Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 3129 (Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 550 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/08 9:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $11.60 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.60  List Price: $14.50   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
This looks like such a great basic pattern! Thanks for your review - the dress looks wonderful. I see what you mean about it looking better on a real person!
9/24/08 0:52 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Looks great, Karen! Love the rickrack.
9/24/08 3:32 AM
ryan's mom said...
This is a great dress! I agree--gotta love those princess seams :) . I can't wait to see what your fashion-oriented self does with your own version.
9/24/08 6:25 AM
fourkid said...
I have this pattern - I am inspired to make it soon!
9/24/08 10:03 AM
nicegirl said...
Princess seams really are the best, aren't they? Can't wait to see what you make for yourself out of it!
9/24/08 4:26 PM
Athene said...
Your version of the pattern is so nice looking I do hope you make one for yourself.
9/24/08 8:51 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely dress and beautiful photo of the actress posing in front of the antique furniture.
9/25/08 9:12 AM
marec said...
Very cool dress and interesting review. I love the style and think this would make up a fun, vintage look dress. I wonder what it would look like in a brown silk?
9/25/08 9:19 AM
AnneM said...
It is certainly flattering on the wearer, much prettier than the envelope indicates. Great job on the dress, and it certainly meets the look requested in the drawing.
10/8/08 6:38 AM
gellod said...
I have this pattern, I purchased it two weeks ago. Having read your review I now feel comfortable in making it, so watch this space!! I love what you have done with the design on the pockets, very unique.
4/17/09 4:48 PM
yvonneH said...
thanks very much for helpful review. i never like to buy pattern without photo of model and just drawing. it's good to see someone has actually made it and see the photo of the dress on real people. thanks a lot
4/23/09 2:32 PM
Snowkj said...
I just stated cutting this one out and decided to look up a review of it. I'm so pleased to know it came out well.
8/26/09 9:49 PM
Gendun said...
It's very pretty, and I'm SO glad you told us it was a costume! I had been thinking "Wow, this looks so period on her; I wonder how she feels about that?" (chuckles) I suspect it is the stiffness of the fabric that does it, along with the rickrack & colour, both of which scream ingenue. Well done!
3/22/12 11:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-121 Jumperdress
photo
Review by Katrin7 on 11/16/07
Read Review

Simplicity 1416 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1416 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Designs 5208 Bianca Sweater
photo
Review by Lori V on 1/27/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Summer Concert Tee
Dixie DIY Summer Concert Tee

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us