SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2742 (DKNY Seperates)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1988 times 
Reviewed by:Gina Marie
photo

 
 
About Gina Mariestarstar
HI USA
Member since: 4/9/03
Reviews: 74 (patterns: 68)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 23 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/03 6:29 PM
Last Updated:8/25/03 1:01 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbusy said... (3/24/04 9:52 PM) Reply
I've seen it made up in cotton shirting and it looked a bit like a maternity top, so I agree with Gina. I'm going to use a drapey knit.
meli88a said... (11/16/03 9:44 AM) Reply
how did you get the shirt to be so fitted? i made one too, but it came out really loose. i'm nearly swimming in it... i would have liked to have taken some of the ease out for better fit.
Lou. said... (8/25/03 3:25 PM) Reply
Great top! I saw this on "A makeover story" the other day, and the woman had it v. fitted. It looked great!
Teri said... (8/17/03 4:20 PM) Reply
Your top is so interesting. Thanks for the review. I am going to check this one out.
Irene said... (8/16/03 1:42 PM) Reply
I kept returning to this top in the Vogue catalog, but the photo led me to believe that it would be huge and fluffy. It's a relief to find that it's more fitted. I ran across some stretch wovens that might just fit the bill. Thanks for the wonderfully descriptive review.
Marita Kinnula said... (8/16/03 12:22 PM) Reply
Fabulous! Great review, thanks!
Sherril Miller said... (8/16/03 12:17 PM) Reply
I just love this pattern. But sadly, Vogue doesn't recommend it for my body type. It is ok for the triangle, inverted triangle, and the hourglass. I am an apple, with no defined waist and a big belly. I was hoping this pattern would give me the illusion of having a waist. Thanks for the info on fit and ease.
SouthernStitch said... (8/16/03 10:32 AM) Reply
Glad you reviewed this. I was considering it, but with my big waist, I'm afraid it would look like a maternity top on me. Yours looks really good, glad you got a winner.
Alana Robson said... (8/16/03 8:26 AM) Reply
Gina, this is an excellent review! You have answered the exact two questions I had about this pattern: is it really "very loose-fitting" and how difficult is it to iron. I'm happy to hear that it is more fitted, and based on your review, I may also choose a blend rather than all cotton. But how did they get it so crease-free on the model?
candyo said... (8/15/03 11:35 PM) Reply
i'm glad you reviewed this pattern- i was wondering how it would turn out. this will not be a top i will bother with- too much of a headache for me! thanks for the tips!
Mariko said... (8/15/03 10:53 PM) Reply
Gina, beautiful and unique! I need to start sewing this kind of interesting design. Thanks for the great review!
Sue Anfang said... (8/15/03 10:19 PM) Reply
Gina, thanks for the review! This is on my fall list and I'm definitely making it out of a poly/cotton to eliminate the ironing. Is an 18 the size you usually cut in Vogue? Sue
jlg said... (8/15/03 9:00 PM) Reply
This is an interesting shirt. I like to see the more unusual patterns made up and looking great. Thanks for the review.
AnneM said... (8/15/03 7:21 PM) Reply
They must have gone up a size on that pattern envelope picture! Interesting pattern, great review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1174

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Pattern Details