Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2007-111 (My white and black trenchcoat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 976 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 35 people   
Reviewed by:LauraLo
photo
About LauraLostarstarstarstar
ROMANIA
Member since: 1/25/06
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 177 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/08 7:48 AM
Last Updated:10/3/08 9:59 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Wow, you did yet another great job in creating a beautiful garment. Thanks for all the links, too. I wasn't aware that Kathleen's book had sewing instructions. I thought it was only a business book. Your coat is gorgeous and the hand detail perfect. Thanks for a great, detailed review.
10/3/08 8:24 AM
Lori V said...
Your trenchcoat is incredible. Wonderful job on all the details and thanks for a very helpful review.
10/3/08 8:27 AM
mamalobb said...
I love the jacket. Now I'll need to add another project to my list. Thanks also for the links to some of the more difficult techniques. It's the little hints and tips that really make a difference in home sewing.
10/3/08 8:36 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Oh Goodness what a superb result. I especially like the hand-sewn top stitching AND the placement of the stitches at the hem. Great design detail.
10/3/08 8:52 AM
Lynnelle said...
Always nice work and informative reviews. Well done, Laura.
10/3/08 8:54 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
beautiful!
10/3/08 9:03 AM
HLT said...
Stunning!!!
10/3/08 9:13 AM
cindyann said...
So cool! Fantastic review.
10/3/08 9:35 AM
moushka said...
Lauralo - you have a great talent for combining the zeitgeist of the moment into one superb garment, in this case your beautiful trench coat. Fabulous coat enhanced several notches by the brilliant hand saddle-stitching. I think the reverse colour scheme (white on black) would look terrific, too. Great work and great review. Thank you.
10/3/08 9:53 AM
Elke said...
This is beautiful! Thanks for the great review and helpful links.
10/3/08 9:54 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is beautiful and you can't go wrong with black and white - classic.
10/3/08 10:00 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Oh, my goodness!! Your trench is gorgeous!
10/3/08 11:25 AM
Twinset said...
I adore your coat! Can I have one? :-) Thanks for the super helpful review; I will refer to it when I'll make a coat. GREAT job!
10/3/08 11:49 AM
canei said...
Nice!
10/3/08 1:27 PM
Karen6790 said...
Absolutely beautiful. I've been thinking trenchcoat thoughts for a while and you've just pushed me to start thinking harder. Thanks for all the links and extras on how you did everything. I love the hand-sewn topstitching. It really adds that perfect extra to an already gorgeous trench.
10/3/08 1:30 PM
Karendee said...
Another fantastic trench! I am a fan of your Royal silk trench, and this white one ranks as high. The handstitching is an outstanding accent. Enjoy this beauty!
10/3/08 1:49 PM
Leora said...
Beautiful work!
10/3/08 2:46 PM
ConnieBJ said...
umm.. WOW! Another Gosh Laura I Love It! moment!
10/3/08 3:09 PM
Sheila457 said...
Awesome Trenchcoat
10/3/08 3:28 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Laura, spectacular! I like how you look in white, too, and you look gorgeous. Your detail work is exquisite, as well. This is one very special trench coat. Lovely, Lily
10/3/08 5:38 PM
svetlana said...
Your coat is gorgeous and your review is so helpful. I am pretty much self taught, and your reviews always send me to new teachers. Thanks for all the helpful links. You look smashing in this coat, by the way
10/3/08 6:31 PM
Winifred said...
What else can I say but I am in awe of your skills - a beautifully executed coat - all that hand topstitching! And a super clean apartment too ? You deserve an award. Love Winifred xx
10/3/08 6:45 PM
LindsayT said...
This is fabulous! I love the topstitching.
10/3/08 9:31 PM
Mahler said...
Talk about a trench coat with style. Oh la la, chic and choc. Superb. Great review, thank you so much for all the tips and tricks.
10/3/08 11:41 PM
crisford said...
This is so beautiful and what a wonderful job you did!
10/4/08 0:06 AM
kerrynw said...
Absolutely BEAUTIFUL jacket! All the hand stitching was worth the overall professional finished look. I loved your review and found it very helpful.
10/4/08 1:51 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Laura, your coat is fantastic! So couture. I love the topstitching.
10/4/08 3:02 AM
Annette1 said...
LOVE the white with the black topstitching. I have a white leather jacket, and I'm always surprised that I never see anybody else with one. White's just so SMART looking. You look GREAT in your new trench!
10/4/08 6:10 AM
Woolygal said...
Great Coat.
10/4/08 6:55 AM
trinicity said...
what a beautiful trench, this looks amazing on your Laura
10/4/08 7:11 AM
Jolet said...
Very, very nice coat!! Great result and I love the black and white contrast!!
10/4/08 7:13 AM
eword10 said...
Beautiful coat! I love the black running stitch especially.
10/4/08 7:40 AM
Fran G said...
I wish I could think of something original that has not already been said, but I am so in awe of your trenchcoat that my thoughts can only repeat what has been said. This coat is gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! Your techniques and links are so helpful. Your topstitching..by hand no less..brings such life to your trench. And you do lookk fabulous in white!
10/4/08 8:13 AM
apple annie said...
Exquisite trench with fabulous details. I admire your patience with the perfect top-stitching.
10/4/08 8:57 AM
Marji said...
This is fabulous. You've inspired me to go with the hand topstitching on my latest jacket. I've been waffling. So happy to see you're back at your machine!
10/4/08 9:16 AM
SewSewHappy said...
I'm speachless..........amazing!
10/4/08 10:09 AM
N_Vogue said...
Awesome!!!! Details!!!!
10/5/08 9:03 PM
carolynw said...
This is beyond well done - it is so professionally finished that I think in any haute couture store you would pay $$$$ for it - beautiful work - very very impressive.
10/6/08 10:18 PM
EveS said...
Seriously fabulous and incredibly helpful review as ever!!
10/6/08 10:47 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous trench coat! Love it! I especially like your black, hand topstitching and buttons. The contrast really makes the coat. Incredible work!
10/14/08 6:45 PM
strid said...
You are a very talented designer. I'm certain it took hours to hand stitch the detail, but the results are very couture.
1/11/09 8:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

HotPatterns Classix Nouveau Razor-Sha
photo
Review by Nancy K on 7/24/07
Read Review

McCalls 6154 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6154 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2957 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2957 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

brerrabbit.com Making Vintage Accessorie
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 3/2/12
Read Review

Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us