Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2930 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 487 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:fabeins
photo
About fabeinsstar
TN USA
Member since: 12/5/06
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/11/08 8:12 PM
Last Updated:9/11/08 8:12 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
That's a neat idea--I like it! I like the shape of this neckline but would also be nervous about getting the facings in right. I say good save!
9/11/08 9:00 PM
Rhoda K said...
Interesting, but glad it turned out well enough for you. It looks much better than the pattern info shows. That in itself, is an accomplishment!
9/11/08 9:07 PM
Rhoda K said...
Duplicate post.
9/11/08 9:07 PM
sewtime said...
I have been looking at this pattern, love the neckline. Cute material! Good Save!
9/11/08 9:13 PM
Karen8320 said...
Fabeins, I think you saved it nicely! The fabric is interesting and I think the black fishnet is a good match. I can see why this neckline appealed to you although I can also see why facings here might have been a bit tricky. Please be encouraged to keep practising with your facings. I remember when I was getting started that mine weren't terribly professional looking but I persevered and now don't have a problem.
9/11/08 9:28 PM
michellep74 said...
I made this top, and I concur that the instructions about the neckband/facings were a bit confusing--it took me three tries to get a version that I was satisfied with! That said, I really do like my finished top, and I think that yours is a lovely version of this pattern!
9/11/08 11:56 PM
yorkshire lass said...
I think with that neckline shape, a facing would be difficult to do anyway. I think its a very cute top and yes, you most definitely did save it. This top leapt out of the gallery at me, and I mean that in a good way. Well done on a really good save.
9/12/08 3:25 AM
fabeins said...
Thanks for the positive feedback. I'm glad I didn't totally throw in the towel.
9/12/08 9:52 AM
cathy45 said...
Oh those facings are a booger. I don't know if it's the directions or the drafting but it took me a lot of fiddling, too.
9/12/08 11:10 AM
Nancy Anne said...
You know, I am really digging your fabric! Very nice. I think it is a lovely top- you did a wonderful job of reworking the issues. Enjoy wearing it!
9/12/08 2:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Butterick 4978
photo
Review by Vellela on 1/24/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Isabella Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Isabella Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2403 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by chickenlip... on 10/2/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fanny Pack or Purse
Fanny Pack or Purse

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1357 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1357 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8807 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8807 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us