Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5840 (Robes and Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 393 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:saguaro
photo
About saguaro
IL USA
Member since: 6/10/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/08 8:14 PM
Last Updated:9/4/08 11:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wreninrome said...
congratulations! i knew it was HP before I even read it...excellent job!
9/4/08 8:20 PM
saguaro said...
wreninrome, thank you for the good words. It was well worth the changes I made to get it to look right. I even consulted my HP DVDs!
9/8/08 10:32 PM
annabananabelle said...
I am making a Ravenclaw robe using this same pattern set. I am so excited that you have done a review of it because I can use it for a reference. Thanks!
10/12/09 2:22 AM
saguaro said...
Hi annabananabelle, I just logged in after a bit of an absence and saw your comments. I would love to see a pic of your Ravenclaw robe and hope that this review helped you out with that project!
11/2/09 2:54 PM
elnigma said...
I love that cape!! Beautiful
4/13/11 3:26 PM
JulesK said...
I bought this pattern today to make a HP costume for my daughter. I had the same plans to line the robe with colored lining (this one will be blue for Ravenclaw). I like your idea about omitting the yoke, I will do that also. I am glad you mentioned taking in the sides because I have not yet purchased fabric. Glad to read your review- I plan to make all the pattern alterations and then decide how much fabric to buy. In addition my daughter is short so I know I can knock off 5 or 6 inches in the hem.
4/22/11 10:29 PM
JulesK said...
I bought this pattern today to make a HP costume for my daughter. I had the same plans to line the robe with colored lining (this one will be blue for Ravenclaw). I like your idea about omitting the yoke, I will do that also. I am glad you mentioned taking in the sides because I have not yet purchased fabric. Glad to read your review- I plan to make all the pattern alterations and then decide how much fabric to buy. In addition my daughter is short so I know I can knock off 5 or 6 inches in the hem.
4/22/11 10:29 PM
koolchicken said...
Thanks for the review, I had been thinking about buying this pattern and altering it to be a HP robe. I'm 5'10" with disproportionate limbs so the sleeves on the "official" robe are too short for me. And I'm not paying $100 for something that doesn't fit! I'll be sure to use your review for reference when I start on mine! :)
7/4/11 6:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 4386
photo
Review by HelenM01 on 6/19/13
Read Review

Butterick 5710 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5710 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7102 Pattern
Burda 7102 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6440 Misses' Pants
photo
Review by JustineSew... on 1/29/13
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us