SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6394 (Empire Sleeveless Dress-OOP)

1 more reviews
Viewed 651 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/08 4:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LindsayT said...
Trés glam as always. I saw maxi dresses everywhere on my recent trip to LA; the shops were filled with them.
9/9/08 5:02 PM
amy in mpls said...
Great revival! I love the fabric. very cool!
9/9/08 5:22 PM
Vonnevo said...
Nice dress, nicegirl ! You look totally fabulous - as always :) I love how you interpret designs and choose fabrics that suit you so very well.
9/9/08 5:52 PM
Natasha B said...
Thanks for a great review. I read your detailed blog post as well, just so helpful to get that SBA information! To see the pattern pieces and their alterations described with the correct terminology is just what I need. You look fabulous and I think height has nothing to do with a maxi dress - it looks perfect!
9/9/08 6:06 PM
sewtime said...
Great review and love your dress. Pretty material.
9/9/08 6:10 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabo dress...
9/9/08 6:15 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE dress!!!! You did an excellent job!!!!
9/9/08 6:49 PM
Heatherrique said...
Breathaking! I like the op-art style print and this style on you! You look groovy to the max-i!
9/9/08 7:02 PM
ndesimon said...
Oh hot-CHA! I have a copy of this pattern in my stash...I love your great pattern placement (and thank you heartily for the fitting details: my original gapped like mad, and I'm a LOT bustier than when I bought it originally). Beautiful dress, great review and thanks for the inspiration.
9/9/08 8:07 PM
Mahler said...
I cannot believe the price of that fabric. It looks like a designer fabric. Designer who would have been inspired by modern art... It as a lot of style. It look awesome with the yellow top.
9/9/08 8:57 PM
Karen6790 said...
Congratulations on being able to scale a maxi dress down to your size. I like the wider hem, and the placement of the stripes is of course perfect. And I love the pockets.
9/9/08 9:32 PM
cindy-lou said...
Sooooooo pretty and glamorous! Your petite frame does great with a maxi dress. Love the black and white as well.
9/9/08 9:56 PM
CypGrl said...
One of my favorites that you have made. It looks great on you. So dramatic!
9/9/08 11:27 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Gorgeous! I love your placement of those stripes, too.
9/10/08 7:50 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Great job on the dress, truly, but did you realize that it is categorized under "baby clothes", and the pattern photo is of cute little babies in rumba pants and bonnets?
9/10/08 7:57 AM
cindyann said...
Ooooh, love the bodice placement. This style is so perfect for you.
9/10/08 8:25 AM
Michelle L said...
Love the fabric, very very chic. Your dress turned out fantastic.
9/10/08 9:11 AM
Barbara V said...
So unique.....just what sewists love to achieve. It looks fantastic on you!
9/10/08 9:31 AM
nicegirl said...
Thank you everyone! I really love the dress. Nancy Anne--yeah, it appears that NL has recycled the number. With the changes to how you enter a review on PR, there's no way for me to delink this review from the baby clothes. Oh well!
9/10/08 10:14 AM
Karendee said...
This is a great looking outfit on you. The dress is striking and balanced off this that darling shrug--just perfect. I love the longer dress length; it's both stylish and romantic looking.
9/10/08 2:02 PM
svenskaflicka said...
What a great job using some small adjustments to bring an old pattern up to date! This looks very current. Love your fabric choice and pattern placement. The shrug is really cute, too!
9/12/08 9:55 AM
svenskaflicka said...
Fabric looks like Marimekko. Nice find!
9/12/08 9:55 AM
svenskaflicka said...
What a great job using some small adjustments to bring an old pattern up to date! This looks very current. Love your fabric choice and pattern placement. The shrug is really cute, too!
9/12/08 9:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Indygo Junction IJ874

photo
by: susandf

Review
StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now