SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3129 (Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 564 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/08 9:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $14.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
This looks like such a great basic pattern! Thanks for your review - the dress looks wonderful. I see what you mean about it looking better on a real person!
9/24/08 0:52 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Looks great, Karen! Love the rickrack.
9/24/08 3:32 AM
ryan's mom said...
This is a great dress! I agree--gotta love those princess seams :) . I can't wait to see what your fashion-oriented self does with your own version.
9/24/08 6:25 AM
fourkid said...
I have this pattern - I am inspired to make it soon!
9/24/08 10:03 AM
nicegirl said...
Princess seams really are the best, aren't they? Can't wait to see what you make for yourself out of it!
9/24/08 4:26 PM
Athene said...
Your version of the pattern is so nice looking I do hope you make one for yourself.
9/24/08 8:51 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely dress and beautiful photo of the actress posing in front of the antique furniture.
9/25/08 9:12 AM
marec said...
Very cool dress and interesting review. I love the style and think this would make up a fun, vintage look dress. I wonder what it would look like in a brown silk?
9/25/08 9:19 AM
AnneM said...
It is certainly flattering on the wearer, much prettier than the envelope indicates. Great job on the dress, and it certainly meets the look requested in the drawing.
10/8/08 6:38 AM
gellod said...
I have this pattern, I purchased it two weeks ago. Having read your review I now feel comfortable in making it, so watch this space!! I love what you have done with the design on the pockets, very unique.
4/17/09 4:48 PM
yvonneH said...
thanks very much for helpful review. i never like to buy pattern without photo of model and just drawing. it's good to see someone has actually made it and see the photo of the dress on real people. thanks a lot
4/23/09 2:32 PM
Snowkj said...
I just stated cutting this one out and decided to look up a review of it. I'm so pleased to know it came out well.
8/26/09 9:49 PM
Gendun said...
It's very pretty, and I'm SO glad you told us it was a costume! I had been thinking "Wow, this looks so period on her; I wonder how she feels about that?" (chuckles) I suspect it is the stiffness of the fabric that does it, along with the rickrack & colour, both of which scream ingenue. Well done!
3/22/12 11:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5941

photo
by: Sewlful

Review
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6517

photo
by: juliamorle...

Review

Pattern