Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1205 (marseilles Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1508 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Rosie who use to be Rose
photo
Friend of PR
About Rosie who use to be Rosestarstar
OH USA
Member since: 10/10/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/16/03 7:45 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ruth C said...
Very helpful review! I've been eyeing this pattern, but as I have also have a large bust, I think I will pass. Reviews like yours telling us what body types patterns do or do not work for are very helpful!
8/17/03 1:25 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Rose, sorry this didn't work out. It is a nice basic top, too. Did you put a dart in when you adjusted for the bust? I am a C and I really like this top, but I hesitate since it is so expensive.
8/17/03 3:55 AM
Mini said...
This did not work for me either. I have a C bust, and while this top has enough ease to go around me it just does not have a good proportion for my figure. I also don't like the way the instructions are written for finishing the slash neckline and collar. I would use an alternate method. It is quick to sew and makes a comfortable casual pullover top for the right person, but not for me. Note that the armholes are low, and might look better if raised a bit. For a nice collarless top with a better neckline treatment, I like Kwik Sew 3161, which has been reviewed several times.
8/17/03 7:46 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Did anyone find the shoulders in this pattern too squared off. To make it fit right, I would have to put in football shoulder padding. Even on the model, it looks like the shoulders didn't fit. Besides this problem, I added a dart for my C bust, but at center front it was still shorter than the back by about 1-1/2 inches. What's up with that?
8/17/03 1:48 PM
Mini said...
Sherril, I thought the shoulders were too wide-and I have very square shoulders:). I am not sure about the pulling up in front. If your shoulder seams and back neckline were falling toward the back, and the front is pulling up, it may mean a forward shoulder adjustment is needed. If only the front is pulling up even after you used a dart, I"m not sure what the problem is.
8/17/03 1:56 PM
Rosie who use to be Rose said...
I tried it with and without a dart and added fabric to the center front to adjust for that upward curve I get in the front. The shoulders even fit me ( I have pretty wide shoulders), but it just was a bad style for me. I think I need something like buttons or a larger placket to break up the front a little bit.
8/17/03 4:34 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Thanks Mini, but I think it was just my bust pulling it up at center front. Unfortunately my print was a 1/4 inch check and would be very obvious if I hemed it shorter at the sides. I may try this pattern again in a knit and use a sloping shoulder alteration. I really did like my top. Right now it's what my paper tape dress form wears.
8/17/03 11:21 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Rose, what alteration did you have to make for your back?
8/17/03 11:23 PM
Rosie who use to be Rose said...
I have a back and neck deformity that causes my shoulders to have a dowager's hump. If I don't add room at the upper back the neck chokes me in the front. In a pattern that has the back piece cut on the fold, I split the pattern from the center back at the middle of where my hump is to the armhole seam. I spread it the amount needed and tape a paper insert in the gap. Then I make darts at the neck and shoulder to get the pattern back in sync. Sometime I can get away with just the darts at the neck, depending on how stretchy the fabric is. I've also tried raising the back length at the neck, but I've only had that work out successfully with t-shirts made of jersey. This probably isnít very clear, so, if you want me to, I can tell you the title of the books and the page numbers I found the instructions in if youíre interested.
8/19/03 10:29 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Rose, I'm so sorry that this pattern did not work for you. I've been eyeing it for awhile too but think I've found a better (yet similar) style for my figure in Burda 8774. It has vertical darts front and back as well as an armhole dart in the front. This made it easy to get a good fit for my figure.
8/19/03 4:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Jamie Christina JC-312MM
photo
Review by mimi g. on 10/23/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $29.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)
Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A New York Mini
A New York Mini

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8839 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by globalgran on 1/3/13
Read Review

Burda 7005 Pattern
Burda 7005 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Ginger Pattern (1016)
Colette Patterns Ginger Pattern (1016)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us