SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8483 (Vogue Woman Wardrobe)

4 more reviews
Viewed 675 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/08 3:24 PM
Last Updated:9/4/08 4:32 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aunt Gail said...
I've had this pattern for about 6 months and am working my way up to it! So, I truly appreciate that thorough review you gave it. What would you think of making the very same jacket with a fabric that is not as stiff as the embroidered denim you used? Also, I really appreaciate the pix you have posted of the jacket open, I had no idea that it would like THAT good! Your review has inspired me to put this pattern Up on a Notch or two on my TO DO patterns. Thank you.
9/4/08 3:46 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is really cute! I think it's great with the denim, even though it was intended to be a muslin. Great job!
9/4/08 4:32 PM
Mufffet said...
This is a pretty jacket. I like the warm look to it.
9/4/08 5:28 PM
Annette1 said...
Carolyn: Well, you know me ALL TOO WELL! As soon as I saw your picture, I thought, I LOVE THAT! I went right online to see which pattern it is, and GUESS WHAT? It's on sale for only $5.99 "rat now." :o)) This looks GREAT on you. I love the asymmetrical closure, the loop buttons, and the FIT. I'm especially glad to see this one made up, because I'm never sure how true to form it will be when you only have a drawing to go by, particularly when there's an unusual element such as this collar. And I didn't even NOTICE the pants until you pointed them out. Dang it, I'm going to have to order it. (Carolyn made me do it, I'll vow.) I'm ALSO glad to finally put your pretty face to your name! :o)
9/4/08 6:58 PM
Vonnevo said...
Clin, your jacket is fabulous and the style is versatile too. What a bonus to have a nice jacket from a not-so-loved piece of fabric :)
9/4/08 8:30 PM
Mahler said...
Bonjour Clin, I am pleased to put a face on your name ! I like you jacket very much. This is more then a muslin, you are right.
9/4/08 10:23 PM
Karen8320 said...
Clin, this looks really good and I think it really suits you. The asymmetrical closing is a nice feature. I'm sure that with different fabrics this could be a very versatile pattern. It is lovely to put a face to your beautiful work!
9/5/08 7:51 AM
cecelia said...
I can't believe this is a "Vogue Woman" pattern. It is very striking--love it for the unusual details.
9/5/08 8:27 AM
shesflipped said...
Fantastic looking jacket! It looks wonderful on you!
9/5/08 3:58 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Your jacket is fantastic-looking. Great style and color for you.Thanks so much for detailed review. Am I right in thinking that to wear the collar open, the fabric should be the same on both sides? If so, did you have to widen the facing piece to insure that this occurred? Thanks for attention.
9/5/08 5:39 PM
carolynw said...
Harriett - the facing is wide enough to allow for opening and fold back of both lapels wth no interior seams showing. It's great with the same fabric facing - but also would be a good place to use a complimentary color for added oomph!! I think it would also work for a two sided fabric and thus eliminate the need for a facing - just my opinion
9/6/08 9:17 AM
moushka said...
Thanks so much for reviewing this pattern. Your version is terrific. Love the denim and closure. I thought this one had a lot of potential and bought it when it first came out. Glad to see yours turned out so well. I saw some embroidered wool at Fabricland that I think would look fabulous in this pattern.
9/14/08 9:45 PM
OlindaM said...
Have just bought this pattern & hope to make up over the Christmas break - seeing the photo of a real person wearing the jacket is motivating - well done to you it looks great!
12/23/08 11:41 AM
carolmc said...
I am looking for comments about the pants pattern that is also part of this pattern ensemble. Has anyone ever made the pants????
8/1/09 1:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 4221

photo
by: twotoast

Review
Kwik Sew 1671

photo
by: SamF

Review
SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now