SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8234 

2 more reviews
Viewed 373 times 
Reviewed by:redroserach
photo

 
 
About redroserachstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/19/08
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/30/08 2:22 PM
Last Updated:9/30/08 2:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
I think the style looks just fine on you (I have a similar figure). While bright, I don't think it's as loud as your words make it sound, since you state you like bright. Wear it on a nice sunny spring day.
10/19/08 11:02 AM
VeryPrairie said...
I would never guess this is the same dress by looking at the pattern envelope. You have breathed life into this dress and created wonderful drama at the shoulders. Your dress is beautiful. Thank you for this review, adding it to my wishlist.
10/3/08 2:55 PM
Margie T said...
Love your dress. You look great in it.
10/1/08 4:52 AM
cfabrication said...
I can see why you think your bust is not emphasized, but the balance of the dress is really good -- the flutter sleeves balance the skirt and you're right, it makes your waist look tiny. I think the "reduction" may have something to do with the smoothness of the front. There's no extra fabric or softness to suggest there's a lot of potatoes in that shirt. It reminds me a little of the way Audrey Hepburn looked in those highly structured clothes by Givenchy. Very flattering, even if it doesn't create the overall look you were hoping for.
9/30/08 8:07 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
9/30/08 7:47 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I think your dress is really pretty- these kinds of florals are coming in style in a big way! I've had this kind of issue with fabric before, too, and now that I have a serger I am quite grateful, as it wraps up the frayed edges. And I perfer to hand-pick zippers, but especiallly in fabric like this. Although it's lovely stuff to look at and feel, the sliding around makes installing a zipper particularly maddening! Good job on the dress!
9/30/08 6:05 PM
chacha45 said...
This a gorgeous dress and you look gorgeous in it!
9/30/08 5:49 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
I just LOVE your dress!!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE your fabric choice!!! Definitely has a 70's vibe!!!
9/30/08 4:56 PM
dbsewer said...
Ha, shirt potatoes. That's a cute one. Hard to see the picture as it's rather dark but from what I can make out it looks nice.
9/30/08 3:27 PM
wendlesue said...
i keep looking at this pattern and wanting to try it! It looks wonderful on you and I love the fabric you have chosen. I think I definitely want to make one now!
9/30/08 2:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 70883-1009

photo
by: jannw

Review
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick B4919

photo
by: sweetfrnch...

Review