Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Produce Bag (Produce Bag) - Type:Crafts    printable version
Viewed 324 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/08 4:33 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LorrieAnn said...
Great idea! You are going to have a lot of people copying these!
9/4/08 5:18 PM
zinnia said...
Thank you for sharing your wonderful idea!
9/4/08 5:25 PM
kim*brown said...
Great idea! I love this. I will definitely be doing this and my Walmart has $1.00 yd sheer fabric at this moment, so this will be a steal to make! Thanks so much for your review!
9/4/08 5:39 PM
Rebecca D said...
Brilliant! Thanks for sharing these, I see my xmas list shaping up.
9/4/08 5:48 PM
Deepika said...
kim, my fabric was $4 but I will be on the hunt for some $1 fabric too. Make sure that its the lightest fabric you can find. You dont want to add weight to the scale.
9/4/08 6:09 PM
zinnia said...
Do you think a bridal Illusion would work for this bag?
9/4/08 7:23 PM
Terri A said...
Wow cool!
9/4/08 7:59 PM
Catbird said...
This is a revelation to me. I always use cloth grocery bags but have never thought of making produce bags that can be used over and over. I love it!
9/4/08 8:10 PM
Karen6790 said...
What a cool idea - I hadn't thought about making produce bags. Must go through the stash now . ..
9/4/08 8:28 PM
Lynnelle said...
Good idea. I have been trying to reuse my plastic produce bags to cut down on consumption and waste. The problem is I forget to bring the darn things with me. I'll need to make a lot of these and keep them in the trunk with my Trader Joe bags.
9/4/08 8:35 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I have sooo many reusable grocery bags but no reusable produce bags. This is a great idea, I'm making some too, asap!
9/5/08 2:02 AM
diane s said...
Great to see your bags, I'm in the middle of making some out of nylon net.
9/5/08 3:01 AM
sarahb said...
ooh, my very green sister would love a bunch of these for xmas, let us know the reaction at the grocery store!!
9/5/08 7:35 AM
donna mel said...
GREAT!! you WILL be getting the eye roll at the checkout! be the trend setter and next thing you know these bags will be for sale at the checkout counter! i'm making some myself.
9/5/08 7:36 AM
BettyMike said...
thanks Deepika. I've thought for a couple of years that I should make something like this, just wasn't sure what fabric to use. I'll be on the lookout for sheer fabric!
9/5/08 1:15 PM
nadinec said...
I whipped some up out of organza (which was wider than the chiffon Joann's had). I used them for the first time last night at Safeway. Alas, no female checkers were at any of the checkouts, so I thought I wouldn't get any comments. But the young, male bagger I wound up with made a BIG fuss over them! He thought they were just the best thing ever! Thanks, Deepika - now I have the prettiest produce bags around - pale pink, blue, lavendar, green, and yellow :-)
9/12/08 10:06 AM
Deepika said...
Wow that is so cool Nadine. I still haven't inaugurated my bags. Going to a nearby farmers market right now so they'll be quite useful. I gotta make more of these. And I think they'll make great gifts for eco-minded people.
9/13/08 10:37 AM
nadinec said...
Deepika - I'm headed to our local Farmer's Market right now, with some more I made just this morning. So did yours get rave reviews yesterday? :-)
9/14/08 1:27 PM
Deepika said...
Well I ended up going to the farmer's market too yesterday but there nobody noticed them. But my husband did say, "what's that fancy bag the cherry tomatoes are in". So I told him that I made it to discontinue the use of plastic produce bags. I dont know if he was impressed but he did look at me in disbelief ;-)
9/15/08 8:56 AM
Hilary said...
This is such a great idea, I need to make a bunch of these! LOL about your DH's reaction (sounds like my DH, he thinks I'm nuts :o) )
10/9/08 11:19 AM
Deepika said...
Hilary, these bags are great. Only thing is I need more! and I am thinking of making tiny ones too for herbs/garlic few onions etc. They passed beautifully at the grocery store too. The clerk was able to look at the produce inside the bag and ring it.
10/10/08 8:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

brerrabbit.com Easy Table Runner Kit
photo
Review by Mary Stief... on 3/12/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2938 Misses top
photo
Review by KarlaB on 7/3/12
Read Review

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8908 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8908 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1439 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1439 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us