SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2008-127 (Gucci Inspired Art Deco Skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1057 times 
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo

 
 
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/1/08 9:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 30 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
elinorina said...
This skirt is amazing... And your workmanship is superb! I admire you!
10/1/08 9:57 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Birgitte, what you've done to this simple pencil skirt is glorious! Your insertions are exquisite, as is your hand detail work. Oh and needless to say, you look smashing in your creation, which exceeds the beauty of the Gucci inspiration skirt. (Love your hot granny shoes.) With your superb instructions in hand, I see some insertions in my future. Lovely, Lily
10/1/08 10:10 PM
moushka said...
Another masterful creation from Birgitte's atelier! Incredible, beautiful skirt, impeccable detail, as usual. I always learn so much from your reviews, Birgitte, your projects just blow me away! Thank you for sharing them with us.
10/1/08 10:13 PM
okie2thdoc said...
I'm impressed! You did a wonderful job and thanks for the instructions.
10/1/08 10:25 PM
Dei said...
A true couture piece! Outstanding craftsmanship and the fit is superb. I appreciate your diligence in providing so many useful links.
10/1/08 10:37 PM
Athene said...
Love the graphic styling. Thank you for all the great pictures and tutorial instructions.
10/1/08 10:45 PM
Lori V said...
Brigitte, this skirt is so amazing. You do such incredible work.
10/1/08 11:05 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, WOW, your skirt is just AMAZING! It looks GREAT on you, of course, and the DESIGN ELEMENTS truly put it in a class by itself. I really admire your expertise!
10/1/08 11:07 PM
Nancy K said...
gorgeous and inspiring
10/2/08 0:14 AM
ryansmumAria said...
As usual, STUNNING!
10/2/08 0:31 AM
Marji said...
This is a work of art. As any couture-worthy garment is - and this is couture worthy. Excellent workmanship, and beautifully presented in this review.
10/2/08 0:34 AM
Nancywin said...
Birgitta, this turned out amazingly and your craftsmanship is flawless. Could you please put on a few pounds so that your clothes will fit me and I can go over and steal them???
10/2/08 1:27 AM
Twinset said...
Fantastic and brilliant! Really impressive workmanship!
10/2/08 3:12 AM
Terri A said...
Wonderful job! So sleek!
10/2/08 3:41 AM
BillieJean said...
Gloriously beautiful!!!
10/2/08 5:57 AM
Caitycat said...
Wow. Just.. WOW!! Beautiful job!
10/2/08 6:02 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Absolutely stunning!
10/2/08 7:23 AM
Amanda S. said...
Oh, I LOVE IT!!! What a great skirt! Awesome job on the knock-off as well.
10/2/08 7:51 AM
Sigrid. said...
GORGEOUS. Again impeccable workmanship and your vision of this skirt is so much better than the original. Love, love it.
10/2/08 8:01 AM
mamalobb said...
I love the design, even more than the Gucci original!
10/2/08 8:02 AM
ConnieBJ said...
That is BEEutiful Birgitte! I take my hat off to you! Can't wait to see what you do for the top.
10/2/08 8:04 AM
carolynw said...
I am so impressed by your work - the skirt is to die for!!
10/2/08 9:32 AM
meli88a said...
This skirt is fabulous. I love it, and it looks fantastic on you.
10/2/08 9:42 AM
Lisa Laree said...
This really makes me want to lose 30 lbs so I could wear a skirt like this! Marvelous work...thanks for sharing all the details!!
10/2/08 9:52 AM
rebija said...
Amazing! Thanks for the inspiration!
10/2/08 10:48 AM
Gold said...
Wow Wow!!! You did a fantastic job!
10/2/08 11:11 AM
SueV said...
BEAUTIFUL!
10/2/08 12:08 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Impeccable everything - taste, handwork, machine stitching, lining. Actually, it looks museum quality to me. One of the most amazing creations I've ever seen here.
10/2/08 12:44 PM
Heatherrique said...
Birgitte, this is mega mesmerizing!
10/2/08 1:44 PM
Beek said...
What a fantastic skirt! So much more architectural than Gucci's version. And I LOVE that CHANNEL jacket! WOW!
10/2/08 2:29 PM
Cat MacGregor said...
That is so totally awesome and beautiful. Just bloody fantastic!
10/2/08 3:59 PM
MissCelie said...
Stunning. You never cease to amaze me.
10/2/08 6:29 PM
LindsayT said...
...Not to mention that you look like a model here.
10/2/08 6:47 PM
Mahler said...
One word is enough SENSATIONAL !!!!
10/2/08 7:10 PM
Margie T said...
I am in awe of your beautiful work. Congratulations!
10/2/08 7:53 PM
EveS said...
How. Cool. Is. THAT!! I love it, I want it! Beautiful work. I just finished a lined dress w/ Kathleen's method and I agree...it gives a fabulous finish!
10/2/08 11:09 PM
QuickFade said...
What a fantastic job you did--the design, the construction, the result. Gorgeous. I admit that were I to copy you, I would applique instead of insert simply to save time, but the result would not be the same I'm sure. I'd go more for the effect. You're very inspiring!
10/2/08 11:18 PM
Catbird said...
Where the heck is my thesaurus? I'm going to start running out of superlatives for your artistry soon. This is absolutely breathtaking!
10/3/08 10:50 AM
Karendee said...
Beautiful!
10/3/08 2:10 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is such an incredible skirt, I'm still so in awe of it. Brilliant my friend, brilliant!
10/3/08 10:50 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Fantastic!
10/4/08 8:39 AM
LizzM26 said...
Wow, I thought I was looking at a picture taken from a magazine. Great job!
10/4/08 10:45 PM
katyusha said...
my jaw is on the floor
10/17/08 3:45 PM
Yvonski said...
Just amazing. Thanks for the zipper tip and especially the Hong Kong Underlining tip.
2/28/09 4:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Other Newborn Fitted Diaper

photo
by: Terri A

Review
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
Lutterloh 2005 9

photo
by: Baja Susan...

Review