Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6394 (Empire Sleeveless Dress-OOP) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 649 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/08 4:08 PM


See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LindsayT said...
Trés glam as always. I saw maxi dresses everywhere on my recent trip to LA; the shops were filled with them.
9/9/08 5:02 PM
amy in mpls said...
Great revival! I love the fabric. very cool!
9/9/08 5:22 PM
Vonnevo said...
Nice dress, nicegirl ! You look totally fabulous - as always :) I love how you interpret designs and choose fabrics that suit you so very well.
9/9/08 5:52 PM
Natasha B said...
Thanks for a great review. I read your detailed blog post as well, just so helpful to get that SBA information! To see the pattern pieces and their alterations described with the correct terminology is just what I need. You look fabulous and I think height has nothing to do with a maxi dress - it looks perfect!
9/9/08 6:06 PM
sewtime said...
Great review and love your dress. Pretty material.
9/9/08 6:10 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabo dress...
9/9/08 6:15 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE dress!!!! You did an excellent job!!!!
9/9/08 6:49 PM
Heatherrique said...
Breathaking! I like the op-art style print and this style on you! You look groovy to the max-i!
9/9/08 7:02 PM
ndesimon said...
Oh hot-CHA! I have a copy of this pattern in my stash...I love your great pattern placement (and thank you heartily for the fitting details: my original gapped like mad, and I'm a LOT bustier than when I bought it originally). Beautiful dress, great review and thanks for the inspiration.
9/9/08 8:07 PM
Mahler said...
I cannot believe the price of that fabric. It looks like a designer fabric. Designer who would have been inspired by modern art... It as a lot of style. It look awesome with the yellow top.
9/9/08 8:57 PM
Karen6790 said...
Congratulations on being able to scale a maxi dress down to your size. I like the wider hem, and the placement of the stripes is of course perfect. And I love the pockets.
9/9/08 9:32 PM
cindy-lou said...
Sooooooo pretty and glamorous! Your petite frame does great with a maxi dress. Love the black and white as well.
9/9/08 9:56 PM
CypGrl said...
One of my favorites that you have made. It looks great on you. So dramatic!
9/9/08 11:27 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Gorgeous! I love your placement of those stripes, too.
9/10/08 7:50 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Great job on the dress, truly, but did you realize that it is categorized under "baby clothes", and the pattern photo is of cute little babies in rumba pants and bonnets?
9/10/08 7:57 AM
cindyann said...
Ooooh, love the bodice placement. This style is so perfect for you.
9/10/08 8:25 AM
Michelle L said...
Love the fabric, very very chic. Your dress turned out fantastic.
9/10/08 9:11 AM
Barbara V said...
So unique.....just what sewists love to achieve. It looks fantastic on you!
9/10/08 9:31 AM
nicegirl said...
Thank you everyone! I really love the dress. Nancy Anne--yeah, it appears that NL has recycled the number. With the changes to how you enter a review on PR, there's no way for me to delink this review from the baby clothes. Oh well!
9/10/08 10:14 AM
Karendee said...
This is a great looking outfit on you. The dress is striking and balanced off this that darling shrug--just perfect. I love the longer dress length; it's both stylish and romantic looking.
9/10/08 2:02 PM
svenskaflicka said...
What a great job using some small adjustments to bring an old pattern up to date! This looks very current. Love your fabric choice and pattern placement. The shrug is really cute, too!
9/12/08 9:55 AM
svenskaflicka said...
Fabric looks like Marimekko. Nice find!
9/12/08 9:55 AM
svenskaflicka said...
What a great job using some small adjustments to bring an old pattern up to date! This looks very current. Love your fabric choice and pattern placement. The shrug is really cute, too!
9/12/08 9:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 8691 Misses' Top
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 10/16/11
Read Review

PerfectFuse Light White
PerfectFuse Light White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8604
photo
Review by Miss-Dandy on 9/19/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2692 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 2692 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7400 Pattern
Burda 7400 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us