Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2008-127 (Gucci Inspired Art Deco Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1057 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 30 people   
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/1/08 9:42 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
elinorina said...
This skirt is amazing... And your workmanship is superb! I admire you!
10/1/08 9:57 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Birgitte, what you've done to this simple pencil skirt is glorious! Your insertions are exquisite, as is your hand detail work. Oh and needless to say, you look smashing in your creation, which exceeds the beauty of the Gucci inspiration skirt. (Love your hot granny shoes.) With your superb instructions in hand, I see some insertions in my future. Lovely, Lily
10/1/08 10:10 PM
moushka said...
Another masterful creation from Birgitte's atelier! Incredible, beautiful skirt, impeccable detail, as usual. I always learn so much from your reviews, Birgitte, your projects just blow me away! Thank you for sharing them with us.
10/1/08 10:13 PM
okie2thdoc said...
I'm impressed! You did a wonderful job and thanks for the instructions.
10/1/08 10:25 PM
Dei said...
A true couture piece! Outstanding craftsmanship and the fit is superb. I appreciate your diligence in providing so many useful links.
10/1/08 10:37 PM
Athene said...
Love the graphic styling. Thank you for all the great pictures and tutorial instructions.
10/1/08 10:45 PM
Lori V said...
Brigitte, this skirt is so amazing. You do such incredible work.
10/1/08 11:05 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, WOW, your skirt is just AMAZING! It looks GREAT on you, of course, and the DESIGN ELEMENTS truly put it in a class by itself. I really admire your expertise!
10/1/08 11:07 PM
Nancy K said...
gorgeous and inspiring
10/2/08 0:14 AM
ryansmumAria said...
As usual, STUNNING!
10/2/08 0:31 AM
Marji said...
This is a work of art. As any couture-worthy garment is - and this is couture worthy. Excellent workmanship, and beautifully presented in this review.
10/2/08 0:34 AM
Nancywin said...
Birgitta, this turned out amazingly and your craftsmanship is flawless. Could you please put on a few pounds so that your clothes will fit me and I can go over and steal them???
10/2/08 1:27 AM
Twinset said...
Fantastic and brilliant! Really impressive workmanship!
10/2/08 3:12 AM
Terri A said...
Wonderful job! So sleek!
10/2/08 3:41 AM
BillieJean said...
Gloriously beautiful!!!
10/2/08 5:57 AM
Caitycat said...
Wow. Just.. WOW!! Beautiful job!
10/2/08 6:02 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Absolutely stunning!
10/2/08 7:23 AM
Amanda S. said...
Oh, I LOVE IT!!! What a great skirt! Awesome job on the knock-off as well.
10/2/08 7:51 AM
Sigrid. said...
GORGEOUS. Again impeccable workmanship and your vision of this skirt is so much better than the original. Love, love it.
10/2/08 8:01 AM
mamalobb said...
I love the design, even more than the Gucci original!
10/2/08 8:02 AM
ConnieBJ said...
That is BEEutiful Birgitte! I take my hat off to you! Can't wait to see what you do for the top.
10/2/08 8:04 AM
carolynw said...
I am so impressed by your work - the skirt is to die for!!
10/2/08 9:32 AM
meli88a said...
This skirt is fabulous. I love it, and it looks fantastic on you.
10/2/08 9:42 AM
Lisa Laree said...
This really makes me want to lose 30 lbs so I could wear a skirt like this! Marvelous work...thanks for sharing all the details!!
10/2/08 9:52 AM
rebija said...
Amazing! Thanks for the inspiration!
10/2/08 10:48 AM
Gold said...
Wow Wow!!! You did a fantastic job!
10/2/08 11:11 AM
SueV said...
BEAUTIFUL!
10/2/08 12:08 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Impeccable everything - taste, handwork, machine stitching, lining. Actually, it looks museum quality to me. One of the most amazing creations I've ever seen here.
10/2/08 12:44 PM
Heatherrique said...
Birgitte, this is mega mesmerizing!
10/2/08 1:44 PM
Beek said...
What a fantastic skirt! So much more architectural than Gucci's version. And I LOVE that CHANNEL jacket! WOW!
10/2/08 2:29 PM
Cat MacGregor said...
That is so totally awesome and beautiful. Just bloody fantastic!
10/2/08 3:59 PM
MissCelie said...
Stunning. You never cease to amaze me.
10/2/08 6:29 PM
LindsayT said...
...Not to mention that you look like a model here.
10/2/08 6:47 PM
Mahler said...
One word is enough SENSATIONAL !!!!
10/2/08 7:10 PM
Margie T said...
I am in awe of your beautiful work. Congratulations!
10/2/08 7:53 PM
EveS said...
How. Cool. Is. THAT!! I love it, I want it! Beautiful work. I just finished a lined dress w/ Kathleen's method and I agree...it gives a fabulous finish!
10/2/08 11:09 PM
QuickFade said...
What a fantastic job you did--the design, the construction, the result. Gorgeous. I admit that were I to copy you, I would applique instead of insert simply to save time, but the result would not be the same I'm sure. I'd go more for the effect. You're very inspiring!
10/2/08 11:18 PM
Catbird said...
Where the heck is my thesaurus? I'm going to start running out of superlatives for your artistry soon. This is absolutely breathtaking!
10/3/08 10:50 AM
Karendee said...
Beautiful!
10/3/08 2:10 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is such an incredible skirt, I'm still so in awe of it. Brilliant my friend, brilliant!
10/3/08 10:50 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Fantastic!
10/4/08 8:39 AM
LizzM26 said...
Wow, I thought I was looking at a picture taken from a magazine. Great job!
10/4/08 10:45 PM
katyusha said...
my jaw is on the floor
10/17/08 3:45 PM
Yvonski said...
Just amazing. Thanks for the zipper tip and especially the Hong Kong Underlining tip.
2/28/09 4:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2007-117 Blouse
photo
Review by Markie1 on 1/31/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mango Tango Mango Tango
photo
Review by jannw on 2/28/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3830 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 3830 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2908 Pattern
Jalie 2908 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us