Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5052 (Shirt in Two Lengths & Tie Bel) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 980 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/08 5:38 AM
Last Updated:2/27/10 8:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolee01 said...
You do a beautiful job. One of the prettiest Hawaiian shirts that I've seen.
9/3/08 6:02 AM
tenaya said...
Fabulous fabric and you've done a masterful job. (You matched up the pocket very well with the print.) Thanks for the review of this pattern. 1 5/8 yards for 45" is impressive indeed!
9/3/08 6:24 AM
Tiner W said...
Very pretty!
9/3/08 7:04 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking shirt. I'm a sucker for hawaiian prints and the buttons are a perfect match.
9/3/08 8:46 AM
Puppy said...
Very, very nice.
9/3/08 12:02 PM
Karendee said...
This is a campshirt TDF. The print, color, and buttons are just perfect--as is your workmanship.
9/3/08 12:55 PM
crystalwoods said...
I bought this pattern last weekend, so I was glad to see a review of it. Your shirt looks fabulous :) Great job matching the pattern at the pocket area!
9/3/08 1:44 PM
Mufffet said...
I love your wardrobe of shirts. All very nice prints....very tropical. Love your gallery! Good job.
9/4/08 2:54 PM
Mini said...
Your reviews are very helpful, and have encouraged me to get back into sewing shirts. I tried this pattern after seeing your review, and it is really a find. Easy to sew, fits well, suits a variety of fabrics. Thanks!
8/4/09 3:48 PM
Christas said...
This is such a nice looking shirt! I love the way you did your review with the slide show. I enjoyed getting to see other versions you have made. Very nice review!
2/13/10 11:56 PM
Renren said...
Nice trick with the hem. Someone was just asking about that technique today. I cannot tell if this shirt has a pocket, and I'm assuming it does and that it is matched as perfectly as the one on the yellow shirt so that it is practically invisible. Love all the versions--you make it look so easy!
2/14/10 1:28 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thank you, Renren. Yes, it does have a pocket, and yes, I took care to match it. It is indeed an easy shirt, and well worth your time and effort.
2/14/10 2:29 AM
carolynw said...
Love these shirts - have the pattern and when I am back to sewing (side lined because of hand surgery) plan to use it. Great review
2/14/10 9:37 AM
dollieo said...
Nicely done.
2/17/10 4:55 PM
sewing for fun said...
Such a great, fun burst of color... looks like you are ready for vacation! Thanks for the review and pattern comparisons!
2/27/10 9:39 AM
Nancywin said...
wow - I ilooked through your album and you have a lot of great shirts from this pattern. I recently made 2 similar shirts from another McCalls pattern, and think I will be doing the same, since this is my favorite style of shirt to wear. Aren't you glad you added the darts to the back? I love that Japanese fabric too!
2/27/10 11:44 AM
JTink said...
These bright, pretty shirts give us the hope that Spring actually will arrive here at some point!LOL!!! You did a great job and have inspired me to go dig out my favorite Hawaiian shirt pattern and get creative. Thank you for sending a bit of warmth to our 40 degree day;-)
2/27/10 1:33 PM
Peter in NYC said...
This looks so crisp and pretty. I love it.
2/27/10 6:18 PM
Renren said...
Another great shirt from this pattern. Next time McCalls is on sale, this one is coming home with me! (I played the Find the Perfectly Matched Pocket Game, but couldn't convince myself there was, in fact, a pocket on your shirt!)
2/27/10 10:22 PM
FreyaStark said...
Yes, Nancywin, I'm certainly glad I added those darts - I should have done so on earlier versions, and commend them to others. Yes, Renren, there is a pocket there somewhere.
2/28/10 0:33 AM
mymehigan said...
Thanks so much for the informative review and pics. Your quality workmanship adds a great deal to what could otherwise be just an ordinary shirt. Kudos to you!
8/15/10 10:20 AM
carolynw said...

1/23/13 11:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 1182 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by MarianS on 8/16/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2008-7
photo
Review by Sandi S on 4/2/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2858 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2858 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us