SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8918 (Pullover top)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1243 times 
Reviewed by:CarrieA
photo

 
 
About CarrieAstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/03 0:19 AM
Last Updated:8/24/03 10:44 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Nice top! You can still convert your tie to a button and loop by clipping one end and sewing closed and making a loop from the other end. It might be nice with a wooden button or something like a bead. P.S. I really like your dark green leafy background with the plum color dressform in the photo, it shows off the top really well.
8/24/03 5:26 AM
Katy M said...
I think it looks gorgeous! Great job!
8/24/03 6:45 AM
aperiolat said...
The top is awesome! I really like the style and the choice in fabric sounds so comfy to wear. You did a wonderful job on it. I like the topstitching also.
8/24/03 5:40 PM
jlg said...
I like your top a lot. I would never have thought of that fabric, but it seems to work beautifully.
8/24/03 6:12 PM
Deepika said...
Carrie you made it! wow. looks fabulous. I have this pattern and this review is now really inspiring me to make it. Why do you say that the fabric should be weighty? What in your opinion are good fabric choices for this pattern. I too want to make the view you made.
8/24/03 7:49 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
You did a fantastic job! What a lovely top!
8/24/03 8:10 PM
CarrieA said...
Thanks for the comments. Georgene, of course! Duh...I seem to get stuck in the obvious. Thanks for the suggestions. Deepika, I think what I mean by weight is really drape. Since it's a tunic style, and rather up and down, if there isn't enough drape it would stand away from the bustline and have that "when are you due?" look that I avoid like the plague. I wouldn't recommend going down in size as it would probably be too tight across the shoulders and across the hips. It's long enough to cover my rear, so if too tight, it might ride up in an unflattering way. If I were to make it again (and I just might) I would choose a fabric that has more color or a cool texture/patten. The style is casual, so the fabric is what will make it interesting. The microsuede was easy to work with but I wish I has used the beautiful blue piece I bought. By the way since I know you have some of the microsuede, I used a smaller needle size, and two threads and longer stitch length to topstitch. Also, a thimble when hand basting...this stuff is tough! The suggested fabrics are linen (like the cover picture) heavyweight rayon and crepes. Actually, a drapey crepe would look great in this.
8/24/03 9:20 PM
Mariko said...
I like your top! Sounds like you had some difficulties in sewing with microsuede, however, it looks really nice and the plain cream/white color brings out the design very well. I'll add this pattern to my wish list!
8/25/03 8:41 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks for your comments Carrie. Did you actually use two threads in the needle to sew this? Even the seams?
8/25/03 1:59 PM
CarrieA said...
No, not the seams, just the top stitching.
8/25/03 2:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8834

photo
by: mm

Review
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now