Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8918 (Pullover top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1243 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:CarrieA
photo
About CarrieAstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/03 0:19 AM
Last Updated:8/24/03 10:44 AM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Nice top! You can still convert your tie to a button and loop by clipping one end and sewing closed and making a loop from the other end. It might be nice with a wooden button or something like a bead. P.S. I really like your dark green leafy background with the plum color dressform in the photo, it shows off the top really well.
8/24/03 5:26 AM
Katy M said...
I think it looks gorgeous! Great job!
8/24/03 6:45 AM
aperiolat said...
The top is awesome! I really like the style and the choice in fabric sounds so comfy to wear. You did a wonderful job on it. I like the topstitching also.
8/24/03 5:40 PM
jlg said...
I like your top a lot. I would never have thought of that fabric, but it seems to work beautifully.
8/24/03 6:12 PM
Deepika said...
Carrie you made it! wow. looks fabulous. I have this pattern and this review is now really inspiring me to make it. Why do you say that the fabric should be weighty? What in your opinion are good fabric choices for this pattern. I too want to make the view you made.
8/24/03 7:49 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
You did a fantastic job! What a lovely top!
8/24/03 8:10 PM
CarrieA said...
Thanks for the comments. Georgene, of course! Duh...I seem to get stuck in the obvious. Thanks for the suggestions. Deepika, I think what I mean by weight is really drape. Since it's a tunic style, and rather up and down, if there isn't enough drape it would stand away from the bustline and have that "when are you due?" look that I avoid like the plague. I wouldn't recommend going down in size as it would probably be too tight across the shoulders and across the hips. It's long enough to cover my rear, so if too tight, it might ride up in an unflattering way. If I were to make it again (and I just might) I would choose a fabric that has more color or a cool texture/patten. The style is casual, so the fabric is what will make it interesting. The microsuede was easy to work with but I wish I has used the beautiful blue piece I bought. By the way since I know you have some of the microsuede, I used a smaller needle size, and two threads and longer stitch length to topstitch. Also, a thimble when hand basting...this stuff is tough! The suggested fabrics are linen (like the cover picture) heavyweight rayon and crepes. Actually, a drapey crepe would look great in this.
8/24/03 9:20 PM
Mariko said...
I like your top! Sounds like you had some difficulties in sewing with microsuede, however, it looks really nice and the plain cream/white color brings out the design very well. I'll add this pattern to my wish list!
8/25/03 8:41 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks for your comments Carrie. Did you actually use two threads in the needle to sew this? Even the seams?
8/25/03 1:59 PM
CarrieA said...
No, not the seams, just the top stitching.
8/25/03 2:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sew Simple 2011
photo
Review by CookMJ0531 on 12/9/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3637 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3637 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5890 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 5890 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Drafted from RTW self-drafted oven mitt
photo
Review by mistrydesi... on 12/13/06
Read Review

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us