SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2008-114 (Retro Shift Dress/Jumper)

4 more reviews
Viewed 907 times 
Reviewed by:merteuil
photo

 
 
About merteuilstar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/08 12:26 PM
Last Updated:9/8/08 3:52 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Immelu said...
That looks fantastic! People who don't sew will never notice a few wrinkles. It looks great!
9/6/08 1:28 PM
Catbird said...
This looks GREAT on you and the neckline change is brilliant. It looks so much better than the BWOF version!
9/6/08 1:35 PM
michellep74 said...
You look absolutely smashing in this! Great job--your persistence with working on the fit paid off.
9/6/08 1:36 PM
Mahler said...
Simple, chic and so well fitted on you. I love the neck line change. Vraiment g�niale cette robe et tellement actuelle ce look un peu r�tro. Superbe !
9/6/08 1:51 PM
Kay Y said...
I like your neckline changes very much - beautiful LBD! I'm also curious to know if you lengthened it... (am thinking of making this one myself!)
9/6/08 2:33 PM
cabinbaby said...
WOW! I love your new neck line!!!
9/6/08 2:36 PM
Terri A said...
Really Nice!
9/6/08 2:37 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Cute dress. I like the changes that you made.
9/6/08 2:52 PM
wreninrome said...
great dress...i love the sweetheart neckline!
9/6/08 3:02 PM
ladybirdlove said...
Great job on this! Very nice!
9/6/08 4:30 PM
AliciaNoel said...
This dress is just beautiful - love the neckline!!
9/6/08 4:34 PM
Karen6790 said...
This one is definitely on my short list to sew. Love your change to the neckline, it turns it into a completely different (and also fabulous dress).
9/6/08 4:48 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely dress!
9/6/08 5:10 PM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous! I think that this will really grow on you when you see how many people compliment you on it. I love your neckline, that is why I didn't take a second look at this, but I really like it your way.
9/6/08 6:58 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress, the neckline is so nice.
9/6/08 7:32 PM
Amy-may said...
Your neckline change is brillant! I'm planning to "whip" this dress up and had already decided to scoop the neck. You version is even better!
9/6/08 8:46 PM
shaggy said...
Love the way this dress looks on you. Especially like the neckline.
9/7/08 1:09 AM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful dress. I love the neckline.
9/7/08 9:46 AM
Barbara V said...
I like the neckline that you created. I think it is a wonderful style for you!
9/7/08 11:10 AM
Robyn16626 said...
This looks divine on you and the neckline changes really make the whole dress. May I ask how you did the changes?
9/8/08 0:41 AM
Robyn16626 said...
Sorry, I meant how you did the changes to the neckline (as you've already done a good job explaining the other changes)
9/8/08 0:43 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, you have really improved this dress with your neckline changes, and it looks wonderful on you.
9/8/08 3:39 AM
nellc said...
Beautiful dress, the new neckline is lovely.
9/8/08 7:54 AM
Marji said...
Fabulous! Yours looks infinitely better than the original. Love what you did with the neckline, the length, everything. I'm guessing that if you did this in a wool crepe some of those drape issues you don't like would go away.
9/8/08 9:05 AM
jkaori said...
The dress looks great, and I love the neckline modification. Very flattering!
9/8/08 12:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
Classy, chic, and fantastic!
9/8/08 6:39 PM
Robyn16626 said...
Thanks so much for the explanation and photos for the neck change. You've certainly inspired me to be a little more creative in changing patterns. Plus, you could certainly give BWOF a few tips about how to write clear instructions! :)
9/8/08 8:42 PM
piffle said...
oh wow. Well done. You look terrific. All that time pin fitting was totally worth it. I hope you get to wear this somewhere fun!
9/8/08 9:46 PM
Twinset said...
Very very nice! Congrats!
9/9/08 2:39 AM
reformfabric said...
You look fabulous in this. I really like your alteration to the necking. You have got the fit just right, it reminds me of a galaxy dress.
9/9/08 1:41 PM
EveS said...
LOVELY, lovely, LBD!!! This makes me wish I was a petite!
9/9/08 10:23 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
I LOVE the changes you made on the neckline for this dress! It is a great LBD!!!
9/10/08 4:59 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely dress with a beautiful neckline.
9/11/08 8:22 PM
ChristineX said...
Gorgeous. I like your alteration at the neck--jewel necklines don't do anything for me either.
9/13/08 11:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2008-139

photo
by: TalyQ

Review
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now