08 10:32 PM
wreninrome said...
congratulations! i knew it was HP before I even read it...excellent job!
9/4/08 8:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Workshop Now and Zen Shirts

photo
by: Nancywin

Review
Vogue Patterns 1170

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now