SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Petite Plus Patterns> 101 (Short-sleeved Shell top)

4 more reviews
Viewed 625 times 
Reviewed by:tenaya
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tenaya
USA
Member since: 7/18/08
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/08 10:05 PM
Last Updated:9/3/08 10:08 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewing for fun said...
I have tried these patterns with great success on an almost 5'4" plus figure, but definitely needed the FBA for the G cup. The FBA would probably have added enough lenght to front so darts would fall in the right place (or close to it) Her FBA directions gave good results when I was sewing for plus size.
9/3/08 10:21 PM
tenaya said...
Thanks for that info, sewing for fun! I'll bet that doing the FBA would have helped, but the top is still too short in the back, so I think it's just too short. But the FBA probably would have made a difference!
9/3/08 10:27 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I have this pattern which I picked up last year unopened at a thrift shop for .10 ( a real find) so I was happy to see what you did with it. I will need to watch out for those front darts as my bust has lowered with age. I am shorter than you and a D cup so this should work for me if I shorten the front darts. I may want to check the sleeve length as well. Thanks for showing your take on this pattern.
9/4/08 8:32 AM
Learn To Sew said...
Thanks for a very imformative review. I've made the pattern a couple of times now. I learned some altering with this pattern, so I know you had to alter it for yourself in several places. I imagine it looked better on you after the alterations. For me, if I decide to make it up again, I will scoop the neckline to one of my favorite lengths and make it in either a lycra blend or a knit. I did not do the tucks that you did. I was not sure where they would or should end. As I have not done them before, and choosing a quliting cottom for my fabric, I had no 'moving-around' room. In a knit or lycra blend, this will not be so uncomfortable. I would also change the hemline to a curved one on me. Is yours straight or slightly curved? Yes, the pattern is made for someone who is short. Those of us who fit that catagory are happy we have more choices. I think you did some decent alterations and you realize you need to do others if you make it up again. If you do, consider a knit next time---or a lycra blend would be good to. This pattern seemed like it should have some stretch to it to be comfortable. I think you wrote a good review and your change at the back with the snap sounds excellent.
9/4/08 3:06 PM
luray said...
I have been wanting to buy this pattern, but was worried about getting it on and off over my shoulders and bust. Is there enough room using a woven fabric? thanks.
9/4/08 6:17 PM
tenaya said...
Yes, luray, there should be enough room, especially if you don't add the additional tucks. (I only added the tucks in the front and there was plenty of room.) And to answer your question, Learn To Sew, I think the front hem is slightly curved. Thanks for the information about using a knit fabric! And sewcrazy, I think this pattern should fit you well. (Checking sleeve length/width might be a good idea, though! ;-) )
9/4/08 9:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Simplicity 2772

photo
by: Sauvage

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now