Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wild Ginger: 15 (Princess Seamed Coatdress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 684 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/28/08 6:56 PM
Last Updated:9/28/08 8:07 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous, Kay! The fit is perfect and very flattering. Great use of PMB & PE to tweak. You should definitely sew another.
9/28/08 7:13 PM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful!!!
9/28/08 7:19 PM
CatMukai said...
So dramatic, and the belt goes perfectly. Looks great!
9/28/08 7:36 PM
sewtime said...
Lovely! The pattern and material were made for each other.
9/28/08 7:40 PM
Mufffet said...
Beautiful.
9/28/08 8:12 PM
moushka said...
Stunning dress, the fit is perfection! I nearly succumbed to the HP pattern this week, it's so stylish. Thanks for sharing your adventures in PMB. I'm tempted to ask Santa to bring it for Christmas :) Great review.
9/28/08 8:41 PM
bananaoil said...
Beautiful, and you got a perfect fit.
9/28/08 8:44 PM
Second Avenue said...
I love this dress! The fabric, the design and the fit are fabulous. You are going to look like a million bucks! Great work!
9/28/08 8:47 PM
MareeAlison said...
Beautiful dress.
9/28/08 9:22 PM
Mahler said...
Cette robe est genial Kay ! I am always so much impressed by your sewing skills. The fabric is fabulous. I am a total fan of paisley fabric. This dress is very business, but yet with a distinctive touch ! Ahhh pure beauty.
9/28/08 10:06 PM
CarolynGM said...
Flawless fit and great style. I greatly enjoyed the pictures of your PMB changes and muslin process -- awesome review.
9/28/08 10:30 PM
Aixoise said...
Thanks for sharing your process. Your result is beautiful in style, fit, and choice of fabric.
9/28/08 10:58 PM
Annette1 said...
How PRETTY, Kay! When I first saw this fabric (before the closeup), it almost looked like a brocade. It's just LOVELY. Your dress is PERFECTLY fitted, as usual, and really shows off your figure!
9/28/08 11:02 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Kay, you are beautiful in this dress! I'm kind of computer stupid, but aware enough to know that you have used digital magic to transform a desirable HP pattern into a work of Art. Each aspect of this dress is perfect, and perfect for your trim shape (very envious of how you wear that leather belt with such panache). Please come teach to my house to teach me how to do what you do. Lovely, Lily
9/28/08 11:36 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Sorry ... see, computer stupid. Lily
9/28/08 11:37 PM
Margie T said...
Thanks for a great review. You give me encouragement to perservere with PMB.
9/29/08 0:13 AM
Peacock Chic said...
wow that looks gorgeous!! Love the color
9/29/08 0:52 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Oh no! This is so similar to something I want to copy with PMB, and now you really scared me that it will need a ton of adjustment!
9/29/08 5:45 AM
Rebecca D said...
Your dress is stunning, the fit is perfect.
9/29/08 7:10 AM
carolynw said...
Wonderful work Kay - I love the outcome - fits you perfectly
9/29/08 9:24 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderful! Beautiful fit on a stylish dress. Maybe Santa will bring PMB to me too?
9/29/08 1:40 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty and stylish dress... fits you so perfectly!
9/29/08 3:58 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
9/29/08 6:09 PM
ALY said...
Your dress is lovely, a perfect combination of fabric, fit, style and workmanship. Your success with PMB makes me want to try it too. A friend has offered to give me a demo and I may take her up on the offer.
9/29/08 6:26 PM
Cre8tv said...
Thank you for sharing all the details of drafting a well fitting and beautiful garment!
9/30/08 11:27 AM
sew2little said...
Kay--as usual, this is a beautifully classic garment with superb workwomanship. Perfection!
9/30/08 12:05 PM
digs57 said...
What a beautiful result. And, Kay, where did you get this gorgeous fabric?
10/1/08 10:46 AM
Marji said...
The finished dress is beautiful and looks as if it will be very wearable this coming winter. Thank you for all the thought and detail you put into your review. Fascinating reading.
10/5/08 10:22 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This is so lovely and beautiful details like lapels and sleeves, they really are breathtaking! Thanks for the detailed review.
10/5/08 12:00 PM
Blooms said...
Truly inspirational
10/5/08 8:59 PM
AnneM said...
Great job, as usual, Kay! Thank you for the review.
10/18/08 3:35 PM
JillRN1995 said...
Your dress is lovely! Will you please share your collar and lapel settings with me. I've drafted a very similar pattern and am having difficulty with the collar. Did you use the Built up, Stand, Roll or Flat collar setting with the notched lapel? Also, if the lapel width is 2" then do you think that the collar width should also be set at 2"? I'm a newbie with PMB. Thanks! Jill
2/13/09 10:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Burda 7636
photo
Review by angela80 on 11/19/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )
McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4669
photo
Review by SewLil on 8/16/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Paper Pattern
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us