Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2008-110 (Big shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 427 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Marita Kinnula
photo
About Marita Kinnulastar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 16
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/08 3:00 PM
Last Updated:9/8/08 3:06 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
I LOVE it ! esp the pouffy collar. I may shorten sleeves or leave as is, as pushed up looks great too.
9/8/08 3:29 PM
dbsewer said...
I love this shirt and sure do wish I could wear something like that but at 5' tall I doubt I could pull it off. Yours looks fantastic, I'm envious that it fits and looks so great.
9/8/08 3:55 PM
Speech girl said...
I love it! The collar is fabulous. I wish I could wear something like that too . . . but I'll just have to admire your version.
9/8/08 4:39 PM
Karen6790 said...
Wow, I HATED this top in the magazine and now I've completely changed my mind. I still don't think I have the body type to wear it - way too short, and I'd look like a mushroom - but this is really cute.
9/8/08 4:42 PM
Seaspur said...
I've just now received my copy of the September BWOF and that shirt was the only thing that really got my attention (not that I would ever be able to wear it). Your version looks fantastic!
9/8/08 6:41 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Oh thanks for sharing these pictures! I am especially attracted to this top too. I'm looking forward to seeing what changes you make.
9/9/08 1:41 AM
LesleeD said...
This is such a cute look. I think it looks great in the silvery fabric. I like the sleeves.
9/9/08 11:43 AM
AnneM said...
Very distinctive and fun. It does have some volume, but it goes with the style. (I like it in your muslin fabric.)
9/13/08 11:13 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Wow, very nice comments, thank you!:-) dbsewer, five feet is not an obstacle, you'll just have to downsize it a bit, take off some length and width. Karen, you have an awesome body, you can make a potato sack look beautiful. Anne, the volume doesn't look so much when the fabric is fluid and it hangs well, the lighter the fabric, the puffier it gets.
9/13/08 3:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by NhiHuynh on 3/11/12
Read Review

Popover Sundress (FREE!)
Popover Sundress (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Summer Concert Tee
Dixie DIY Summer Concert Tee

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8789
photo
Review by rennaissan... on 7/11/13
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6808 Pattern
New Look 6808 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2481 Pattern( Size XS )
Simplicity 2481 Pattern( Size XS )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us