Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5239 (Perfect Fit Pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 758 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Karen8320
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen8320star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/14/04
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/20/08 8:01 AM
Last Updated:9/20/08 8:20 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mistygirl902 said...
These pants look great! I am in the process of making these myself, with pockets.(view B). Be aware that there is a drafting error in the pocket lining and side front pattern pieces. They do not match, so need to be redrafted. Also, the side front pattern piece is not multi-sized, so make sure it fits before cutting it out. I made a muslin for view A without pockets, but did not make a muslin for view B, so I had to do some creative alterations to get the pockets to work. Otherwise, it is a great pattern. I especially like the shape of the crotch curve.
9/20/08 9:24 AM
carolynw said...
These look great Karen - I have since made the other view minus pleats and quite like that one too - actually am using this pattern today for yet another pair. After wearing the black ones I had reviewed I felt two front pleats were a bit much so did as you have done - eliminated one in favour of a dart the next time round. Nice when you find a great fitting pant pattern isn't it?
9/20/08 9:46 AM
cecelia said...
Glad these worked for you. They look nice on you. I like the shirt too!
9/20/08 10:35 AM
Heatherrique said...
Karen, that's one pair of stylin' and rockin' pants! Fabulous fit and such a nicely sleek silhouette, emphasizing your long legs! You inspired me to sew a new pair! BTW: you should be Steve Perry's new songwriter....He will be inspired to rock back on stage!
9/20/08 12:26 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Those are your first pants???? Wow, they came out looking and fitting terrific! Very flattering.
9/20/08 2:00 PM
Christas said...
You look so stylish in your new pants!!!
9/20/08 2:24 PM
tucci4me said...
Karen, looks like you have a nice pair of classic dress pants. Great job! I too have discovered recently that the proper rise and crotch depth go a long way toward finding a truly comfortable, flattering pants pattern.
9/20/08 3:29 PM
Karendee said...
Fantastic job.
9/20/08 3:37 PM
Annette1 said...
Wow, GREAT pants, Karen. I can't believe these are your first pair of pants. They look fantastic! I remember when Carolyn reviewed these, too, and I rushed right out and bought the pattern. :o) I haven't actually MADE them yet, but I love the cut of them and will get around to it someday. They're VERY flattering on you!
9/21/08 1:20 AM
Nancy Anne said...
I always admire people who do pants. I'm still not quite brave enough, even though I have a pants pattern waiting for when I finally do work up the nerve. At any rate, your look really nice, and very versatile.
9/21/08 9:05 AM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your pants! Looks like you got great results.
10/1/08 11:19 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 8251 Misses' tops
photo
Review by Erica B. on 12/4/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5391 Misses Shorts
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 9/27/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 651 Pattern
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)
Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6407 Pattern
New Look 6407 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us