SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> F1607 (Ruffled Collar Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 505 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/08 12:50 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Wow, just wow! I can't believe that you completely re-drafted this--it was definitely worth the effort! Congratulations on your first Marfy...after this project, it might be time to start thinking about upgrading your skill level. ;)
9/19/08 1:04 PM
Karendee said...
Excellent Review! Lovely jacket and I enjoyed the music, also.
9/19/08 1:25 PM
Leora said...
I adore this jacket! Love SP too. I have a great pic of him wearing tight jeans and, oh my gosh, that hair! Anywho, back to you... your work is amazing. You are so inspiring to me!!
9/19/08 2:15 PM
EleanorSews said...
Kudos!!! You really took on quite a task, but the results are just gorgeous.
9/19/08 2:17 PM
carolynw said...
I love your jacket and am happy to see this very helpful review as I have been thinking about getting the pattern - hesitated because I have aButterick that's quite similar. Anyhow think I will give Marfy a pass as it seems too fitted for what I want. Thanks
9/19/08 2:22 PM
Annette1 said...
Louella, I LOVE your new SPARFY JACKET! This is AWESOME. What SKILL you've exhibited. I mean you've COMPLETELY redrafted this pattern. I LOVE the navy with the spunky buttons. SPARFY JACKET + SPUNKY BUTTONS = AWESOME LOUELLA! :o)
9/19/08 3:09 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Excellent work - perserverence pays off!!! Beautiful jacket!!!
9/19/08 3:22 PM
sewtime said...
Cute jacket.
9/19/08 3:33 PM
meli88a said...
What an adventure! I enjoyed reading this review, and your new Sparfy creation!
9/19/08 4:05 PM
kim*brown said...
Love the buttons and shape! Your work always make me smile, always so full of life and fun. Great character and charm in every piece!
9/19/08 5:34 PM
Yvonski said...
WOW! So much work, I take my hat off to you. Your jacket looks fabulous.
9/19/08 5:54 PM
Karen8320 said...
I should have been gone, Back to Vogue and Simplicity, I should have been gone, But Marfy came and sang to me. Oh I must have been a dreamer, (to sew a jacket), With no instruction guide, And we should have been over. Oh Marfy your style holds on ... Fantastic work, Louella! A big hats off to have a go at Marfy to begin with and then you redrafted so much of it! Wow! However, the bottom line is that you've created such fabulous jackets here. The ruffle is such a unique feature and it looks great on you. Well done and what a great JOURNEY!!!
9/19/08 10:39 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Both jackets are so cute. Great job on the redraft of your second version and thanks for sharing the process and inspiration details.
9/20/08 11:15 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, I bow to your courage and perseverance. Your jacket is fantastic...and your workmanship is outstanding. I love looking at marfy pattens for inspiration but hae yet to get brave enugh to order one. Thanks for sharing so many details about your experience to make it work.
9/20/08 11:53 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...great review. You are really a fearless sewer! Too bad we didn't have that as a category! You are going to have fun and really build on these skills. I am so impressed. I love your second Marfy jacket, and you really should call it the MYJacket instead! Again WOW!
9/20/08 1:14 PM
shesflipped said...
Super Flippin' Fabulous! How do you do what you do? Both jackets are superb, But of course, I love bold & beautiful prints, and you have such an eye for picking out the most fabulous of those prints! I doubt that Marfy or Smarfy is in my near future, BUT, your review was very informative and funny, as usual. Lastly, how I love your 'Journey' down memory lane. Steve Perry....what a voice...what great shiny hair....what a shame he didn't toss the yellow shirt into the crowd that night....
9/21/08 7:50 AM
Birgitte said...
You look seriously sophisticated in the blue version... lunch at Saks anyone... Fantastic job with everything.
9/21/08 7:15 PM
Mahler said...
Oh you made me laugh with that Steve Perry thing. Your version of that jacket looks great. I do not know why you are still not certain about liking it. You look great in it !
9/21/08 9:58 PM
Marji said...
Congratulations on your first Marfy. I especially like the blue version with the large buttons. Isn't it amazing how the lack of directions frees you to think it through and come up with something that is more truly your own?
9/27/08 5:02 AM
Marji said...
Congratulations on your first Marfy. I especially like the blue version with the large buttons. Isn't it amazing how the lack of directions frees you to think it through and come up with something that is more truly your own?
9/27/08 5:06 AM
Athene said...
Congratulations - you achieved wonderful results.
10/28/08 0:06 AM
Em's Summer said...
I just found your review for this jacket. I have to tell you, your reviews are the BEST! Your jacket looks wonderful. You did a great job redrafting it! And thanks for the link to the Journey video on YouTube! I love Journey!!!
11/9/08 5:17 PM
morzel said...
I must say, the second version of your Marfy jacket is soooo good for your figure! You look absolutley gorgeous in it!
11/30/08 4:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Butterick B5796

photo
by: QuikSew

Review
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now