Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8483 (Vogue Woman Wardrobe) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 673 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/08 3:24 PM
Last Updated:9/4/08 4:32 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aunt Gail said...
I've had this pattern for about 6 months and am working my way up to it! So, I truly appreciate that thorough review you gave it. What would you think of making the very same jacket with a fabric that is not as stiff as the embroidered denim you used? Also, I really appreaciate the pix you have posted of the jacket open, I had no idea that it would like THAT good! Your review has inspired me to put this pattern Up on a Notch or two on my TO DO patterns. Thank you.
9/4/08 3:46 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is really cute! I think it's great with the denim, even though it was intended to be a muslin. Great job!
9/4/08 4:32 PM
Mufffet said...
This is a pretty jacket. I like the warm look to it.
9/4/08 5:28 PM
Annette1 said...
Carolyn: Well, you know me ALL TOO WELL! As soon as I saw your picture, I thought, I LOVE THAT! I went right online to see which pattern it is, and GUESS WHAT? It's on sale for only $5.99 "rat now." :o)) This looks GREAT on you. I love the asymmetrical closure, the loop buttons, and the FIT. I'm especially glad to see this one made up, because I'm never sure how true to form it will be when you only have a drawing to go by, particularly when there's an unusual element such as this collar. And I didn't even NOTICE the pants until you pointed them out. Dang it, I'm going to have to order it. (Carolyn made me do it, I'll vow.) I'm ALSO glad to finally put your pretty face to your name! :o)
9/4/08 6:58 PM
Vonnevo said...
Clin, your jacket is fabulous and the style is versatile too. What a bonus to have a nice jacket from a not-so-loved piece of fabric :)
9/4/08 8:30 PM
Mahler said...
Bonjour Clin, I am pleased to put a face on your name ! I like you jacket very much. This is more then a muslin, you are right.
9/4/08 10:23 PM
Karen8320 said...
Clin, this looks really good and I think it really suits you. The asymmetrical closing is a nice feature. I'm sure that with different fabrics this could be a very versatile pattern. It is lovely to put a face to your beautiful work!
9/5/08 7:51 AM
cecelia said...
I can't believe this is a "Vogue Woman" pattern. It is very striking--love it for the unusual details.
9/5/08 8:27 AM
shesflipped said...
Fantastic looking jacket! It looks wonderful on you!
9/5/08 3:58 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Your jacket is fantastic-looking. Great style and color for you.Thanks so much for detailed review. Am I right in thinking that to wear the collar open, the fabric should be the same on both sides? If so, did you have to widen the facing piece to insure that this occurred? Thanks for attention.
9/5/08 5:39 PM
carolynw said...
Harriett - the facing is wide enough to allow for opening and fold back of both lapels wth no interior seams showing. It's great with the same fabric facing - but also would be a good place to use a complimentary color for added oomph!! I think it would also work for a two sided fabric and thus eliminate the need for a facing - just my opinion
9/6/08 9:17 AM
moushka said...
Thanks so much for reviewing this pattern. Your version is terrific. Love the denim and closure. I thought this one had a lot of potential and bought it when it first came out. Glad to see yours turned out so well. I saw some embroidered wool at Fabricland that I think would look fabulous in this pattern.
9/14/08 9:45 PM
OlindaM said...
Have just bought this pattern & hope to make up over the Christmas break - seeing the photo of a real person wearing the jacket is motivating - well done to you it looks great!
12/23/08 11:41 AM
carolmc said...
I am looking for comments about the pants pattern that is also part of this pattern ensemble. Has anyone ever made the pants????
8/1/09 1:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book Knit pants
photo
Review by Ahuva on 1/12/06
Read Review

Butterick 5678 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5678 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7976
photo
Review by Karen8320 on 8/23/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us