SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2742 (DKNY Seperates)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1987 times 
Reviewed by:Gina Marie
photo

 
 
About Gina Mariestarstar
HI USA
Member since: 4/9/03
Reviews: 74 (patterns: 68)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 23 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/03 6:29 PM
Last Updated:8/25/03 1:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbusy said... (3/24/04 9:52 PM) Reply
I've seen it made up in cotton shirting and it looked a bit like a maternity top, so I agree with Gina. I'm going to use a drapey knit.
meli88a said... (11/16/03 9:44 AM) Reply
how did you get the shirt to be so fitted? i made one too, but it came out really loose. i'm nearly swimming in it... i would have liked to have taken some of the ease out for better fit.
Lou. said... (8/25/03 3:25 PM) Reply
Great top! I saw this on "A makeover story" the other day, and the woman had it v. fitted. It looked great!
Teri said... (8/17/03 4:20 PM) Reply
Your top is so interesting. Thanks for the review. I am going to check this one out.
Irene said... (8/16/03 1:42 PM) Reply
I kept returning to this top in the Vogue catalog, but the photo led me to believe that it would be huge and fluffy. It's a relief to find that it's more fitted. I ran across some stretch wovens that might just fit the bill. Thanks for the wonderfully descriptive review.
Marita Kinnula said... (8/16/03 12:22 PM) Reply
Fabulous! Great review, thanks!
Sherril Miller said... (8/16/03 12:17 PM) Reply
I just love this pattern. But sadly, Vogue doesn't recommend it for my body type. It is ok for the triangle, inverted triangle, and the hourglass. I am an apple, with no defined waist and a big belly. I was hoping this pattern would give me the illusion of having a waist. Thanks for the info on fit and ease.
SouthernStitch said... (8/16/03 10:32 AM) Reply
Glad you reviewed this. I was considering it, but with my big waist, I'm afraid it would look like a maternity top on me. Yours looks really good, glad you got a winner.
Alana Robson said... (8/16/03 8:26 AM) Reply
Gina, this is an excellent review! You have answered the exact two questions I had about this pattern: is it really "very loose-fitting" and how difficult is it to iron. I'm happy to hear that it is more fitted, and based on your review, I may also choose a blend rather than all cotton. But how did they get it so crease-free on the model?
candyo said... (8/15/03 11:35 PM) Reply
i'm glad you reviewed this pattern- i was wondering how it would turn out. this will not be a top i will bother with- too much of a headache for me! thanks for the tips!
Mariko said... (8/15/03 10:53 PM) Reply
Gina, beautiful and unique! I need to start sewing this kind of interesting design. Thanks for the great review!
Sue Anfang said... (8/15/03 10:19 PM) Reply
Gina, thanks for the review! This is on my fall list and I'm definitely making it out of a poly/cotton to eliminate the ironing. Is an 18 the size you usually cut in Vogue? Sue
jlg said... (8/15/03 9:00 PM) Reply
This is an interesting shirt. I like to see the more unusual patterns made up and looking great. Thanks for the review.
AnneM said... (8/15/03 7:21 PM) Reply
They must have gone up a size on that pattern envelope picture! Interesting pattern, great review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-101

photo
by: liliv

Review
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Pattern Details
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Pattern Details