SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8234 

2 more reviews
Viewed 371 times 
Reviewed by:redroserach
photo

 
 
About redroserachstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/19/08
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/30/08 2:22 PM
Last Updated:9/30/08 2:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wendlesue said...
i keep looking at this pattern and wanting to try it! It looks wonderful on you and I love the fabric you have chosen. I think I definitely want to make one now!
9/30/08 2:31 PM
dbsewer said...
Ha, shirt potatoes. That's a cute one. Hard to see the picture as it's rather dark but from what I can make out it looks nice.
9/30/08 3:27 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
I just LOVE your dress!!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE your fabric choice!!! Definitely has a 70's vibe!!!
9/30/08 4:56 PM
chacha45 said...
This a gorgeous dress and you look gorgeous in it!
9/30/08 5:49 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I think your dress is really pretty- these kinds of florals are coming in style in a big way! I've had this kind of issue with fabric before, too, and now that I have a serger I am quite grateful, as it wraps up the frayed edges. And I perfer to hand-pick zippers, but especiallly in fabric like this. Although it's lovely stuff to look at and feel, the sliding around makes installing a zipper particularly maddening! Good job on the dress!
9/30/08 6:05 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
9/30/08 7:47 PM
cfabrication said...
I can see why you think your bust is not emphasized, but the balance of the dress is really good -- the flutter sleeves balance the skirt and you're right, it makes your waist look tiny. I think the "reduction" may have something to do with the smoothness of the front. There's no extra fabric or softness to suggest there's a lot of potatoes in that shirt. It reminds me a little of the way Audrey Hepburn looked in those highly structured clothes by Givenchy. Very flattering, even if it doesn't create the overall look you were hoping for.
9/30/08 8:07 PM
Margie T said...
Love your dress. You look great in it.
10/1/08 4:52 AM
VeryPrairie said...
I would never guess this is the same dress by looking at the pattern envelope. You have breathed life into this dress and created wonderful drama at the shoulders. Your dress is beautiful. Thank you for this review, adding it to my wishlist.
10/3/08 2:55 PM
AnneM said...
I think the style looks just fine on you (I have a similar figure). While bright, I don't think it's as loud as your words make it sound, since you state you like bright. Wear it on a nice sunny spring day.
10/19/08 11:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 2181

photo
by: Aurelie

Review
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Buy Now