Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2008-114 (Retro Shift Dress/Jumper) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 906 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:merteuil
photo
About merteuilstar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/08 12:26 PM
Last Updated:9/8/08 3:52 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Immelu said...
That looks fantastic! People who don't sew will never notice a few wrinkles. It looks great!
9/6/08 1:28 PM
Catbird said...
This looks GREAT on you and the neckline change is brilliant. It looks so much better than the BWOF version!
9/6/08 1:35 PM
michellep74 said...
You look absolutely smashing in this! Great job--your persistence with working on the fit paid off.
9/6/08 1:36 PM
Mahler said...
Simple, chic and so well fitted on you. I love the neck line change. Vraiment g�niale cette robe et tellement actuelle ce look un peu r�tro. Superbe !
9/6/08 1:51 PM
Kay Y said...
I like your neckline changes very much - beautiful LBD! I'm also curious to know if you lengthened it... (am thinking of making this one myself!)
9/6/08 2:33 PM
cabinbaby said...
WOW! I love your new neck line!!!
9/6/08 2:36 PM
Terri A said...
Really Nice!
9/6/08 2:37 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Cute dress. I like the changes that you made.
9/6/08 2:52 PM
wreninrome said...
great dress...i love the sweetheart neckline!
9/6/08 3:02 PM
ladybirdlove said...
Great job on this! Very nice!
9/6/08 4:30 PM
AliciaNoel said...
This dress is just beautiful - love the neckline!!
9/6/08 4:34 PM
Karen6790 said...
This one is definitely on my short list to sew. Love your change to the neckline, it turns it into a completely different (and also fabulous dress).
9/6/08 4:48 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely dress!
9/6/08 5:10 PM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous! I think that this will really grow on you when you see how many people compliment you on it. I love your neckline, that is why I didn't take a second look at this, but I really like it your way.
9/6/08 6:58 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress, the neckline is so nice.
9/6/08 7:32 PM
Amy-may said...
Your neckline change is brillant! I'm planning to "whip" this dress up and had already decided to scoop the neck. You version is even better!
9/6/08 8:46 PM
shaggy said...
Love the way this dress looks on you. Especially like the neckline.
9/7/08 1:09 AM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful dress. I love the neckline.
9/7/08 9:46 AM
Barbara V said...
I like the neckline that you created. I think it is a wonderful style for you!
9/7/08 11:10 AM
Robyn16626 said...
This looks divine on you and the neckline changes really make the whole dress. May I ask how you did the changes?
9/8/08 0:41 AM
Robyn16626 said...
Sorry, I meant how you did the changes to the neckline (as you've already done a good job explaining the other changes)
9/8/08 0:43 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, you have really improved this dress with your neckline changes, and it looks wonderful on you.
9/8/08 3:39 AM
nellc said...
Beautiful dress, the new neckline is lovely.
9/8/08 7:54 AM
Marji said...
Fabulous! Yours looks infinitely better than the original. Love what you did with the neckline, the length, everything. I'm guessing that if you did this in a wool crepe some of those drape issues you don't like would go away.
9/8/08 9:05 AM
jkaori said...
The dress looks great, and I love the neckline modification. Very flattering!
9/8/08 12:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
Classy, chic, and fantastic!
9/8/08 6:39 PM
Robyn16626 said...
Thanks so much for the explanation and photos for the neck change. You've certainly inspired me to be a little more creative in changing patterns. Plus, you could certainly give BWOF a few tips about how to write clear instructions! :)
9/8/08 8:42 PM
piffle said...
oh wow. Well done. You look terrific. All that time pin fitting was totally worth it. I hope you get to wear this somewhere fun!
9/8/08 9:46 PM
Twinset said...
Very very nice! Congrats!
9/9/08 2:39 AM
reformfabric said...
You look fabulous in this. I really like your alteration to the necking. You have got the fit just right, it reminds me of a galaxy dress.
9/9/08 1:41 PM
EveS said...
LOVELY, lovely, LBD!!! This makes me wish I was a petite!
9/9/08 10:23 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
I LOVE the changes you made on the neckline for this dress! It is a great LBD!!!
9/10/08 4:59 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely dress with a beautiful neckline.
9/11/08 8:22 PM
ChristineX said...
Gorgeous. I like your alteration at the neck--jewel necklines don't do anything for me either.
9/13/08 11:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2008-111
photo
Review by redroserac... on 3/31/10
Read Review

McCalls 6875 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6875 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8964 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8964 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2588
photo
Review by piccalizzi... on 8/17/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Mr. Dash Digital Pattern (002)
Simple Things Mr. Dash Digital Pattern (002)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us