SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6829 (Misses Tops and Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 632 times 
Reviewed by:wendlesue
photo

 
 
About wendlesuestarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/7/07
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/08 10:57 PM
Last Updated:9/13/08 6:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Powderpuffin said... (10/25/09 3:11 AM) Reply
I was just about to cut this out and didn't like the thought of the bias cut. It looks great on you, but I don't think I'm up for all that work! Thank you - so helpful! I'll now cut it on grain with a zip.
Ellinoora said... (11/17/08 9:35 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review! I've almost finished version A of this pattern, without modifications, since I'm in a bit of a hurry and 22 seemed like a good enough match. I need it for an outside dress for a live action roleplaying event, so I made it out of double-sided curtain material which is pretty stiff. No problems with the bias cut, although someone commented (when I tried it on) that maybe I should take in the side seams some more.
Sew4Fun said... (9/22/08 5:24 AM) Reply
Cute top and helpful review, thanks! The issue with the bias skirt could be due to the fabric. I personally find shiny fabrics highlight my flaws, so maybe try another fabric before you give up on it.
Rhoda K said... (9/13/08 6:44 PM) Reply
I agree, very pretty top and it does look good one you. I like your comment '"There is something about bias skirts on less than perfect figures that can be kind of unflattering.'' That's what I'm afraid of!
sewtime said... (9/13/08 6:30 PM) Reply
Very pretty top! This is one I would like to make! Worth making again. It is darling and you can fix what you don't like. Cute!
ALY said... (9/13/08 4:48 PM) Reply
I agree with you. This top is so cute. I had not seen this pattern yet. Yes bias tends to follow curves closely.
Karendee said... (9/13/08 4:36 PM) Reply
That top IS soooo cute. Fix what you don't like, but I'd encourage you to make it again.
michellep74 said... (9/13/08 11:52 AM) Reply
Very pretty top! I'd love to see another version of this after you've tinkered with it a bit.
moushka said... (9/13/08 1:35 AM) Reply
Great review and adorable top. Love your idea about changing the skirt grain and adding a zip. You might need a bit more room in the skirt if you cut it on-grain. I think it looks good on you but I agree about the bias clinging, especially in charmeuse. Great job!
1betsy1 said... (9/13/08 1:25 AM) Reply
Very nice top. Thank you so much for the review. I purchased this patter yesterday, I am going to give it a try too.
CharityAK said... (9/12/08 11:24 PM) Reply
I've been eyeing this pattern so I was really glad to read your helpful review and your advice regarding the modifications. I'm putting this one on my wish list and adding you to fav reviewers as I like a good chunk of your other items as well.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Pattern Details