Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Zona Jacket - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 870 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/08 2:43 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
I love the collar on this, but like you, I'm not so sure about the back. Beautiful jacket.
9/29/08 5:42 AM
cecelia said...
Ann, I hear you about the back, but the jacket is lovely, especially in the fabric you chose.
9/29/08 8:30 AM
carolynw said...
Looks really nice Ann - fabric is beautiful
9/29/08 9:17 AM
marec said...
I like the back-this design feature adds some movement to the jacket. Beautiful jacket, fabric and work!
9/29/08 9:30 AM
Barbara V said...
It looks great, the fabric is beautiful, more so in person (I wanted to steal it when I saw it!) Great job, now it's perfect for fall and winter.
9/29/08 10:18 AM
Mahler said...
What an interesting fabric. The colour is very "fall", or at least here in Eastern Canada where leaves are dark red at this time of the year. Another fantastic creation coming from your sewing room.
9/29/08 12:21 PM
Luckylibbet said...
After looking at the line drawings, I don't think the back is supposed to swing open as much as it is for you - I wonder if the design assumes less curve over the hip/fanny than most of us have? Love your choice of color and fabric - they look awesome on you!
9/29/08 1:04 PM
Collette McManus said...
Ann, I find that "edgestitching" the inside of the pleat (right sides together on the inside of the garment) helps it stay looking more like a pleat. But you probably already knew that since you are such an awesome sewing artist. Lovely jacket! I always llook forward to seeing what's new in your closet! THANKS for the inspirations.
9/29/08 5:06 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for the tip Collette but I already tried that. I think it may be related to the design. I notice that none of the photos of it on the SW website show the back, plus when I saw Linda Lee wearing it she wore the other version without the pleat/vent.
9/29/08 5:23 PM
Ann Smith said...

9/29/08 6:30 PM
Ann Smith said...

9/29/08 6:31 PM
Karen8320 said...
Ann, everything about this jacket looks great. I actually really like the back, which gives the jacket an air of uniqueness. It looks great on you! Well done!
9/29/08 9:00 PM
denisedh said...
love that fabric and the style of the jacket is great imo! thanks for another great review
9/29/08 10:48 PM
Karine said...
I love your Zona jacket - you did a great job. I have this pattern and have been hoping someone would review it. Your fabric choice is just perfect for this. You might call Linda Lee and ask her about the back. She's always very helpful.
9/30/08 10:03 AM
dresscode said...
I'm half way through this pattern (UFO)...made the pleat version and had to stop near the end of the pleat steps...have had trouble figuring out what I've done and what I need to do on the instructions. My opinion is whatever one does...don't stop half-way through the pleat steps...my mistake! Cross-country move later...where was I? Your version is beautiful!
9/30/08 10:37 AM
cmarie12 said...
It is a beautiful jacket despite your concerns about the back pleat! Hopefully in time it will grow on you!
9/30/08 7:15 PM
marthamyers said...
Gorgeous jacket. Thanks for the review. The zona jacket reminds me a lot of the zigzag jacket, including the back vent. The unusual seaming is probably different from the zigzag though. As always, you've created a lovely garment, inspiring me to make another SW pattern.
10/1/08 11:37 AM
Athene said...
The jacket is gorgeous - fabric, style and finishing. I like the back pleat.
10/1/08 8:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2007-107 107 Top
photo
Review by Seaspur on 5/2/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1021 Hazel
photo
Review by laurenc0re on 8/7/12
Read Review

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us