SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2007-111 (My white and black trenchcoat)

Viewed 978 times 
Reviewed by:LauraLo
photo

 
 
About LauraLostarstarstarstar
ROMANIA
Member since: 1/25/06
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 177 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/08 7:48 AM
Last Updated:10/3/08 9:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 35 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Wow, you did yet another great job in creating a beautiful garment. Thanks for all the links, too. I wasn't aware that Kathleen's book had sewing instructions. I thought it was only a business book. Your coat is gorgeous and the hand detail perfect. Thanks for a great, detailed review.
10/3/08 8:24 AM
Lori V said...
Your trenchcoat is incredible. Wonderful job on all the details and thanks for a very helpful review.
10/3/08 8:27 AM
mamalobb said...
I love the jacket. Now I'll need to add another project to my list. Thanks also for the links to some of the more difficult techniques. It's the little hints and tips that really make a difference in home sewing.
10/3/08 8:36 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Oh Goodness what a superb result. I especially like the hand-sewn top stitching AND the placement of the stitches at the hem. Great design detail.
10/3/08 8:52 AM
Lynnelle said...
Always nice work and informative reviews. Well done, Laura.
10/3/08 8:54 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
beautiful!
10/3/08 9:03 AM
HLT said...
Stunning!!!
10/3/08 9:13 AM
cindyann said...
So cool! Fantastic review.
10/3/08 9:35 AM
moushka said...
Lauralo - you have a great talent for combining the zeitgeist of the moment into one superb garment, in this case your beautiful trench coat. Fabulous coat enhanced several notches by the brilliant hand saddle-stitching. I think the reverse colour scheme (white on black) would look terrific, too. Great work and great review. Thank you.
10/3/08 9:53 AM
Elke said...
This is beautiful! Thanks for the great review and helpful links.
10/3/08 9:54 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is beautiful and you can't go wrong with black and white - classic.
10/3/08 10:00 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Oh, my goodness!! Your trench is gorgeous!
10/3/08 11:25 AM
Twinset said...
I adore your coat! Can I have one? :-) Thanks for the super helpful review; I will refer to it when I'll make a coat. GREAT job!
10/3/08 11:49 AM
canei said...
Nice!
10/3/08 1:27 PM
Karen6790 said...
Absolutely beautiful. I've been thinking trenchcoat thoughts for a while and you've just pushed me to start thinking harder. Thanks for all the links and extras on how you did everything. I love the hand-sewn topstitching. It really adds that perfect extra to an already gorgeous trench.
10/3/08 1:30 PM
Karendee said...
Another fantastic trench! I am a fan of your Royal silk trench, and this white one ranks as high. The handstitching is an outstanding accent. Enjoy this beauty!
10/3/08 1:49 PM
Leora said...
Beautiful work!
10/3/08 2:46 PM
ConnieBJ said...
umm.. WOW! Another Gosh Laura I Love It! moment!
10/3/08 3:09 PM
Sheila457 said...
Awesome Trenchcoat
10/3/08 3:28 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Laura, spectacular! I like how you look in white, too, and you look gorgeous. Your detail work is exquisite, as well. This is one very special trench coat. Lovely, Lily
10/3/08 5:38 PM
svetlana said...
Your coat is gorgeous and your review is so helpful. I am pretty much self taught, and your reviews always send me to new teachers. Thanks for all the helpful links. You look smashing in this coat, by the way
10/3/08 6:31 PM
Winifred said...
What else can I say but I am in awe of your skills - a beautifully executed coat - all that hand topstitching! And a super clean apartment too ? You deserve an award. Love Winifred xx
10/3/08 6:45 PM
LindsayT said...
This is fabulous! I love the topstitching.
10/3/08 9:31 PM
Mahler said...
Talk about a trench coat with style. Oh la la, chic and choc. Superb. Great review, thank you so much for all the tips and tricks.
10/3/08 11:41 PM
crisford said...
This is so beautiful and what a wonderful job you did!
10/4/08 0:06 AM
kerrynw said...
Absolutely BEAUTIFUL jacket! All the hand stitching was worth the overall professional finished look. I loved your review and found it very helpful.
10/4/08 1:51 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Laura, your coat is fantastic! So couture. I love the topstitching.
10/4/08 3:02 AM
Annette1 said...
LOVE the white with the black topstitching. I have a white leather jacket, and I'm always surprised that I never see anybody else with one. White's just so SMART looking. You look GREAT in your new trench!
10/4/08 6:10 AM
Woolygal said...
Great Coat.
10/4/08 6:55 AM
trinicity said...
what a beautiful trench, this looks amazing on your Laura
10/4/08 7:11 AM
Jolet said...
Very, very nice coat!! Great result and I love the black and white contrast!!
10/4/08 7:13 AM
eword10 said...
Beautiful coat! I love the black running stitch especially.
10/4/08 7:40 AM
Fran G said...
I wish I could think of something original that has not already been said, but I am so in awe of your trenchcoat that my thoughts can only repeat what has been said. This coat is gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! Your techniques and links are so helpful. Your topstitching..by hand no less..brings such life to your trench. And you do lookk fabulous in white!
10/4/08 8:13 AM
apple annie said...
Exquisite trench with fabulous details. I admire your patience with the perfect top-stitching.
10/4/08 8:57 AM
Marji said...
This is fabulous. You've inspired me to go with the hand topstitching on my latest jacket. I've been waffling. So happy to see you're back at your machine!
10/4/08 9:16 AM
SewSewHappy said...
I'm speachless..........amazing!
10/4/08 10:09 AM
N_Vogue said...
Awesome!!!! Details!!!!
10/5/08 9:03 PM
carolynw said...
This is beyond well done - it is so professionally finished that I think in any haute couture store you would pay $$$$ for it - beautiful work - very very impressive.
10/6/08 10:18 PM
EveS said...
Seriously fabulous and incredibly helpful review as ever!!
10/6/08 10:47 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous trench coat! Love it! I especially like your black, hand topstitching and buttons. The contrast really makes the coat. Incredible work!
10/14/08 6:45 PM
strid said...
You are a very talented designer. I'm certain it took hours to hand stitch the detail, but the results are very couture.
1/11/09 8:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 4074

photo
by: maria 6705

Review
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now