SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3129 (Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 585 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews: 212 (patterns: 211)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/08 9:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 $14.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 $14.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said... (3/22/12 11:43 AM) Reply
It's very pretty, and I'm SO glad you told us it was a costume! I had been thinking "Wow, this looks so period on her; I wonder how she feels about that?" (chuckles) I suspect it is the stiffness of the fabric that does it, along with the rickrack & colour, both of which scream ingenue. Well done!
Snowkj said... (8/26/09 9:49 PM) Reply
I just stated cutting this one out and decided to look up a review of it. I'm so pleased to know it came out well.
yvonneH said... (4/23/09 2:32 PM) Reply
thanks very much for helpful review. i never like to buy pattern without photo of model and just drawing. it's good to see someone has actually made it and see the photo of the dress on real people. thanks a lot
gellod said... (4/17/09 4:48 PM) Reply
I have this pattern, I purchased it two weeks ago. Having read your review I now feel comfortable in making it, so watch this space!! I love what you have done with the design on the pockets, very unique.
AnneM said... (10/8/08 6:38 AM) Reply
It is certainly flattering on the wearer, much prettier than the envelope indicates. Great job on the dress, and it certainly meets the look requested in the drawing.
marec said... (9/25/08 9:19 AM) Reply
Very cool dress and interesting review. I love the style and think this would make up a fun, vintage look dress. I wonder what it would look like in a brown silk?
nancy2001 said... (9/25/08 9:12 AM) Reply
Lovely dress and beautiful photo of the actress posing in front of the antique furniture.
Athene said... (9/24/08 8:51 PM) Reply
Your version of the pattern is so nice looking I do hope you make one for yourself.
nicegirl said... (9/24/08 4:26 PM) Reply
Princess seams really are the best, aren't they? Can't wait to see what you make for yourself out of it!
fourkid said... (9/24/08 10:03 AM) Reply
I have this pattern - I am inspired to make it soon!
ryan's mom said... (9/24/08 6:25 AM) Reply
This is a great dress! I agree--gotta love those princess seams :) . I can't wait to see what your fashion-oriented self does with your own version.
Kitty Couture said... (9/24/08 3:32 AM) Reply
Looks great, Karen! Love the rickrack.
Kaitlinnegan said... (9/24/08 0:52 AM) Reply
This looks like such a great basic pattern! Thanks for your review - the dress looks wonderful. I see what you mean about it looking better on a real person!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Pattern Details