SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6394 (Empire Sleeveless Dress-OOP)

1 more reviews
Viewed 651 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/08 4:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
svenskaflicka said...
What a great job using some small adjustments to bring an old pattern up to date! This looks very current. Love your fabric choice and pattern placement. The shrug is really cute, too!
9/12/08 9:56 AM
svenskaflicka said...
Fabric looks like Marimekko. Nice find!
9/12/08 9:55 AM
svenskaflicka said...
What a great job using some small adjustments to bring an old pattern up to date! This looks very current. Love your fabric choice and pattern placement. The shrug is really cute, too!
9/12/08 9:55 AM
Karendee said...
This is a great looking outfit on you. The dress is striking and balanced off this that darling shrug--just perfect. I love the longer dress length; it's both stylish and romantic looking.
9/10/08 2:02 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you everyone! I really love the dress. Nancy Anne--yeah, it appears that NL has recycled the number. With the changes to how you enter a review on PR, there's no way for me to delink this review from the baby clothes. Oh well!
9/10/08 10:14 AM
Barbara V said...
So unique.....just what sewists love to achieve. It looks fantastic on you!
9/10/08 9:31 AM
Michelle L said...
Love the fabric, very very chic. Your dress turned out fantastic.
9/10/08 9:11 AM
cindyann said...
Ooooh, love the bodice placement. This style is so perfect for you.
9/10/08 8:25 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Great job on the dress, truly, but did you realize that it is categorized under "baby clothes", and the pattern photo is of cute little babies in rumba pants and bonnets?
9/10/08 7:57 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Gorgeous! I love your placement of those stripes, too.
9/10/08 7:50 AM
CypGrl said...
One of my favorites that you have made. It looks great on you. So dramatic!
9/9/08 11:27 PM
cindy-lou said...
Sooooooo pretty and glamorous! Your petite frame does great with a maxi dress. Love the black and white as well.
9/9/08 9:56 PM
Karen6790 said...
Congratulations on being able to scale a maxi dress down to your size. I like the wider hem, and the placement of the stripes is of course perfect. And I love the pockets.
9/9/08 9:32 PM
Mahler said...
I cannot believe the price of that fabric. It looks like a designer fabric. Designer who would have been inspired by modern art... It as a lot of style. It look awesome with the yellow top.
9/9/08 8:57 PM
ndesimon said...
Oh hot-CHA! I have a copy of this pattern in my stash...I love your great pattern placement (and thank you heartily for the fitting details: my original gapped like mad, and I'm a LOT bustier than when I bought it originally). Beautiful dress, great review and thanks for the inspiration.
9/9/08 8:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
Breathaking! I like the op-art style print and this style on you! You look groovy to the max-i!
9/9/08 7:02 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE dress!!!! You did an excellent job!!!!
9/9/08 6:49 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabo dress...
9/9/08 6:15 PM
sewtime said...
Great review and love your dress. Pretty material.
9/9/08 6:10 PM
Natasha B said...
Thanks for a great review. I read your detailed blog post as well, just so helpful to get that SBA information! To see the pattern pieces and their alterations described with the correct terminology is just what I need. You look fabulous and I think height has nothing to do with a maxi dress - it looks perfect!
9/9/08 6:06 PM
Vonnevo said...
Nice dress, nicegirl ! You look totally fabulous - as always :) I love how you interpret designs and choose fabrics that suit you so very well.
9/9/08 5:52 PM
amy in mpls said...
Great revival! I love the fabric. very cool!
9/9/08 5:22 PM
LindsayT said...
Trés glam as always. I saw maxi dresses everywhere on my recent trip to LA; the shops were filled with them.
9/9/08 5:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Kwik Sew 3521

photo
by: labyrinthq...

Review
Burda 7255

photo
by: Graca

Review
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now