SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Downloadable> 9175 (Nichola Pants)

6 more reviews
Viewed 300 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 163
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 113 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:9/19/08 12:05 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
Great job on the pants.
10/21/08 1:20 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking pair of pants.
9/25/08 1:15 PM
Lorri said...
Nice job. The pants look wonderful. Love the detail. Keep going girl, you're doing great.
9/25/08 11:20 AM
michellep74 said...
That's a great suggestion, Sherril--I think that the hips/waist are really the only areas where I need some more ease. And they did loosen up/stretch out a bit after wearing them. I've got a few more BWOF/Burda Plus pant patterns that I'm really looking forward to trying now.
9/20/08 2:33 PM
Nancy Anne said...
They may be test pants, but it looks like you have a very wearable winner! You did a great job on the details, and I'm doubly impressed, because pants intimidate the heck out of me!
9/20/08 11:45 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Sorry, duplicate post.
9/20/08 11:12 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Thanks for the link to that site. There are dozens of new patterns since I visited last. I have to say that these are very nice pants. You did a good job on all those details. While I'm sure you're not happy with the fit, they do fit. Before completely giving up on them until the weight loss, try them in a stretch woven. You might find that they fit perfectly. Or, just add to the side seams at the hip and waist, not the leg. No redraft is necessary. That's what I do to my TNTs when I'm feeling that I've gained a bit. Or, you could just pick one of their pants that have larger sizes. I noticed a couple that are just for plus sized women. You'd probably still fit the lower end of the range for them.
9/20/08 11:11 AM
AnitaJ said...
Nice pants! I really like the details. I think I'm gonna have to try out some of these BurdaStyle patterns.
9/19/08 7:56 PM
Karendee said...
Good job on your pants.
9/19/08 1:32 PM
michellep74 said...
Kimmysue and amy--I've got my eye on the Janina pants now, too. They look like a great basic! squirrellypoo, I agree about BurdaStyle instructions being all over the place--I've sewn a few things from them, but I've never seen ones this bad before. ;)
9/19/08 12:55 PM
Nancy K said...
The fly instructions and construction order is typical of BWOF too. I am always thinking why would they do it that way? I have found that in the smaller sizes, and I sew a 34-36 for my dd, that the ease is fine, maybe even a little big. But, in thinking about this my thought is that I need more ease because I spread a bit when I sit down. Smaller women don't, hence they need less ease. I'd sew by the measurements for most Burda in our size range. I do use the upper bust for all above waist and do an fba. SB tells you to use your full bust measurement. She obviously does not sew for a DD cup woman! They look lovely on you and the details are very nicely done. Honestly, I can never understand why people are afraid of front fly zippers. I find them easier to put in nicely than invisible zippers. Good looking first fly front!
9/19/08 12:50 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Congratulations on overcoming your trouser fear! I've found BurdaStyle's instructions to be all over the place - sometimes they're fantastic, sometimes they're awful, and sometimes they just don't exist. So don't let one set of bad instructions turn you off all their patterns. Just read through them before committing to print and tape. ;)
9/19/08 12:31 PM
amy in mpls said...
Love the pants the back detail is really cute! I like kimmy sue just made the jania pants from burdastyle and those have a zipper as well, BUT with fully illustrated instructions, yea! I found those to be more reliable ( when sandra's were hard to follow as well!) And i also would use the jania instructions to kind of double check what i was doing next time i put in a zip fly. good luck and good work!
9/19/08 12:23 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sharp and chic pants, Michelle! I just have to check out the patterns at BurdaStyle!
9/19/08 12:23 PM
amy in mpls said...

9/19/08 12:23 PM
amy in mpls said...
Love the pants the back detail is really cute! I, like kimmy sue, just made the jania pants from burdastyle and those have a zipper as well, BUT with fully illustrated instructions, yea! I found those to be more reliable ( when sandra's were hard to follow as well!) And i also would use the jania instructions to kind of double check what i was doing next time i put in a zip fly. good luck and good work!
9/19/08 12:22 PM
Kim12469 said...
Cute pants! I think I remember seeing some comments on Burdastyle about how bad the instructions were. I made the Janina pants from them and love them too...you should try those. I really need to make a pair of the Nicola.
9/19/08 12:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2012-38

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now
Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2012-16

photo
by: Quickie

Review