SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2930 

6 more reviews
Viewed 497 times 
Reviewed by:fabeins
photo

 
 
About fabeinsstar
TN USA
Member since: 12/5/06
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/11/08 8:12 PM
Last Updated:9/11/08 8:12 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
That's a neat idea--I like it! I like the shape of this neckline but would also be nervous about getting the facings in right. I say good save!
9/11/08 9:00 PM
Rhoda K said...
Interesting, but glad it turned out well enough for you. It looks much better than the pattern info shows. That in itself, is an accomplishment!
9/11/08 9:07 PM
Rhoda K said...
Duplicate post.
9/11/08 9:07 PM
sewtime said...
I have been looking at this pattern, love the neckline. Cute material! Good Save!
9/11/08 9:13 PM
Karen8320 said...
Fabeins, I think you saved it nicely! The fabric is interesting and I think the black fishnet is a good match. I can see why this neckline appealed to you although I can also see why facings here might have been a bit tricky. Please be encouraged to keep practising with your facings. I remember when I was getting started that mine weren't terribly professional looking but I persevered and now don't have a problem.
9/11/08 9:28 PM
michellep74 said...
I made this top, and I concur that the instructions about the neckband/facings were a bit confusing--it took me three tries to get a version that I was satisfied with! That said, I really do like my finished top, and I think that yours is a lovely version of this pattern!
9/11/08 11:56 PM
yorkshire lass said...
I think with that neckline shape, a facing would be difficult to do anyway. I think its a very cute top and yes, you most definitely did save it. This top leapt out of the gallery at me, and I mean that in a good way. Well done on a really good save.
9/12/08 3:25 AM
fabeins said...
Thanks for the positive feedback. I'm glad I didn't totally throw in the towel.
9/12/08 9:52 AM
cathy45 said...
Oh those facings are a booger. I don't know if it's the directions or the drafting but it took me a lot of fiddling, too.
9/12/08 11:10 AM
Nancy Anne said...
You know, I am really digging your fabric! Very nice. I think it is a lovely top- you did a wonderful job of reworking the issues. Enjoy wearing it!
9/12/08 2:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 3752

photo
by: heathergwo

Review
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Buy Now