SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3129 (Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 567 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/08 9:45 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $14.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said...
It's very pretty, and I'm SO glad you told us it was a costume! I had been thinking "Wow, this looks so period on her; I wonder how she feels about that?" (chuckles) I suspect it is the stiffness of the fabric that does it, along with the rickrack & colour, both of which scream ingenue. Well done!
3/22/12 11:43 AM
Snowkj said...
I just stated cutting this one out and decided to look up a review of it. I'm so pleased to know it came out well.
8/26/09 9:49 PM
yvonneH said...
thanks very much for helpful review. i never like to buy pattern without photo of model and just drawing. it's good to see someone has actually made it and see the photo of the dress on real people. thanks a lot
4/23/09 2:32 PM
gellod said...
I have this pattern, I purchased it two weeks ago. Having read your review I now feel comfortable in making it, so watch this space!! I love what you have done with the design on the pockets, very unique.
4/17/09 4:48 PM
AnneM said...
It is certainly flattering on the wearer, much prettier than the envelope indicates. Great job on the dress, and it certainly meets the look requested in the drawing.
10/8/08 6:38 AM
marec said...
Very cool dress and interesting review. I love the style and think this would make up a fun, vintage look dress. I wonder what it would look like in a brown silk?
9/25/08 9:19 AM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely dress and beautiful photo of the actress posing in front of the antique furniture.
9/25/08 9:12 AM
Athene said...
Your version of the pattern is so nice looking I do hope you make one for yourself.
9/24/08 8:51 PM
nicegirl said...
Princess seams really are the best, aren't they? Can't wait to see what you make for yourself out of it!
9/24/08 4:26 PM
fourkid said...
I have this pattern - I am inspired to make it soon!
9/24/08 10:03 AM
ryan's mom said...
This is a great dress! I agree--gotta love those princess seams :) . I can't wait to see what your fashion-oriented self does with your own version.
9/24/08 6:25 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Looks great, Karen! Love the rickrack.
9/24/08 3:32 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
This looks like such a great basic pattern! Thanks for your review - the dress looks wonderful. I see what you mean about it looking better on a real person!
9/24/08 0:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

More Info