Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2880 (Belleville SassoonMisses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1108 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 175
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 168
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/30/08 7:37 AM
Last Updated:9/30/08 8:02 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marji said...
Very impressive, especially that you made this for a friend. Wonderfully done, and extremely generous. (BTW, your picture link is not working.)
9/30/08 8:57 AM
dbsewer said...
I can't pull the picture up but from the thumbnail it looks gorgeous.
9/30/08 8:57 AM
Terri A said...
Lots of work - great job! The color is wonderful.
9/30/08 10:25 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh my GOSH, you went to a LOT of work on this BEAUTIFUL dress! I'm always SO intrigued by the Belleville Sassoon patterns. They're the cream of the crop, as far as I'm concerned. I wish I could get the picture to come up bigger, but I'll try again later. It looks just BEAUTIFUL. You've got one VERY LUCKY friend. :o)
9/30/08 11:09 AM
KrystalL said...
Gorgeous!
9/30/08 11:23 AM
wendlesue said...
I soooooo love this dress. Just beautiful! BTW A previous reviewer who made the dress also removed the boning. I think she said that elastic worked well to keep things in place, and was softer and more comfy than the boning over the shoulders.
9/30/08 11:32 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
OMG! It's the most gorgeous dress ever. I am so impressed. Wonderful sewing.
9/30/08 1:11 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Unfortunately, I sewed this dress in summer 2007, when there weren't any reviews for it. I am just a little tardy in writing my own review ;) It seems Geocities was doing some maintenance, the picture should be viewable now...
9/30/08 1:21 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very beautiful dress, and tons of work which makes you a very good friend, indeed. Photo still not working but looks like it might be a photo site glitch. I had never heard of Belleville Sassoon patterns but if this is an example, wow! Lovely, Lily
9/30/08 2:33 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! What a BEAUTIFUL dress!!! You did an excellent job!!!
9/30/08 5:01 PM
Twinset said...
I've always admired this pattern! I think you're very brave and courageous to have attempted it, and the great results are certainly worth all the time and patience you put in it. It's a great dress!
9/30/08 5:18 PM
Nancy Anne said...
You were so brave to actually attempt and then complete a Vogue formal, IMHO. And it turned out just beautiful, despite all off your issues. Just curious- where did you finally wind up finding fabric for it?
9/30/08 6:11 PM
Kitty Couture said...
Stunning dress!
10/1/08 4:57 AM
cindyann said...
Gorgeous dress!
10/1/08 8:13 AM
Blooms said...
Just gorgeous. Well done
10/5/08 9:03 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice, your efforts gave good results. (Silk chiffon probably would have been stronger. Perhaps it wa because it was a big snug.) As an A cup, I generally find stles like this don't work for me. But really it looks lovely on your friend in the picture. Good for you to call in the professionals rather than get frustrated on the zipper.
10/19/08 11:05 AM
novice1mom said...
wow!! It came out very beutiful indeed. Exactly like the pic on the pattern
11/4/08 12:26 PM
Ariadne said...
really beautiful. Thanks for the time estimate, and the notion of calling in a professional for that one critical bit- the zipper.
5/18/09 2:26 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
Your review has helped me STRONGLY consider using another pattern. I am taking a salsa dancing class and we will have a dinner/dance at the end and I thought I would treat myself to a new dress. Hmmmm...maybe not this one. But then, again, it is GORGEOUS! Nicely done, in spite of all the hours!
9/3/09 8:54 AM
canyonlady67 said...
I tried sending you a PM, but I'm a free member, so I couldn't send it. I am making this for myself for my wedding gown. Instead of omitting the boning on the arms, I intend to break the boning at the top...by the shoulder seams...and put in a short section of elastic. From your experience, do you think this would work and look ok? Please let me know what you think. Thank you.
5/17/10 8:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 1086 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by ohsewcraft... on 4/26/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 2589 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2589 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 22 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 22 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2608
photo
Review by Steffie on 3/18/11
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us