SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3503 (Misses Day or Evening Knit)

101 more reviews
Viewed 946 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:9/5/08 12:25 PM
Last Updated:8/24/09 9:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EveS said...
Sorry about the sideways pic...Photobucket and my pics don't seem to see eye to eye lately. No time to fix now...will try later. :(
9/5/08 12:34 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress. I just ordered the pattern. Thanks for all the tips. Now I have to go look up what shoulder stabilizing means.
9/5/08 12:36 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Eve, this is stunning. You look slim as a twig and six feet tall; very svelte. The back interest of this dress with its slim turned ties holds just the right amount of ahhh value. Your review is excellent and explains, in detail, your alterations, as well as how you effected them. Thanks for sharing this beauty. Lovely, Lily
9/5/08 1:33 PM
sewbehind said...
This is beautiful on you. Gorgeous!
9/5/08 1:44 PM
Karen6790 said...
I'm with DS - that's a lot of pretty. Great dress, thanks for all the extra info on what you did. And why is it that no one tells you about shoulder seams anymore? Beautiful job.
9/5/08 1:57 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow, this looks amazing on you! You really wear long dresses (and dresses in general) very well. Another great project and another great review!
9/5/08 2:55 PM
sideseams said...
Oh, your dress is just beautiful on you!
9/5/08 3:03 PM
Amanda S. said...
What a great dress! I never even noticed the back of this design. If these are still in style next spring, you've inspired me to make one.
9/5/08 3:18 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Great dress!
9/5/08 3:48 PM
cabinbaby said...
You look great!!! That dress is totally slimming and dramatic! Awesome.
9/5/08 4:01 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
FABULOUS! :)
9/5/08 4:18 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a PRETTY dress!!! It's STUNNING!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE it!!!! Your fabric is GORGEOUS!!!!!
9/5/08 4:41 PM
Gold said...
Looks great on you!
9/5/08 4:44 PM
NurseByrd said...
I am a beginner and I was thrilled to try this pattern, now I am frustrated because I can not understand how to attach the bodice back to the bodice front. I am new and I have fatih in the pattern co that all steps are there. please help. shonkeishabyrd@hotmail.com
9/5/08 5:28 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely, Eve! I'm so loving the Maxi trend this summer. The back is especially fetching. {snif} wish I were young enough to pull this off.
9/5/08 6:36 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great dress! Dresses seem to be your 'thing'. You always look fabulous in them!
9/5/08 7:33 PM
ladybirdlove said...
ooooo it is so nice! I love the color combination on you- very flattering fit :)
9/5/08 10:50 PM
Natasha B said...
This looks fabulous! The design is so perfect for you and you pull it off beautifully. All your extra work in the fit and construction really shows through in the finished product.
9/6/08 2:43 AM
woole bully said...
love the detail for the back. very nice
9/6/08 5:17 AM
Heatherrique said...
Tres belle, Eve! I adore this look on you, and please do not shorten it!Let me repeat, DO NOT shorten it! You are one of the lucky ones that can wear dresses in a variety of lengths! Another delightful review! ;-}
9/6/08 11:28 AM
Luckylibbet said...
So pretty! And it makes you look so long and thin and gorgeous - I'm jealous! Adore the fabric, it's PERFECT for the style. And thanks so much for such a comprehensive review!
9/6/08 11:43 AM
cathy45 said...
Stunning dress on you.
9/6/08 12:28 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Sharp dress and great fit!
9/6/08 1:06 PM
Twinset said...
This is a beautiful dress, with a great fit and very flattering colors for your skin tone! Love the print too! Great review!
9/6/08 1:17 PM
cindy-lou said...
Love your dress! Your son's right-- it's very flattering. And I need a little in the booty department so maybe it will be a good style for me. Thanks for the great review! (P.S.-- 'Burda Boobs on Parade'... *hee!*)
9/7/08 12:06 PM
Leora said...
I want this pattern and that fabric so I can copy you! Wow, the floor length is stunning and I love how you lined the bodice. Great stuff here!
9/9/08 12:11 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I'm without words, your dress (and you for that matter) look gorgeous! I'm so behind in reviews, but glad I caught this one. Great work Eve!
9/13/08 0:14 AM
WildMum said...
I see everyone is making it smaller but I made it the normal size for me and it seems ok but the back could have been a bit smaller. No idea how to make it tighter fitting now though as I have sewen the skirt on already! I made the long halter.
10/12/08 8:59 AM
Mahler said...
I missed your initial posting. What a magnificent effect on you. This dress is simple and so elegant. Wonderful choice of fabric and contrasting band.
3/7/09 10:20 AM
SewingSho said...
The dress is beautiful; you did a great job!
3/9/09 9:19 PM
LollyVee said...
Thanx for the tip on extra large sizing on this pattern!
3/16/09 2:15 PM
mary in FL said...
That is Awesome!
8/24/09 9:37 PM
Mahler said...
I think your version looks better then on the envelop ! Wonderful second Maxi Dress !
8/24/09 9:50 PM
sewbehind said...
You look fantastic in this dress. Love the second version.
8/24/09 10:06 PM
PegL said...
Your dress looks great on you! So glad to see you're finding time to sew!
8/25/09 6:55 AM
meli88a said...
I love your dress with the alterations you made. You look great in it! Your comments about fit are so validating -- I'm 5'1" and had so many problems with the fit, but agree this is a gorgeous design.
8/25/09 7:58 AM
LollyVee said...
Firstly, thank you for a thoroughly entertaining and informative review....and secondly, you look drop-dead sexy in that maxi!!
8/25/09 10:20 AM
ryan's mom said...
BEAUTIFUL!!!
8/26/09 9:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 2443

photo
by: lalalosch

Review
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 8044

photo
by: The Dreams...

Review