SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5664 (Bow-front full blouse)

5 more reviews
Viewed 625 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/27/08 4:26 PM
Last Updated:9/27/08 4:37 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LornaJay said...
Now that's a shame, as the blouse looks lovely on the hanger. Isn't that often the case, though!
9/27/08 5:11 PM
Re Becca said...
It does look great on the form, but it does look like the bow would pull... Thanks for the very informative review.
9/27/08 5:42 PM
sewtime said...
The blouse looks very pretty.
9/27/08 6:06 PM
LorrieAnn said...
It looks quite nice on the form and you chose a beautiful fabric - I am so sorry you are disappointed after all that work
9/27/08 6:24 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great review. I suppose you have thought of this but could you add snaps (or another button) to the back of the bow to keep it in place?
9/27/08 8:11 PM
Annette1 said...
Man, what a great review, but I'm sorry the blouse didn't turn out to your liking. :o( I'm always leery too of patterns that look ill-fitting even in the pattern photos. (That even goes for "designer" patterns.) This sure is a pretty fabric, and one that would look so pretty on you. As always, an EXCELLENT review!
9/28/08 2:02 AM
PixieCat said...
Such a shame that this didn't work out. Your blouse is gorgeous on the hanger and it's such an attractive pattern. Thanks for the thorough review.
9/28/08 5:47 AM
carolynw said...
That is such ashame Debra - your blouse looks so pretty. Thanks so much for sharing this with us - I had looked a the pattern and wondered - now know this is probably not for me.
9/28/08 9:23 AM
Mahler said...
Great review. I am sorry that this pattern did not work. I hope that you will be wearing it a little bit to at least have minimal return on your investment ;-)
9/28/08 9:27 AM
OP Gal said...
The blouse looks lovely even though you had lots of problems with the pattern. The poor drafting resulting in such an uneven hem is inexcusable. If you're someone like me who needs lots of length, it would have rendered the top almost unwearable. Your "fixes" were ingenious, so it sounds like they saved the day.
9/30/08 8:21 AM
RottenTots said...
I'm just getting to this pattern and THANK YOU for your excellent review of it. I'm making notes and will try it (because I just love the style) with your hints.
2/2/09 9:41 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Debra, I always read and appreciate the thoroughness of your reviews. I just bought this pattern to alter to a maternity blouse for my daughter, and your suggestions will be taken to heart. Thanks so much!
9/4/09 3:17 PM
Bonnie O said...
I am getting ready to make this pattern in a light flannel and I really appreciate your review. I will take into account all the flaws in the pattern. Your blouse looks lovely but I know how frustrating it is when an item doesn't turn out the way one anticipates!
10/1/09 7:12 AM
Athene said...
I love your blouse and the fabric print. Too bad that the pattern drafting is kind of quirky - I always enjoy reading your blouse reviews and as usual lots of good tips. I have this pattern, but unfortunately did not read your review before I purchased it and bought the small size range up to size 12 thinking it had lots of ease - now after reading that you made a size 16 I know my pattern is way too small as I think I am similar in size to you.
10/11/09 2:02 AM
Truegem said...
I made this also, and had some serious sleeve and armhole fitting issues. I will try to adjust because it's such a cute top! Really cute, lots of compliments. But they can't see the tear in the armpit, due to the ill fit. lol
3/5/14 0:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-123A

photo
by: tsedai

Review