Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4055 thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 561 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Amy Elizabeth
photo
About Amy Elizabethstar
USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/08 1:51 PM
Last Updated:9/19/08 3:47 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wreninrome said...
gorgeous dress...love the use of home dec with more design features
9/17/08 2:21 PM
Puppy said...
Very lovely and the setting for the photography is lovely too.
9/17/08 2:54 PM
Deepika said...
Wow this is gorgeous Amy! I would have never guessed that this is a home dec fabric. You are so creative!
9/17/08 8:34 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
I LOVE this dress, too!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE the fabric!!! Your pictures are GORGEOUS!!!!
9/17/08 11:17 PM
merteuil said...
Wonderful gown and beautiful pictures! I love the slashed sleeves with underlay!
9/18/08 3:13 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Very pretty. Would love to see closer-up photos, though. I'm nosey about your details, which sound just lovely.
9/18/08 7:54 AM
LuceLu said...
You do some lovely work. I think I have this pattern. I just need a good reason to make it up. Ack. right now I am in the planning stages of my first Margo Elizabethan costume.
9/18/08 7:56 AM
Luckylibbet said...
The sleeves are stupendous! Love the color and the trim options you chose. Great job!
9/18/08 12:23 PM
MamaSewing said...
The sleeve detail is gorgeous! Great job on both dresses.
9/19/08 11:50 AM
AliciaNoel said...
Beautiful work!
9/19/08 5:48 PM
Amy Elizabeth said...
Thank you for your kind comments!! Nancy Anne, I added some "closer-up" details for you of the sleeve and the back!! And I also posted a picture of the two girls together on the other review. :)
9/19/08 8:11 PM
prokleta said...
That dress is simply stunning! Great job.
9/20/08 1:55 PM
MagpieJen said...
I love Regency fashion, and your gown is wonderful! I have the S&S version and I've made it, so I really appreciated your review and learning how the two patterns differed, as well as seeing the Simplicity pattern made up. Thank you!
9/20/08 2:13 PM
Costume Queen said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I know a lot of regency style gowns are incredibly unflattering, but this one looks wonderful on her! I also use home dec fabric for my costumes.
9/22/08 0:20 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely dresses. Great sleeve detail. Interesting info on the patterns, also. Thanks for that link.
9/28/08 9:55 AM
Iain said...
Nice Frock! Yes I think this is the one I shall make at my college class. I could make it to fit my wife. I think a toile, of at least the top part, looks essential. Thanks Amy, your review has fired me up to have a go. There will be a tutor on hand if I mess up.
2/13/11 6:16 PM
Fairworthy said...
Thanks so much for the wonderful reviews. Thank you for taking the time to write everything down. All your information was an immense help to me and made my own sewing adventure of this dress a success! I even used the ribbon design idea. Wonderful job!!!
5/16/11 7:30 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's 5510 pjs for girls
photo
Review by chunter on 7/20/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Kitchen curtains
photo
Review by sewsunny37 on 9/20/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2165 Pattern ( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2165 Pattern ( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us