Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Petite Plus Patterns: 101 (Short-sleeved Shell top) thumbsup - Type:Plus    printable version
Viewed 612 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:tenaya
photo
Friend of PR
About tenaya
USA
Member since: 7/18/08
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/08 10:05 PM
Last Updated:9/3/08 10:08 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewing for fun said...
I have tried these patterns with great success on an almost 5'4" plus figure, but definitely needed the FBA for the G cup. The FBA would probably have added enough lenght to front so darts would fall in the right place (or close to it) Her FBA directions gave good results when I was sewing for plus size.
9/3/08 10:21 PM
tenaya said...
Thanks for that info, sewing for fun! I'll bet that doing the FBA would have helped, but the top is still too short in the back, so I think it's just too short. But the FBA probably would have made a difference!
9/3/08 10:27 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I have this pattern which I picked up last year unopened at a thrift shop for .10 ( a real find) so I was happy to see what you did with it. I will need to watch out for those front darts as my bust has lowered with age. I am shorter than you and a D cup so this should work for me if I shorten the front darts. I may want to check the sleeve length as well. Thanks for showing your take on this pattern.
9/4/08 8:32 AM
Learn To Sew said...
Thanks for a very imformative review. I've made the pattern a couple of times now. I learned some altering with this pattern, so I know you had to alter it for yourself in several places. I imagine it looked better on you after the alterations. For me, if I decide to make it up again, I will scoop the neckline to one of my favorite lengths and make it in either a lycra blend or a knit. I did not do the tucks that you did. I was not sure where they would or should end. As I have not done them before, and choosing a quliting cottom for my fabric, I had no 'moving-around' room. In a knit or lycra blend, this will not be so uncomfortable. I would also change the hemline to a curved one on me. Is yours straight or slightly curved? Yes, the pattern is made for someone who is short. Those of us who fit that catagory are happy we have more choices. I think you did some decent alterations and you realize you need to do others if you make it up again. If you do, consider a knit next time---or a lycra blend would be good to. This pattern seemed like it should have some stretch to it to be comfortable. I think you wrote a good review and your change at the back with the snap sounds excellent.
9/4/08 3:06 PM
luray said...
I have been wanting to buy this pattern, but was worried about getting it on and off over my shoulders and bust. Is there enough room using a woven fabric? thanks.
9/4/08 6:17 PM
tenaya said...
Yes, luray, there should be enough room, especially if you don't add the additional tucks. (I only added the tucks in the front and there was plenty of room.) And to answer your question, Learn To Sew, I think the front hem is slightly curved. Thanks for the information about using a knit fabric! And sewcrazy, I think this pattern should fit you well. (Checking sleeve length/width might be a good idea, though! ;-) )
9/4/08 9:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 2282
photo
Review by Irene Bull... on 4/1/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4109
photo
Review by oliveoyl45 on 4/7/07
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7037 Pattern
Burda 7037 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Tank Dress Group
Loes Hinse Tank Dress Group

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us