SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2008-114 (Retro Shift Dress/Jumper)

4 more reviews
Viewed 907 times 
Reviewed by:merteuil
photo

 
 
About merteuilstar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/08 12:26 PM
Last Updated:9/8/08 3:52 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Immelu said...
That looks fantastic! People who don't sew will never notice a few wrinkles. It looks great!
9/6/08 1:28 PM
Catbird said...
This looks GREAT on you and the neckline change is brilliant. It looks so much better than the BWOF version!
9/6/08 1:35 PM
michellep74 said...
You look absolutely smashing in this! Great job--your persistence with working on the fit paid off.
9/6/08 1:36 PM
Mahler said...
Simple, chic and so well fitted on you. I love the neck line change. Vraiment g�niale cette robe et tellement actuelle ce look un peu r�tro. Superbe !
9/6/08 1:51 PM
Kay Y said...
I like your neckline changes very much - beautiful LBD! I'm also curious to know if you lengthened it... (am thinking of making this one myself!)
9/6/08 2:33 PM
cabinbaby said...
WOW! I love your new neck line!!!
9/6/08 2:36 PM
Terri A said...
Really Nice!
9/6/08 2:37 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Cute dress. I like the changes that you made.
9/6/08 2:52 PM
wreninrome said...
great dress...i love the sweetheart neckline!
9/6/08 3:02 PM
ladybirdlove said...
Great job on this! Very nice!
9/6/08 4:30 PM
AliciaNoel said...
This dress is just beautiful - love the neckline!!
9/6/08 4:34 PM
Karen6790 said...
This one is definitely on my short list to sew. Love your change to the neckline, it turns it into a completely different (and also fabulous dress).
9/6/08 4:48 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely dress!
9/6/08 5:10 PM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous! I think that this will really grow on you when you see how many people compliment you on it. I love your neckline, that is why I didn't take a second look at this, but I really like it your way.
9/6/08 6:58 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress, the neckline is so nice.
9/6/08 7:32 PM
Amy-may said...
Your neckline change is brillant! I'm planning to "whip" this dress up and had already decided to scoop the neck. You version is even better!
9/6/08 8:46 PM
shaggy said...
Love the way this dress looks on you. Especially like the neckline.
9/7/08 1:09 AM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful dress. I love the neckline.
9/7/08 9:46 AM
Barbara V said...
I like the neckline that you created. I think it is a wonderful style for you!
9/7/08 11:10 AM
Robyn16626 said...
This looks divine on you and the neckline changes really make the whole dress. May I ask how you did the changes?
9/8/08 0:41 AM
Robyn16626 said...
Sorry, I meant how you did the changes to the neckline (as you've already done a good job explaining the other changes)
9/8/08 0:43 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, you have really improved this dress with your neckline changes, and it looks wonderful on you.
9/8/08 3:39 AM
nellc said...
Beautiful dress, the new neckline is lovely.
9/8/08 7:54 AM
Marji said...
Fabulous! Yours looks infinitely better than the original. Love what you did with the neckline, the length, everything. I'm guessing that if you did this in a wool crepe some of those drape issues you don't like would go away.
9/8/08 9:05 AM
jkaori said...
The dress looks great, and I love the neckline modification. Very flattering!
9/8/08 12:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
Classy, chic, and fantastic!
9/8/08 6:39 PM
Robyn16626 said...
Thanks so much for the explanation and photos for the neck change. You've certainly inspired me to be a little more creative in changing patterns. Plus, you could certainly give BWOF a few tips about how to write clear instructions! :)
9/8/08 8:42 PM
piffle said...
oh wow. Well done. You look terrific. All that time pin fitting was totally worth it. I hope you get to wear this somewhere fun!
9/8/08 9:46 PM
Twinset said...
Very very nice! Congrats!
9/9/08 2:39 AM
reformfabric said...
You look fabulous in this. I really like your alteration to the necking. You have got the fit just right, it reminds me of a galaxy dress.
9/9/08 1:41 PM
EveS said...
LOVELY, lovely, LBD!!! This makes me wish I was a petite!
9/9/08 10:23 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
I LOVE the changes you made on the neckline for this dress! It is a great LBD!!!
9/10/08 4:59 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely dress with a beautiful neckline.
9/11/08 8:22 PM
ChristineX said...
Gorgeous. I like your alteration at the neck--jewel necklines don't do anything for me either.
9/13/08 11:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Manequim Magazine 04-2012-216

photo
by: nicegirl

Review