SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3502 

Viewed 199 times 
Reviewed by:Skittl1321
photo

 
 
About Skittl1321star
IA USA
Member since: 9/9/07
Reviews: 27 (patterns: 22)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/08 11:03 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said... (9/27/08 7:39 PM) Reply
Great outfit. One thing I don't like about KS patterns is the sml-mdm-lrg sizing doesn't give a lot of variation. The bunching in the lower back would be 'sway back' (doesn't necessarily mean you have swayback, but that's what it's called). If you take a dart ouf of the pattern back piece, from the center fold & tapering to nothing at the sides, it will decrease the length of the back and should help w/ the fit there. I can't say it looks homemade to me, but I don't know what is available in skating outfits.
Heatherrique said... (9/17/08 12:01 PM) Reply
Super cool outfit! Homemade, nah.....Chic, yes! I always enjoy seeing active outfits made from Kwik Sew and Jalie! Thanks for sharing your details!
Skittl1321 said... (9/17/08 10:59 AM) Reply
LuceLu- the gaping is in the lower back (the small of my back). I guess gaping isn't the right word- maybe bunching? In the back view picture you can see some of the extra fabric- It's a function of length, not width, which is why I'm not sure how to get rid of it- because I need the length to match the front, where it fits as drafted- I'm just too short, I think and my stomach takes the fabric in the front. I had read a lot that Panne is difficult, but I didn't have any problems other than excess fuzz. I only did straight seams with it though.
LuceLu said... (9/17/08 8:44 AM) Reply
have you considered using the seam allowance on the back, (bringing it in a bit) to narrow it so you don't have the gapping? (if indeed, the gaping is in the upper back/behind the neck). I think it looks lovely for ice skating. Panne is difficult to sew with too.
sewtime said... (9/17/08 0:55 AM) Reply
Cute! Love the red and black combo!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Pattern Details
Maggie Paper Pattern

Maggie Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
McCall's 6996

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review