SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5052 (Shirt in Two Lengths & Tie Bel)

8 more reviews
Viewed 993 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 158
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/08 5:38 AM
Last Updated:2/27/10 8:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolee01 said...
You do a beautiful job. One of the prettiest Hawaiian shirts that I've seen.
9/3/08 6:02 AM
tenaya said...
Fabulous fabric and you've done a masterful job. (You matched up the pocket very well with the print.) Thanks for the review of this pattern. 1 5/8 yards for 45" is impressive indeed!
9/3/08 6:24 AM
Tiner W said...
Very pretty!
9/3/08 7:04 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking shirt. I'm a sucker for hawaiian prints and the buttons are a perfect match.
9/3/08 8:46 AM
Puppy said...
Very, very nice.
9/3/08 12:02 PM
Karendee said...
This is a campshirt TDF. The print, color, and buttons are just perfect--as is your workmanship.
9/3/08 12:55 PM
crystalwoods said...
I bought this pattern last weekend, so I was glad to see a review of it. Your shirt looks fabulous :) Great job matching the pattern at the pocket area!
9/3/08 1:44 PM
Mufffet said...
I love your wardrobe of shirts. All very nice prints....very tropical. Love your gallery! Good job.
9/4/08 2:54 PM
Mini said...
Your reviews are very helpful, and have encouraged me to get back into sewing shirts. I tried this pattern after seeing your review, and it is really a find. Easy to sew, fits well, suits a variety of fabrics. Thanks!
8/4/09 3:48 PM
Christas said...
This is such a nice looking shirt! I love the way you did your review with the slide show. I enjoyed getting to see other versions you have made. Very nice review!
2/13/10 11:56 PM
Renren said...
Nice trick with the hem. Someone was just asking about that technique today. I cannot tell if this shirt has a pocket, and I'm assuming it does and that it is matched as perfectly as the one on the yellow shirt so that it is practically invisible. Love all the versions--you make it look so easy!
2/14/10 1:28 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thank you, Renren. Yes, it does have a pocket, and yes, I took care to match it. It is indeed an easy shirt, and well worth your time and effort.
2/14/10 2:29 AM
carolynw said...
Love these shirts - have the pattern and when I am back to sewing (side lined because of hand surgery) plan to use it. Great review
2/14/10 9:37 AM
dollieo said...
Nicely done.
2/17/10 4:55 PM
sewing for fun said...
Such a great, fun burst of color... looks like you are ready for vacation! Thanks for the review and pattern comparisons!
2/27/10 9:39 AM
Nancywin said...
wow - I ilooked through your album and you have a lot of great shirts from this pattern. I recently made 2 similar shirts from another McCalls pattern, and think I will be doing the same, since this is my favorite style of shirt to wear. Aren't you glad you added the darts to the back? I love that Japanese fabric too!
2/27/10 11:44 AM
JTink said...
These bright, pretty shirts give us the hope that Spring actually will arrive here at some point!LOL!!! You did a great job and have inspired me to go dig out my favorite Hawaiian shirt pattern and get creative. Thank you for sending a bit of warmth to our 40 degree day;-)
2/27/10 1:33 PM
Peter in NYC said...
This looks so crisp and pretty. I love it.
2/27/10 6:18 PM
Renren said...
Another great shirt from this pattern. Next time McCalls is on sale, this one is coming home with me! (I played the Find the Perfectly Matched Pocket Game, but couldn't convince myself there was, in fact, a pocket on your shirt!)
2/27/10 10:22 PM
FreyaStark said...
Yes, Nancywin, I'm certainly glad I added those darts - I should have done so on earlier versions, and commend them to others. Yes, Renren, there is a pocket there somewhere.
2/28/10 0:33 AM
mymehigan said...
Thanks so much for the informative review and pics. Your quality workmanship adds a great deal to what could otherwise be just an ordinary shirt. Kudos to you!
8/15/10 10:20 AM
carolynw said...

1/23/13 11:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now