SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2880 (Belleville SassoonMisses Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1120 times 
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 176
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/30/08 7:37 AM
Last Updated:9/30/08 8:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marji said...
Very impressive, especially that you made this for a friend. Wonderfully done, and extremely generous. (BTW, your picture link is not working.)
9/30/08 8:57 AM
dbsewer said...
I can't pull the picture up but from the thumbnail it looks gorgeous.
9/30/08 8:57 AM
Terri A said...
Lots of work - great job! The color is wonderful.
9/30/08 10:25 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh my GOSH, you went to a LOT of work on this BEAUTIFUL dress! I'm always SO intrigued by the Belleville Sassoon patterns. They're the cream of the crop, as far as I'm concerned. I wish I could get the picture to come up bigger, but I'll try again later. It looks just BEAUTIFUL. You've got one VERY LUCKY friend. :o)
9/30/08 11:09 AM
KrystalL said...
Gorgeous!
9/30/08 11:23 AM
wendlesue said...
I soooooo love this dress. Just beautiful! BTW A previous reviewer who made the dress also removed the boning. I think she said that elastic worked well to keep things in place, and was softer and more comfy than the boning over the shoulders.
9/30/08 11:32 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
OMG! It's the most gorgeous dress ever. I am so impressed. Wonderful sewing.
9/30/08 1:11 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Unfortunately, I sewed this dress in summer 2007, when there weren't any reviews for it. I am just a little tardy in writing my own review ;) It seems Geocities was doing some maintenance, the picture should be viewable now...
9/30/08 1:21 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very beautiful dress, and tons of work which makes you a very good friend, indeed. Photo still not working but looks like it might be a photo site glitch. I had never heard of Belleville Sassoon patterns but if this is an example, wow! Lovely, Lily
9/30/08 2:33 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! What a BEAUTIFUL dress!!! You did an excellent job!!!
9/30/08 5:01 PM
Twinset said...
I've always admired this pattern! I think you're very brave and courageous to have attempted it, and the great results are certainly worth all the time and patience you put in it. It's a great dress!
9/30/08 5:18 PM
Nancy Anne said...
You were so brave to actually attempt and then complete a Vogue formal, IMHO. And it turned out just beautiful, despite all off your issues. Just curious- where did you finally wind up finding fabric for it?
9/30/08 6:11 PM
Kitty Couture said...
Stunning dress!
10/1/08 4:57 AM
cindyann said...
Gorgeous dress!
10/1/08 8:13 AM
Blooms said...
Just gorgeous. Well done
10/5/08 9:03 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice, your efforts gave good results. (Silk chiffon probably would have been stronger. Perhaps it wa because it was a big snug.) As an A cup, I generally find stles like this don't work for me. But really it looks lovely on your friend in the picture. Good for you to call in the professionals rather than get frustrated on the zipper.
10/19/08 11:05 AM
novice1mom said...
wow!! It came out very beutiful indeed. Exactly like the pic on the pattern
11/4/08 12:26 PM
Ariadne said...
really beautiful. Thanks for the time estimate, and the notion of calling in a professional for that one critical bit- the zipper.
5/18/09 2:26 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
Your review has helped me STRONGLY consider using another pattern. I am taking a salsa dancing class and we will have a dinner/dance at the end and I thought I would treat myself to a new dress. Hmmmm...maybe not this one. But then, again, it is GORGEOUS! Nicely done, in spite of all the hours!
9/3/09 8:54 AM
canyonlady67 said...
I tried sending you a PM, but I'm a free member, so I couldn't send it. I am making this for myself for my wedding gown. Instead of omitting the boning on the arms, I intend to break the boning at the top...by the shoulder seams...and put in a short section of elastic. From your experience, do you think this would work and look ok? Please let me know what you think. Thank you.
5/17/10 8:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Butterick 5534

photo
by: Trinity.

Review
New Look 6731

photo
by: Sherril Mi...

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now