Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: F1607 (Ruffled Collar Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 504 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/08 12:50 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Wow, just wow! I can't believe that you completely re-drafted this--it was definitely worth the effort! Congratulations on your first Marfy...after this project, it might be time to start thinking about upgrading your skill level. ;)
9/19/08 1:04 PM
Karendee said...
Excellent Review! Lovely jacket and I enjoyed the music, also.
9/19/08 1:25 PM
Leora said...
I adore this jacket! Love SP too. I have a great pic of him wearing tight jeans and, oh my gosh, that hair! Anywho, back to you... your work is amazing. You are so inspiring to me!!
9/19/08 2:15 PM
EleanorSews said...
Kudos!!! You really took on quite a task, but the results are just gorgeous.
9/19/08 2:17 PM
carolynw said...
I love your jacket and am happy to see this very helpful review as I have been thinking about getting the pattern - hesitated because I have aButterick that's quite similar. Anyhow think I will give Marfy a pass as it seems too fitted for what I want. Thanks
9/19/08 2:22 PM
Annette1 said...
Louella, I LOVE your new SPARFY JACKET! This is AWESOME. What SKILL you've exhibited. I mean you've COMPLETELY redrafted this pattern. I LOVE the navy with the spunky buttons. SPARFY JACKET + SPUNKY BUTTONS = AWESOME LOUELLA! :o)
9/19/08 3:09 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Excellent work - perserverence pays off!!! Beautiful jacket!!!
9/19/08 3:22 PM
sewtime said...
Cute jacket.
9/19/08 3:33 PM
meli88a said...
What an adventure! I enjoyed reading this review, and your new Sparfy creation!
9/19/08 4:05 PM
kim*brown said...
Love the buttons and shape! Your work always make me smile, always so full of life and fun. Great character and charm in every piece!
9/19/08 5:34 PM
Yvonski said...
WOW! So much work, I take my hat off to you. Your jacket looks fabulous.
9/19/08 5:54 PM
Karen8320 said...
I should have been gone, Back to Vogue and Simplicity, I should have been gone, But Marfy came and sang to me. Oh I must have been a dreamer, (to sew a jacket), With no instruction guide, And we should have been over. Oh Marfy your style holds on ... Fantastic work, Louella! A big hats off to have a go at Marfy to begin with and then you redrafted so much of it! Wow! However, the bottom line is that you've created such fabulous jackets here. The ruffle is such a unique feature and it looks great on you. Well done and what a great JOURNEY!!!
9/19/08 10:39 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Both jackets are so cute. Great job on the redraft of your second version and thanks for sharing the process and inspiration details.
9/20/08 11:15 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, I bow to your courage and perseverance. Your jacket is fantastic...and your workmanship is outstanding. I love looking at marfy pattens for inspiration but hae yet to get brave enugh to order one. Thanks for sharing so many details about your experience to make it work.
9/20/08 11:53 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...great review. You are really a fearless sewer! Too bad we didn't have that as a category! You are going to have fun and really build on these skills. I am so impressed. I love your second Marfy jacket, and you really should call it the MYJacket instead! Again WOW!
9/20/08 1:14 PM
shesflipped said...
Super Flippin' Fabulous! How do you do what you do? Both jackets are superb, But of course, I love bold & beautiful prints, and you have such an eye for picking out the most fabulous of those prints! I doubt that Marfy or Smarfy is in my near future, BUT, your review was very informative and funny, as usual. Lastly, how I love your 'Journey' down memory lane. Steve Perry....what a voice...what great shiny hair....what a shame he didn't toss the yellow shirt into the crowd that night....
9/21/08 7:50 AM
Birgitte said...
You look seriously sophisticated in the blue version... lunch at Saks anyone... Fantastic job with everything.
9/21/08 7:15 PM
Mahler said...
Oh you made me laugh with that Steve Perry thing. Your version of that jacket looks great. I do not know why you are still not certain about liking it. You look great in it !
9/21/08 9:58 PM
Marji said...
Congratulations on your first Marfy. I especially like the blue version with the large buttons. Isn't it amazing how the lack of directions frees you to think it through and come up with something that is more truly your own?
9/27/08 5:02 AM
Marji said...
Congratulations on your first Marfy. I especially like the blue version with the large buttons. Isn't it amazing how the lack of directions frees you to think it through and come up with something that is more truly your own?
9/27/08 5:06 AM
Athene said...
Congratulations - you achieved wonderful results.
10/28/08 0:06 AM
Em's Summer said...
I just found your review for this jacket. I have to tell you, your reviews are the BEST! Your jacket looks wonderful. You did a great job redrafting it! And thanks for the link to the Journey video on YouTube! I love Journey!!!
11/9/08 5:17 PM
morzel said...
I must say, the second version of your Marfy jacket is soooo good for your figure! You look absolutley gorgeous in it!
11/30/08 4:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Burda 7633 SUIT
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 9/1/11
Read Review

New Look 6599 Pattern
New Look 6599 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2572 Pattern
Jalie 2572 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6196
photo
Review by goddessof on 10/23/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sea Breeze Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -6 years )
Peek-A Boo Sea Breeze Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -6 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us