SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> 15 (Princess Seamed Coatdress)

Viewed 688 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/28/08 6:56 PM
Last Updated:9/28/08 8:07 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous, Kay! The fit is perfect and very flattering. Great use of PMB & PE to tweak. You should definitely sew another.
9/28/08 7:13 PM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful!!!
9/28/08 7:19 PM
CatMukai said...
So dramatic, and the belt goes perfectly. Looks great!
9/28/08 7:36 PM
sewtime said...
Lovely! The pattern and material were made for each other.
9/28/08 7:40 PM
Mufffet said...
Beautiful.
9/28/08 8:12 PM
moushka said...
Stunning dress, the fit is perfection! I nearly succumbed to the HP pattern this week, it's so stylish. Thanks for sharing your adventures in PMB. I'm tempted to ask Santa to bring it for Christmas :) Great review.
9/28/08 8:41 PM
bananaoil said...
Beautiful, and you got a perfect fit.
9/28/08 8:44 PM
Second Avenue said...
I love this dress! The fabric, the design and the fit are fabulous. You are going to look like a million bucks! Great work!
9/28/08 8:47 PM
MareeAlison said...
Beautiful dress.
9/28/08 9:22 PM
Mahler said...
Cette robe est genial Kay ! I am always so much impressed by your sewing skills. The fabric is fabulous. I am a total fan of paisley fabric. This dress is very business, but yet with a distinctive touch ! Ahhh pure beauty.
9/28/08 10:06 PM
CarolynGM said...
Flawless fit and great style. I greatly enjoyed the pictures of your PMB changes and muslin process -- awesome review.
9/28/08 10:30 PM
Aixoise said...
Thanks for sharing your process. Your result is beautiful in style, fit, and choice of fabric.
9/28/08 10:58 PM
Annette1 said...
How PRETTY, Kay! When I first saw this fabric (before the closeup), it almost looked like a brocade. It's just LOVELY. Your dress is PERFECTLY fitted, as usual, and really shows off your figure!
9/28/08 11:02 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Kay, you are beautiful in this dress! I'm kind of computer stupid, but aware enough to know that you have used digital magic to transform a desirable HP pattern into a work of Art. Each aspect of this dress is perfect, and perfect for your trim shape (very envious of how you wear that leather belt with such panache). Please come teach to my house to teach me how to do what you do. Lovely, Lily
9/28/08 11:36 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Sorry ... see, computer stupid. Lily
9/28/08 11:37 PM
Margie T said...
Thanks for a great review. You give me encouragement to perservere with PMB.
9/29/08 0:13 AM
Peacock Chic said...
wow that looks gorgeous!! Love the color
9/29/08 0:52 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Oh no! This is so similar to something I want to copy with PMB, and now you really scared me that it will need a ton of adjustment!
9/29/08 5:45 AM
Rebecca D said...
Your dress is stunning, the fit is perfect.
9/29/08 7:10 AM
carolynw said...
Wonderful work Kay - I love the outcome - fits you perfectly
9/29/08 9:24 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderful! Beautiful fit on a stylish dress. Maybe Santa will bring PMB to me too?
9/29/08 1:40 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty and stylish dress... fits you so perfectly!
9/29/08 3:58 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
9/29/08 6:09 PM
ALY said...
Your dress is lovely, a perfect combination of fabric, fit, style and workmanship. Your success with PMB makes me want to try it too. A friend has offered to give me a demo and I may take her up on the offer.
9/29/08 6:26 PM
Cre8tv said...
Thank you for sharing all the details of drafting a well fitting and beautiful garment!
9/30/08 11:27 AM
sew2little said...
Kay--as usual, this is a beautifully classic garment with superb workwomanship. Perfection!
9/30/08 12:05 PM
digs57 said...
What a beautiful result. And, Kay, where did you get this gorgeous fabric?
10/1/08 10:46 AM
Marji said...
The finished dress is beautiful and looks as if it will be very wearable this coming winter. Thank you for all the thought and detail you put into your review. Fascinating reading.
10/5/08 10:22 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This is so lovely and beautiful details like lapels and sleeves, they really are breathtaking! Thanks for the detailed review.
10/5/08 12:00 PM
Blooms said...
Truly inspirational
10/5/08 8:59 PM
AnneM said...
Great job, as usual, Kay! Thank you for the review.
10/18/08 3:35 PM
JillRN1995 said...
Your dress is lovely! Will you please share your collar and lapel settings with me. I've drafted a very similar pattern and am having difficulty with the collar. Did you use the Built up, Stand, Roll or Flat collar setting with the notched lapel? Also, if the lapel width is 2" then do you think that the collar width should also be set at 2"? I'm a newbie with PMB. Thanks! Jill
2/13/09 10:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Advance Pattern Company 8436

photo
by: Graca

Review
Burda 7316

photo
by: JulieAnnH

Review
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now