Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8234 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 369 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:redroserach
photo
About redroserachstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/19/08
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/30/08 2:22 PM
Last Updated:9/30/08 2:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wendlesue said...
i keep looking at this pattern and wanting to try it! It looks wonderful on you and I love the fabric you have chosen. I think I definitely want to make one now!
9/30/08 2:31 PM
dbsewer said...
Ha, shirt potatoes. That's a cute one. Hard to see the picture as it's rather dark but from what I can make out it looks nice.
9/30/08 3:27 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
I just LOVE your dress!!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE your fabric choice!!! Definitely has a 70's vibe!!!
9/30/08 4:56 PM
chacha45 said...
This a gorgeous dress and you look gorgeous in it!
9/30/08 5:49 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I think your dress is really pretty- these kinds of florals are coming in style in a big way! I've had this kind of issue with fabric before, too, and now that I have a serger I am quite grateful, as it wraps up the frayed edges. And I perfer to hand-pick zippers, but especiallly in fabric like this. Although it's lovely stuff to look at and feel, the sliding around makes installing a zipper particularly maddening! Good job on the dress!
9/30/08 6:05 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
9/30/08 7:47 PM
cfabrication said...
I can see why you think your bust is not emphasized, but the balance of the dress is really good -- the flutter sleeves balance the skirt and you're right, it makes your waist look tiny. I think the "reduction" may have something to do with the smoothness of the front. There's no extra fabric or softness to suggest there's a lot of potatoes in that shirt. It reminds me a little of the way Audrey Hepburn looked in those highly structured clothes by Givenchy. Very flattering, even if it doesn't create the overall look you were hoping for.
9/30/08 8:07 PM
Margie T said...
Love your dress. You look great in it.
10/1/08 4:52 AM
VeryPrairie said...
I would never guess this is the same dress by looking at the pattern envelope. You have breathed life into this dress and created wonderful drama at the shoulders. Your dress is beautiful. Thank you for this review, adding it to my wishlist.
10/3/08 2:55 PM
AnneM said...
I think the style looks just fine on you (I have a similar figure). While bright, I don't think it's as loud as your words make it sound, since you state you like bright. Wear it on a nice sunny spring day.
10/19/08 11:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

La Mia Boutique Magazine 08-2008-12 V-neck top
photo
Review by Twinset on 11/26/09
Read Review

Victory Lola Paper Pattern
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern
Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Judy's Fancy Pants Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Judy's Fancy Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-#19
photo
Review by sew42mom on 1/8/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1669 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 1669 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us