SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1205 (marseilles Top)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1510 times 
Reviewed by:Rosie who use to be Rose
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rosie who use to be Rosestarstar
OH USA
Member since: 10/10/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/16/03 7:45 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ruth C said...
Very helpful review! I've been eyeing this pattern, but as I have also have a large bust, I think I will pass. Reviews like yours telling us what body types patterns do or do not work for are very helpful!
8/17/03 1:25 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Rose, sorry this didn't work out. It is a nice basic top, too. Did you put a dart in when you adjusted for the bust? I am a C and I really like this top, but I hesitate since it is so expensive.
8/17/03 3:55 AM
Mini said...
This did not work for me either. I have a C bust, and while this top has enough ease to go around me it just does not have a good proportion for my figure. I also don't like the way the instructions are written for finishing the slash neckline and collar. I would use an alternate method. It is quick to sew and makes a comfortable casual pullover top for the right person, but not for me. Note that the armholes are low, and might look better if raised a bit. For a nice collarless top with a better neckline treatment, I like Kwik Sew 3161, which has been reviewed several times.
8/17/03 7:46 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Did anyone find the shoulders in this pattern too squared off. To make it fit right, I would have to put in football shoulder padding. Even on the model, it looks like the shoulders didn't fit. Besides this problem, I added a dart for my C bust, but at center front it was still shorter than the back by about 1-1/2 inches. What's up with that?
8/17/03 1:48 PM
Mini said...
Sherril, I thought the shoulders were too wide-and I have very square shoulders:). I am not sure about the pulling up in front. If your shoulder seams and back neckline were falling toward the back, and the front is pulling up, it may mean a forward shoulder adjustment is needed. If only the front is pulling up even after you used a dart, I"m not sure what the problem is.
8/17/03 1:56 PM
Rosie who use to be Rose said...
I tried it with and without a dart and added fabric to the center front to adjust for that upward curve I get in the front. The shoulders even fit me ( I have pretty wide shoulders), but it just was a bad style for me. I think I need something like buttons or a larger placket to break up the front a little bit.
8/17/03 4:34 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Thanks Mini, but I think it was just my bust pulling it up at center front. Unfortunately my print was a 1/4 inch check and would be very obvious if I hemed it shorter at the sides. I may try this pattern again in a knit and use a sloping shoulder alteration. I really did like my top. Right now it's what my paper tape dress form wears.
8/17/03 11:21 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Rose, what alteration did you have to make for your back?
8/17/03 11:23 PM
Rosie who use to be Rose said...
I have a back and neck deformity that causes my shoulders to have a dowager's hump. If I don't add room at the upper back the neck chokes me in the front. In a pattern that has the back piece cut on the fold, I split the pattern from the center back at the middle of where my hump is to the armhole seam. I spread it the amount needed and tape a paper insert in the gap. Then I make darts at the neck and shoulder to get the pattern back in sync. Sometime I can get away with just the darts at the neck, depending on how stretchy the fabric is. I've also tried raising the back length at the neck, but I've only had that work out successfully with t-shirts made of jersey. This probably isnít very clear, so, if you want me to, I can tell you the title of the books and the page numbers I found the instructions in if youíre interested.
8/19/03 10:29 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Rose, I'm so sorry that this pattern did not work for you. I've been eyeing it for awhile too but think I've found a better (yet similar) style for my figure in Burda 8774. It has vertical darts front and back as well as an armhole dart in the front. This made it easy to get a good fit for my figure.
8/19/03 4:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Buy Now