SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1015 (Bellville Sassoon)

Viewed 1645 times 
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo

 
 
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 265
Favored by: 152 people
patterns reviewed: 254
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/10/08 5:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
What a marvelous dress and what professional results. Ms. CB can be very happy that she has you to make her formal gowns. This is a great pattern and I loved all the information on your blog. It was worth the time and effort because the results are fantastic.
9/10/08 6:07 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely.
9/10/08 6:38 PM
katlew03 said...
The dress turned out beautifully. I have made a number of garments for others but never did a muslin. Just relied on tissue fitting. I think I'll give it a try next time since I can see where it really helped you to fit the dress. Thanks for such a detailed review.
9/10/08 6:41 PM
christea said...
wow-just really impressive! That dress fits like a glove and the details, fabric are perfect.
9/10/08 6:57 PM
sewtime said...
WOW! Beautiful dress!
9/10/08 7:07 PM
lyra said...
Ooooh... man, that is a gorgeous dress!
9/10/08 7:17 PM
michellep74 said...
My dress! You made my dress!!! I cannot tell you how happy/excited/thrilled I am to see this review and to read all about your adventures sewing this! I'm considering this as a wedding dress option (I have a similar figure to your client--although I'm currently a little heavier, I think) and your review will be invaluable to me, if I decide to go this route!
9/10/08 7:37 PM
CharityAK said...
Absolutely stunning. It looks totally fab on you and what a divine color.
9/10/08 7:41 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
You did a wonderful job. I'll bet your client enjoyed the compliments she got, and I hope she shared them all with you.
9/10/08 8:05 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
AMAZING dress!
9/10/08 8:26 PM
Gold said...
You did an awesome job!!!
9/10/08 8:43 PM
Physics Girl said...
Wowie! I'm envious that you have the opportunies to sew up some of these gorgeous patterns. Your result is lovely, and Ms. CB looks positively radiant! (And until I read more about the event, I was trying to figure out what famous music-artist you sew for... she looks absolutely FAB in your work!)
9/10/08 10:28 PM
Annette1 said...
WONDERFUL review, WONDERFUL dress, WONDERFUL you, and LUCKY MS. CB! :o) You really outfit yourself on this one. Stunning!
9/11/08 0:51 AM
Athene said...
Very beautiful results. A dress I would probably never have the patience and capability to make so I simply love to view and appreciate the skill and effort that went into making such a delightful creation.
9/11/08 1:21 AM
senaSews said...
What a wonderful gown! Wow!
9/11/08 2:50 AM
petro said...
I love your meticulous logging of this process with the times attached. Great dress.
9/11/08 6:22 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Beautiful! That's a great color, it really makes the dress.
9/11/08 6:26 AM
squirrellypoo said...
WOW. Stunning!
9/11/08 7:49 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Absolutely beautiful!
9/11/08 8:29 AM
carolynw said...
This is over the top beautiful - should be parading down a high fashion runway
9/11/08 9:14 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Absolutely breathtaking! Thanks for a great review.
9/11/08 10:17 AM
tr1c14 said...
Like Michellep74, this is on my list of possible wedding dresses (although I think Michelle is a bit closer to getting married than I am!). I'm so happy to see how it came out, and if I do get married and wear this dress, your blog will be getting a whole lot of hits.
9/11/08 11:50 AM
DorothyK said...
Amazing. What incredible work you do!
9/11/08 12:19 PM
Marji said...
Bellissimo! This has been an arduous journey, and I know you've got more time and effort into it than you probably intended, but in the end you've really outdone yourself.
9/11/08 4:12 PM
nellc said...
Gorgeous dress!
9/11/08 7:11 PM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on that dress. Those fabric flowers are really neat, not at all tacky, and add a lot of pizazz to the dress I think. Now that you've done it it will probably be faster so you should make it for yourself!!!
9/11/08 8:08 PM
Kellie R. said...
I always look forward to your reviews! This is just stunning! All of the work and patience really paid off. The result is a drop-dead gorgeous gown. Fantaastic!
9/12/08 3:57 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a stunner - so worth all the hours you put into it. Gorgeous!
9/13/08 0:08 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks everyone!
9/15/08 1:58 PM
Aunt Gail said...
I just saw your review from one of the Discussion Group threads. Absolutely amazing job you did on this dress. Altho I will never make a dress like this, your great illustrations and commentary will help anyone who tries.
10/19/08 12:48 PM
hoofsmith said...
Hi there, I am making this dress at the moment - just finishing off the flowers so nearly there. I make a lot of dresses for other people but thought I would try this one out for myself first - just as well as it is very time consuming - I spent 5 hours in total just cutting out the paper pattern and fabric!! Haven't worked out how much I would cost this one at. I made one major change to the design which I think helps it to work even better. I made the foundation with a separate zip so you zip that up first then zip the dress up over it. I always use a lot more bones in my corset / foundations as you can get a really smooth line, and I find they are actually more comfortable. I put one bone on every seam and one in between at the back, at the front I do two full length angled bones from the outside of the bust slanting inwards onto the tummy and 3 or 5 shorter bones just on the tummy. I also extend the foundations below the waist so they smooth out the tummy if this is an issue (in my case it is!) I make and fit the foundation first so then you can stitch the dress slightly bigger ( I move the needle over one or two positions to the right for the lining and dress) I find this helps it to hang better. Ooe problem I'm having is that the flowers are so heavy they are pulling the straps down. I may elasticate the strap or position them lower down on the strap - was this a problem for you? I see you shortened the straps. This didn't seem to be a problem until I put the flowers on and it's a bit too late for that unless I want to unpick a lot of sewing!
6/21/09 5:26 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Hi Hoofsmith - My client/friend didn't like the strap off the shoulder. So I adjusted the strap to fit on the ball of the shoulder instead. Additionally, I added a little bra strap holder on the underside of the strap. See my flickr set for this dress at http://www.flickr.com/photos/themahoganystylist/sets/72157605398184353/with/2656284270/. Thanks for asking. BTW- Thanks for detailing your experience. I think it's a great idea to make the foundation first. Yes, it did take a lot of hours to make this dress. I wondered if I was just a slow sewer on this one. Thanks again! Cennetta
6/23/09 1:27 PM
londonfog said...
I guess one could always try making the flowers out of a lighter fabric, and not self-fabric? Crepe satin is pretty heavy.
5/26/10 10:54 PM
karen0923 said...
Thank you for the idea of using muslin to do a trial sewing and for altering. Great idea! Soooo glad I stumbled across this review. I will be making this dress for my step-daughter's wedding held the end of May. The reception is themed as a vintage Hollywood 'Red Carpet' event. I am doing the dress in a deep navy satan and the flowers will be out of the satan, a mulit colored chiffon and sparkly blue lace with a few feathers. May use bead instead of the clothe cording. However, I am using my own flower pattern and they will be smaller. I plan to put them only on one shoulder and on the hip I will do some additional fabric draping on the neckline to give it a 'cowl' like neckline seen in the lat 20's early 30's and put in short butterfly sleeves. I'm still debating on the foundation. Thanks for sharing your hints and challenges.
4/3/11 0:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Japanese Pattern Books Drape Drape Dress no 3

photo
by: TracyTheMa...

Review