Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5664 (Bow-front full blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 622 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/27/08 4:26 PM
Last Updated:9/27/08 4:37 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LornaJay said...
Now that's a shame, as the blouse looks lovely on the hanger. Isn't that often the case, though!
9/27/08 5:11 PM
Re Becca said...
It does look great on the form, but it does look like the bow would pull... Thanks for the very informative review.
9/27/08 5:42 PM
sewtime said...
The blouse looks very pretty.
9/27/08 6:06 PM
LorrieAnn said...
It looks quite nice on the form and you chose a beautiful fabric - I am so sorry you are disappointed after all that work
9/27/08 6:24 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great review. I suppose you have thought of this but could you add snaps (or another button) to the back of the bow to keep it in place?
9/27/08 8:11 PM
Annette1 said...
Man, what a great review, but I'm sorry the blouse didn't turn out to your liking. :o( I'm always leery too of patterns that look ill-fitting even in the pattern photos. (That even goes for "designer" patterns.) This sure is a pretty fabric, and one that would look so pretty on you. As always, an EXCELLENT review!
9/28/08 2:02 AM
PixieCat said...
Such a shame that this didn't work out. Your blouse is gorgeous on the hanger and it's such an attractive pattern. Thanks for the thorough review.
9/28/08 5:47 AM
carolynw said...
That is such ashame Debra - your blouse looks so pretty. Thanks so much for sharing this with us - I had looked a the pattern and wondered - now know this is probably not for me.
9/28/08 9:23 AM
Mahler said...
Great review. I am sorry that this pattern did not work. I hope that you will be wearing it a little bit to at least have minimal return on your investment ;-)
9/28/08 9:27 AM
OP Gal said...
The blouse looks lovely even though you had lots of problems with the pattern. The poor drafting resulting in such an uneven hem is inexcusable. If you're someone like me who needs lots of length, it would have rendered the top almost unwearable. Your "fixes" were ingenious, so it sounds like they saved the day.
9/30/08 8:21 AM
RottenTots said...
I'm just getting to this pattern and THANK YOU for your excellent review of it. I'm making notes and will try it (because I just love the style) with your hints.
2/2/09 9:41 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Debra, I always read and appreciate the thoroughness of your reviews. I just bought this pattern to alter to a maternity blouse for my daughter, and your suggestions will be taken to heart. Thanks so much!
9/4/09 3:17 PM
Bonnie O said...
I am getting ready to make this pattern in a light flannel and I really appreciate your review. I will take into account all the flaws in the pattern. Your blouse looks lovely but I know how frustrating it is when an item doesn't turn out the way one anticipates!
10/1/09 7:12 AM
Athene said...
I love your blouse and the fabric print. Too bad that the pattern drafting is kind of quirky - I always enjoy reading your blouse reviews and as usual lots of good tips. I have this pattern, but unfortunately did not read your review before I purchased it and bought the small size range up to size 12 thinking it had lots of ease - now after reading that you made a size 16 I know my pattern is way too small as I think I am similar in size to you.
10/11/09 2:02 AM
Truegem said...
I made this also, and had some serious sleeve and armhole fitting issues. I will try to adjust because it's such a cute top! Really cute, lots of compliments. But they can't see the tear in the armpit, due to the ill fit. lol
3/5/14 0:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

McCall's 6044 MEN'S SHIRTS
photo
Review by Ravensara on 10/14/12
Read Review

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8553
photo
Review by pt6356 on 4/20/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4005 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
Butterick 4005 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1448 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 1448 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us